(leer)

Navigation and service


Nanomagnetism

Molecular Magnets

Fe30_nu-col_184px_jpg

Molecular magnetism deals with the magnetic properties of both isolated and assemblies of molecules. The research interest in molecular magnetism is motivated by the need for a better understanding of the fundamental principles that govern magnetic behavior, as well as the need for designing new magnetic materials in bottom-up routines.
Some molecular magnets possess a highly symmetrical frustrated spin structure and provide us with an ideal test-bed for the theory on frustrated quantum spin systems. By means of both polarized neutron scattering and inelastic neutron scattering we are able to study the unusual spin-spin interactions and magnetic excitations in geometrically frustrated molecular magnetic systems, e.g. Mo72M30 (M=Fe, Cr, V). In a further step, molecular magnets will be assembled on substrates. Such systems of interacting molecular magnets could serve as both possible model systems for magnetic data storage and also as candidates for future quantum computing.

Zhendong Fu, Ulrich Rücker

Magnetic Nanoparticles

Nanoparticles can be considered as multi-functional 'building blocks' for novel materials with tunable physical and chemical properties. In terms of future information technology and energy research, nanoparticles with magnetic, optic and electronic properties are of particular interest. Magnetic nanoparticles can be used for novel data storage media, spintronic devices or permanent magnets with improved properties. Plasmonic nanoparticles could be used for telecommunication or solar cells and the use of semiconducting nanoparticles in electronics and quantum information systems is currently being discussed .  

When different functionalities are combined into one 'nanoparticle composite', it becomes possible to produce multi-functional materials with completely novel properties, e.g. magneto-plasmonic or magneto-electric properties.

 

Nano particles JCNS


The figure shows polarized neutron diffraction data on MnO nanoparticles (A) and FePt-MnO nanoparticle dimers (B) obtained from the DNS instrument (MLZ) at the JCNS outstation in Garching (in collaboration with the group of Prof. W. Tremel, University of Mainz). With this technique it is possible to separate the 'nuclear' (structural) and magnetic contribution to the scattering. Consequently we can systematically study the magnetic ordering inside the particles.

Further projects with nanoparticles comprise the study of self-organized, regular arrangements of nanoparticles, i.e. so-called 'supracrystals'. Here we focus on the collective magnetic properties of such supracrystals, how these properties can be controlled, which inter-particle interactions are relevant and how we can systematically tune these interactions.  The magnetic inter-particle correlations can be studied using polarized neutron scattering at small angles (GISANS), depicted in (C). The detector image is a real experimental result obtained  using the instrument MARIA (MLZ) at the JCNS outstation in Garching (in collaboration with Dr. S. Disch, ILL, and the group of Prof. L. Bergström, University Stockholm, Sweden).

Oleg Petracic

Ordering phenomena in transition metal oxide heterostructures

Internet_Nanomagnetismus_Ordnungsphaenomene_Bild_184px_png

With the ongoing miniaturization of electronic devices, interface effects become more and more important. Moreover, interfaces can induce material properties which are absent in bulk materials. Transition metal oxides are the most suitable candidates for new interface effects, because they come with a broad variety of properties themselves. These properties, originating from the highly correlated electronic system, range from magnetism to piezoelectricity. With these prerequisites we can deliberately change the charge and orbital order at the layer boundaries and thus manipulate magnetic and electric properties, for example. We produce multilayers of manganites with molecular beam epitaxy and high pressure sputtering. We are able to grow films to an accuracy of one unit cell by monitoring the intensity of the RHEED pattern during growth. Additionally, polarized neutron reflectometry is the method of choice to determine the magnetic depth profile of multilayers. For structural characterization we use X-ray reflectometry and X-Ray diffractometry.

The figure shows the angle-dependent reflectivity for X-rays of a 20-fold bilayer of SrMnO3/LaMnO3. In the background, a RHEED image is shown, used during the growth to determine the layer boundaries. In the lower left corner, a LEED image shows how the spacing of the surface atoms can be deduced. The illustration in the upper right shows a heterostructure of different Perovskites. On top of that, you see an AFM picture of the surface, where the atomic steps can be distinguished.

In future, we plan to increase the structuring of heterostructures in order to pave the way for new spintronic devices.

