(leer)

Navigation and service


Young Investigators Group Prof. Manuel Angst

Complex Ordering Phenomena in Multifunctional Oxides

(in cooperation with RWTH Aachen University)

The interplay of different functionalities in oxide materials has a big potential for applications in information technology, for example non-volatile memory elements based on magnetoelectric multiferroics with improved performance.

Our group studies the electronic (charge, spin, orbital) ordering phenomena that often underlay the functionalities. We mainly use scattering methods, such as neutron and x-ray diffraction on single crystals, to investigate these orderings and correlations. We combine this with synthesis and in-house basic characterization of physical properties. Principal objective is the better understanding of the relationship between structure, ordering phenomena, and functionalities, and based on this the design of new materials with optimized functionality.

degroot2_jpg

Research Topics

The Young Investigators Group “Complex Ordering Phenomena in Multifunctional Oxides” experimentally study ordering processes, such as charge, orbital, and spin order. Their relations to multiple functionalities in complex transitionmetal-oxides are of great interest for us. We synthesize and characterize known multiferroic compounds with ferroelectricity and search for additional families of such materials.

Our approach is, to combine synthesis, mainly in single crystalline form, characterization of electrical and magnetic bulk properties. For this, we have a quick access to structural and physical physical properties characterization techniques (e.g. MPMS PPMS for magnetic characterization and various X-Ray diffractometers) in our home institute. For further studies we have access to scattering experiments at large scale facilities (e.g. neutron and synchrotron scattering).

Staff

The Young Investigator's Research Group "Complex ordering phenomena in multifunctional oxides" was established in April 2009.

It is located within the Peter Grünberg Institute, Forschungszentrum Jülich, where it is part of the "Scattering Methods" institute.

Prof. Manuel Angst
Head of the group
E-Mail: m.angst@fz-juelich.de
Tel.: +49 2461 61-2479
Fax: +49 2461 61-2610
Giorgi Khazaradze
Ph.D. Student
Microscopic study of novel spin-based multiferroics
E-Mail: g.khazaradze@fz-juelich.de
Tel.: +49 2461 61-5270
Fax: +49 2461 61-2610
Thomas Müller
Ph.D. Student
Magnetoelektrische Kopplung und mögliche Multiferroizitäten in drei Oxyden
E-Mail: t.mueller@fz-juelich.de
Tel.: +49 2461 61-3324
Fax: +49 2461 61-2610
Pankaj Thakuria
Ph.D. Student
Multiferroic Oxides
E-Mail: p.thakuria@fz-juelich.de
Tel.: +49 2461 61-2522
Fax: +49 2461 61-2610
Hailey Williamson
Ph.D. Student
Charge order induced ferroelectricity in oxides and an organic compound
E-Mail: h.williamson@fz-juelich.de
Tel.: +49 2461 61-5270
Fax: +49 2461 61-2610

Servicemeu

Homepage

(leer)

Navigation und Service


Nachwuchsgruppe Prof. Manuel Angst

Complex Ordering Phenomena in Multifunctional Oxides

(in cooperation with RWTH Aachen University)

Das Zusammenspiel verschiedener Funktionalitäten in oxidischen Materialien hat grosses Anwendungspotential in der Informationstechnologie, zum Beispiel bessere nichtflüchtige Speicherelemente basierend auf magnetoelekrischen Multiferroika.

Unsere Gruppe untersucht die den Funktionalitäten oft zugrundeliegenden elektronischen (Ladung, Spin, Orbital) Ordnungsphänomene. Wir verwenden hauptsächlich Streumethoden, wie Neutronen- und Röntgenbeugung an Einkristallen, um diese Ordnungen und Korrelationen zu bestimmen. Dies kombinieren wir mit Synthese und „in-house“ Grundcharakterisierung der physikalischen Eigenschaften. Ziel ist das bessere Verständnis des Zusammenhangs zwischen Struktur, Ordnungsphänomenen und Funktionalitäten, und darauf bauend das Design neuer Materialien mit optimierter Funktionalität.

degroot2_jpg

Forschung

Die Nachwuchsgruppe „Complex Ordering Phenomena in Multifunctional Oxides“ untersucht experimentell die Ladungs-, Spin- und Orbitalordnung und deren gegenseitige Wechselwirkung in multifunktionalen Materialien. Eine Klasse von Materialien wo einige Verbindungen eine solchen Wechselwirkungen zwischen den jeweiligen Ordnungen zeigen sind die Übergangsmetalloxide.

Unsere Philosophie ist, dass wir multifunktionale Materialien vorwiegend in einkristalliner Form herstellen und deren Wachstumsbedingungen optimieren. Mittels unserer Laborgeräten untersuchen wir anschließend zeitnah deren magnetischen, elektrischen und strukturellen Eigenschaften. Um mehr über die Ordnungsphänomene und deren Kopplungen in den jeweiligen Systemen zu erfahren, bedienen wir uns unter anderem auch der Neutronen- und Synchrotronstrahlung welche an internationalen Großgeräten bereitgestellt wird.

Mitarbeiter

Die Nachwuchsgruppe "Complex Ordering Phenomena in Multifunctional Oxides" wurde im April 2009 gegründet.

Sie ist angesiedelt im Peter Grünberg Institut im Forschungszentrum Jülich, Teilinstitut "Streumethoden".

Prof. Manuel Angst
Head of the group
E-Mail: m.angst@fz-juelich.de
Tel.: +49 2461 61-2479
Fax: +49 2461 61-2610
Giorgi Khazaradze
Doktorand
Microscopic study of novel spin-based multiferroics
E-Mail: g.khazaradze@fz-juelich.de
Tel.: +49 2461 61-5270
Fax: +49 2461 61-2610
Thomas Müller
Doktorand
Magnetoelektrische Kopplung und mögliche Multiferroizitäten in drei Oxyden
E-Mail: t.mueller@fz-juelich.de
Tel.: +49 2461 61-3324
Fax: +49 2461 61-2610
Pankaj Thakuria
Doktorand
Multiferroic Oxides
E-Mail: p.thakuria@fz-juelich.de
Tel.: +49 2461 61-2522
Fax: +49 2461 61-2610
Hailey Williamson
Doktorand
Charge order induced ferroelectricity in oxides and an organic compound
E-Mail: h.williamson@fz-juelich.de
Tel.: +49 2461 61-5270
Fax: +49 2461 61-2610

Servicemenü

Homepage