(leer)

Navigation and service


Electronic Structure and Physical Properties of Matter

At PGI-6 we explore the intricate interrelations between the electronic structure and the physical properties of matter. Particular emphasis is given to the fundamental aspects of magnetism and the exploitation of magnetic and spin-based phenomena in nanoscience and information technology. The systems of interest range from thin film stacks and quantum wires to quantum dots, clusters and magnetic molecules.

In order to address the wide variety of physical aspects and scientific questions arising in the field of magnetism, we develop and employ advanced experimental techniques in the laboratory, including high-resolution magnetic microscopies and ultrafast laser-based spectroscopies.  Additionally, we operate our own beamlines with highly-specialized endstations at the synchrotron radiation facilities in Dortmund (DELTA) and Berlin (BESSY-II) for state-of-the-art electron spectroscopy and element-selective electron microscopy investigations.

The results of these studies on magnetic materials and spin-based phenomena form the basis for our fundamental and application-oriented research in the field of magneto- and spin electronics, where we endeavour to employ spin as a state variable in future nanoelectronic devices. These activities also serve as a gateway to solid-state based quantum information technology.

Pioneering work at PGI-6 includes the discovery of Giant Magnetoresistance (GMR) by Peter Grünberg - concomitantly with Albert Fert of the Université Paris Sud. GMR revolutionized magnetic data storage technology and laid the foundations of spintronics. In 2007, this discovery was honoured with the Nobel Prize in Physics.

 

 

iee_logo


Servicemeu

Homepage

(leer)

Navigation und Service


Elektronische Struktur und physikalische Stoffeigenschaften.

Im PGI-6 erforschen wir die komplexen Zusammenhänge zwischen der elektronischen Struktur und den physikalischen Stoffeigenschaften. Besondere Schwerpunkte sind grundlegende Aspekte des Magnetismus, sowie die Nutzung, magnetischer und spin-basierter Phänomene für die Nano- und Informationstechnologie. Die untersuchten Systeme reichen von Dünnschichtsystemen und Quantendrähten bis hin zu Quantenpunkten, Clustern und magnetischen Molekülen.

Zur Beantwortung der grossen Vielfalt physikalischer und wissenschaftlicher Fragestellungen im Bereich des Magnetismus entwickeln und nutzen wir moderne Versuchstechniken im Labor, darunter auch hochauflösende magnetische Mikroskopie- und ultraschnelle Laserspektroskopie-Verfahren. An den Synchrotronstrahlungsquellen in Dortmund (DELTA) und Berlin (BESSY-II) betreiben wir eigene Strahlrohre mit hochspezialisierten Endstationen für Elektronenspektroskopie- und elementselektive Elektronenmikroskopie-Untersuchungen.

Die Ergebnisse dieser Untersuchungen an magnetischen Materialien und spin-basierten Phänomenen bilden die Grundlage für unsere Forschung und anwendungsorientierte Aktiviäten auf dem Gebiet der Magneto- und Spinelektronik. Dort arbeiten wir an der Nutzung des Spins als Zustandsvariable in zukünftigen nanoelektronischen Bauelementen mit dem Fernziel einer festkörpergestützten Quanteninformationstechnik.

Zu den bahnbrechenden Arbeiten am PGI-6 gehört die Entdeckung des Riesenmagnetowiderstands (GMR) durch Peter Grünberg - zusammen mit Albert Fert von der Université Paris Sud. Der GMR-Effekt revolutionierte die magnetische Datenspeichertechnologie und begründete das Forschungsfeld der Spinelektronik. Diese Entdeckung wurde im Jahre 2007 mit dem Nobelpreis für Physik ausgezeichnet.

 

iee_logo


Servicemenü

Homepage