Alexander Weber

Layer-by-layer Magnetometry on Neutron-Polarizing Supermirrors

ayermirrow_jpg

Polarizing supermirrors are commonly used for the polarization of cold neutron beams. They consist of a series of ferromagnetic and non-magnetic layers with a gradient in the layer thicknesses. In the figure, reflectivity and off-specular scattering of polarized neutrons with polarization analysis is shown, recorded during the re-magnetization process of a remanent supermirror. From these measurements, we can deduce that the bottommost magnetizations flip first along the applied magnetic field and that magnetic fluctuations exist in the layers whose magnetizations have not yet flipped. Those affirmations are confirmed by simulations of the measured intensities within the framework of the Distorted Wave Born Approximation (DWBA), whereupon the dynamic effects of perturbation theory are taken into account.

Emmanuel Kentzinger

Interface Characterization of GMR Systems

interfacegmr_jpg

The magnetoelectronics properties (interlayer coupling, magnetoresistance) of thin film devices depend strongly on their interface morphologies. A non-destructive characterization can be performed by x-ray scattering under grazing incidence. The form factor contrast between the layers can be significantly enhanced by anomalous scattering at a synchrotron radiation source. The figure shows off-specular scattering from an Fe/Cr/Fe trilayer at two x-ray energies, once for vanishing contrast and once for maximal contrast between Fe and Cr, leading to a very different modulation of the measured intensities.

Emmanuel Kentzinger

Magnetic Nanostructures

magnetic_jpg

Here we investigate structural and magnetic correlations in thin film systems relevant to magneto-electronics. These correlations are studied on a length scale close to the spin diffusion length of the electrons. They can be used to observe interfacial roughness, magnetic domains or magnetic roughness.

Emmanuel Kentzinger

Rare Earth Superlattices

combined_184px_png

Here we investigate structural and magnetic correlations in thin film systems relevant to magneto-electronics. These correlations are studied on a length scale close to the spin diffusion length of the electrons. They can be used to observe interfacial roughness, magnetic domains or magnetic roughness.

Jörg Voigt

Laterally-structured Layered Magnetic Systems

streifen_jpg

The magnetization behavior and magnetic domain formation in magnetic layered structures are mainly governed by the crystalline anisotropy of the ferromagnetic layers, the interlayer coupling, the shape anisotropy of the thin films (dipolar forces) and the external magnetic field.
The structuring of selected layers with electron or laser interference lithography (e.g. into stripes of 500 nm width) induces additional shape anisotropy in the structured layers and provides a means of influencing the domain state. We use off-specular polarized neutron scattering under grazing incidence to investigate on the one hand, the interaction between the stripes due to the magnetic coupling of the unstructured layers and on the other, dipolar forces, to obtain information on the magnetic domain formation in the individual layers of the nano-structured sample.

Ulrich Rücker


Servicemeu

Homepage

(leer)

Navigation und Service


Nanomagnetismus

Molekulare Magnete

Fe30_nu-col_184px_jpg

Molekularer Magnetismus beschäftigt sich mit dem magnetischen Eigenschaften isolierter und verbundener Moleküle. Das wissenschaftliche Interesse an molekularem Magnetismus wird motiviert durch die Notwendigkeit, die fundamentalen Prinzipien, die magnetisches Verhalten bestimmen, genauer zu verstehen. Ausserdem besteht der Bedarf, neuartige magnetische Materialien zu entwickeln, die sich selbst organisieren.

Manche molekularen Magnete besitzen eine hochsymmetrische frustrierte Spinstruktur und sind damit ein ideales Testfeld für die Theorie frustrierter Quantenspinsysteme. Mithilfe polarisierter Neutronenstreuung und inelastischer Neutronenstreuung studieren wir die ungewöhnlichen Spin-Spin-Wechselwirkungen und magnetischen Anregungen in einigen geometrisch frustrierten molekularen Magneten, z.B. Mo72M30 (M=Fe, Cr, V). In einem späteren Schritt sollen die molekularen Magnete als Schicht mit einer regelmäßigen Anordnung auf einem Substrat aufgebracht werden. Solche Systeme mit wechselwirkenden molekularen Magneten sind mögliche Modellsysteme für magnetische Datenspeicherung und Kandidaten für zukünftige Quantencomputer.

Zhendong Fu, Ulrich Rücker

Magnetische Nanopartikel

Nanopartikel können als 'Bausteine' von völlig neuartigen Materialien mit spezifischen physikalischen oder chemischen Eigenschaften verwendet werden. Im Hinblick auf Anwendungen in der Informations- oder Energie-Technologie sind insbesondere magnetische, optische,  oder elektronische Eigenschaften von hohem Interesse. Magnetische Nanopartikel können z.B.  in Datenspeicher-Medien, spintronischen Schaltungen oder für Permanentmagnete Verwendung finden. Plasmonische Nanopartikel werden für die Telekommunikation oder für die Solarzellenforschung diskutiert und Nanopartikel aus Halbleitermaterialien  werden für neuartige elektronische Systeme und die Quanteninformationsverarbeitung vorgeschlagen.

Kombiniert man diese verschiedenen Funktionalitäten innerhalb eines 'Nanopartikel-Kompositsystems' wird es möglich, multi-funktionale Materialien mit völlig neuen Eigenschaften, z.B. mit magneto-plasmonischen oder magneto-elektrischen Eigenschaften herzustellen.  

Nano particles JCNS

Die Abbildung zeigt polarisierte Neutronenstreu-Daten an MnO-Nanopartikeln (A) und FePt-MnO Nanopartikel-Dimeren (B) gemessen am DNS-Instrument (MLZ) der JCNS-Außenstelle in Garching (in Zusammenarbeit mit der AG Prof. W. Tremel, Universität Mainz). Mit Hilfe dieser Methode ist es möglich, den 'nuklearen' (strukturellen) und magnetischen Beitrag der Streuung zu separieren. Somit kann gezielt die magnetische Ordnung innerhalb der Partikel untersucht werden.

Weitere Projekte im Bereich der Nanopartikel umfassen die Untersuchung von selbst-organisierten, regelmäßigen Anordnungen von Nanopartikeln, sogenannten 'Nanopartikel-Superkristallen'. Wir interessieren uns hierbei u.a. für die kollektiven magnetischen Eigenschaften solcher Superkristalle, wie diese gezielt beeinflusst werden können, welche Partikel-Wechselwirkungen eine Rolle spielen und wie wir diese Wechselwirkungen systematisch verändern können. Die magnetischen Korrelationen zwischen den einzelnen Nanopartikeln in einem solchen Superkristall können mit Hilfe von polarisierter Neutronenstreuung unter sehr kleinen Winkeln (GISANS) vermessen werden wie in Teilgrafik (C) zu sehen ist. Das dargestellte Detektorbild zeigt hierbei ein reales GISANS-Ergebnis, das am Instrument MARIA (MLZ) der JCNS-Außenstelle in Garching aufgenommen wurde (in Zusammenarbeit mit Dr. S. Disch, ILL, und AG Prof. L. Bergström, Universität Stockholm, Schweden).

Oleg Petracic

Ordnungsphänomene in Dünnschichtsystemen aus Übergangsmetalloxiden

Internet_Nanomagnetismus_Ordnungsphaenomene_Bild_184px_png

Bei der fortschreitenden Miniaturisierung elektronischer Bauteile treten  Grenz-flächeneffekte immer mehr in den Vordergrund. Darüber hinaus lassen sich neue Materialeigenschaften durch Grenzflächen induzieren, die im Volumen-material alleine nicht auftreten. Übergangsmetalloxide eigenen sich dabei hervorragend um neue Phänomene an Grenzfläche zu erzeugen, da sie selbst bereits ein weites Spektrum an Eigenschaften mitbringen. Diese sind durch die hohe Korrelation der Elektronen in diesen Materialen verursacht und reichen von Magnetismus bis zu Piezoelektrizität. An den Schichtgrenzen können gezielt Ordnungen in der Ladungsverteilung und Orbitalorientierung erzeugt und so z. B.  magnetische und elektrische Eigenschaften manipuliert werden. Wir stellen mit Molekularstrahlepitaxie und Hochdrucksputtern hauptsächlich Mehrfachlagen aus verschiedenen Manganaten her.  Dabei sind wir in der Lage dünne Schichten auf eine Einheitszelle genau herzustellen. Dies kann durch die Beobachtung der Intensitätsveränderung einzelner Beugungsreflex des RHEED-Bildes während des Wachstums erreicht werden. Weiter eignen sich besonders Reflektometrie mit polarisierten Neutronen zur Bestimmung des magnetischen Profils von Mehrfachlagen  und Röntgenreflektometrie bzw. -diffraktometrie zur Bestimmung der strukturellen Eigenschaften.

Die Abbildung zeigt die Reflektivität für Röntgenstrahlen an einer 20-fachen Doppellage von SrMnO3/LaMnO3. Im Hintergrund ist ein RHEED-Bild gezeigt, welches während des Wachstums genutzt wird um die Schichtgrenzen zu bestimmen. Unten links ist eine LEED-Aufnahme gezeigt, anhand derer die Atomabstände auf der Oberfläche bestimmt werden können. Oben rechts ist eine Mehrfachschicht aus verschiedenen Perovskiten dargestellt. Darauf sieht man ein AFM-Bild der Oberfläche, das die atomaren Stufen erkennen lässt. 

In Zukunft wollen wir verstärkt die Mehrfachlagen strukturieren, um so den Weg zu neuen funktionalen Bauteilen für Spintronikanwendungen zu ebnen.

Alexander Weber

Tiefenaufgelöste Magnetometrie an neutronenpolarisierenden Superspiegeln

ayermirrow_jpg

Polarisierende Superspiegel werden üblicherweise für die Polarisation von kalten Neutronen verwendet. Sie bestehen aus einer Reihe von ferromagnetischen und nicht-ferromagnetischen Lagen mit einem Gradient in der Schichtdicke. Die Abbildung zeigt Reflektivität und diffuse Streuung von polarisierten Neutronen mit Polarisationsanalyse, welche während des Remagnetisierungsprozesses an einem remanenten Superspiegel aufgezeichnet wurden. Aus solchen Messungen schließen wir, daß sich die Magnetisierung der untersten Lagen zuerst parallel zum äußeren Feld drehen und daß magnetische Fluktuationen in den Lagen existieren, deren Magnetisierung sich noch nicht gedreht hat. Diese Aussagen werden durch Simulationen bestätigt auf der Basis der distorted-wave Born approximation (DWBA), wobei dynamische Effekte im Rahmen einer Störungsrechnung berücksichtigt sind.

Emmanuel Kentzinger

Grenzflächencharakterisierung von GMR-Systemen

interfacegmr_jpg

Die magnetoelektronischen Eigenschaften (Zwischenschichtaustauschkopplung, Riesenmagnetowiderstandseffekt) von dünnen Schichten hängen sehr stark von ihrer Grenzflächenmorphologie ab. Eine zerstörungsfreie Charakterisierung kann mit Hilfe von Röntgenstreuung unter streifendem Einfall durchgeführt werden. Der Formfaktorkontrast zwischen den Schichten kann bedeutend vergrößert werden mit Hilfe von anomaler Streuung an einer Synchrotronstrahlungsquelle. Die Abbildung zeigt diffuse Streuung von einem Fe/Cr/Fe-Dreischichtsystem für zwei Röntgenenergien, eine für Nullkontrast und eine für Maximalkontrast zwischen Fe und Cr. Dies führt zu sehr unterschiedlichen Modulationen der gemessenen Intensitäten.

Emmanuel Kentzinger

Übergitter von Selten-Erd-Metallen

combined_184px_png

Wir studieren die strukturellen und magnetischen Eigenschaften von künstlichen Übergittern aus Elementen der seltenen Erden. Ziel dieser Untersuchungen ist ein verbessertes Verständnis des Wechselspiels aus Zwischenschichtkopplung, Anisotropie und elastischen Energien, die mit der gewählten Struktur eingestellt werden können. Die subtile Balance zwischen diesen Energiebeiträgen führt zu einer Vielfalt an magnetischen Phasen, wenn die Zusammensetzung der Übergitter verändert wird. Der Mechanismus der Zwischenschichtkopplung und Proximity-Effekte werden mit resonanter Austauschstreuung aufgeklärt.

Jörg Voigt

Lateral strukturierte magnetische Schichtsysteme

streifen_jpg

Das Magnetisierungsverhalten und die Bildung magnetischer Domänen in magnetischen Schichtsystemen werden im Wesentlichen durch die Kristallanisotropie der ferromagnetischen Schichten, die Zwischenschichtkopplung, die Formanisotropie der dünnen Filme (Dipolkräfte) und das äußere Magnetfeld bestimmt.
Die Strukturierung einiger Lagen mit Elektronenstrahl- oder Laser-Interferenzlithographie (z.B. in Streifen mit 500 nm Breite) induziert eine zusätzliche Formanisotropie in die strukturierten Schichten und gibt damit die Möglichkeit, die Domänenbildung zu beeinflussen. Wir benutzen off-spekuläre polarisierte Neutronenstreuung unter streifendem Einfall, um die Wechselwirkung zwischen den Streifen durch einerseits die Zwischenschichtkopplung an unstrukturierte Schichten und andererseits Dipolkräfte zu untersuchen und Informationen über die magnetische Domänenformation in den einzelnen Schichten des nanostrukturierten Schichtsystems zu erhalten.

Ulrich Rücker


Servicemenü

Homepage