Search

link to homepage

Peter Grünberg Institute
(leer)

Navigation and service


Innovative solutions for high performance IT

The digital age continuously demands for increasing information and global communication capacities. The incessant acceleration of developments in the IT industry call for a multidisciplinary material science based approach to solve challenges with respect to security requirements, power consumption and environmental compatibility of the production techniques involved.

We deal with solutions for low energy consuming (opto)electronics, fast communication, highly secure systems and environmentally friendly production technologies. We optimize and create suitable semiconductor materials, device structures and innovative device concepts/layouts with them, and exploit novel physical phenomena and techniques and thereby contribute to progress in future optical communication, data storage and advances in nanotechnology.


The results of this fundamental, device oriented research is transferred to the two JARA institutes JARA Green-IT and JARA-QI to support their ongoing efforts to use novel computing architectures based on brain inspired and quantum phenomena, respectively, to solve complex tasks and big data requirements of the information society.

Topics:

Group-IV alloys

III-V-nanoelectronics

Towards non-volatile memories

Group IV based devices


Servicemeu

Homepage

Suche

zur Hauptseite

Peter Grünberg Institut
(leer)

Navigation und Service


Innovative Lösungen für High-Performance IT

Das digitale Zeitalter erfordert dauerhaft Informations- und globale Kommunikationskapazitäten. die ständige Beschleunigung der Entwicklung in der IT-Industrie erfordert eine interdisziplinäre Materialforschung basierend auf dem Ansatz, die Anforderungen bezüglich Sicherheitsaspekten, Energieverbrauch und Umweltverträglichkeit von Produktionstechnologien zu erfüllen.

Wir arbeiten an Lösungen für die (Opto)Elektronik, die sehr wenig Energie verbrauchen soll, schnelle Kommunikation, für Hochsicherheitssysteme und umweltfreundliche Produktionstechnologien. Wir optimieren und erzeugen geeignete Halbleitermaterialien, Bauelemente und daraus innovative Bauelementdesigns und -konzepte. Damit untersuchen wir neue physikalische Phänomene und Techniken und darüber tragen wir zum Fortschritt in der zukünftigen optischen Kommunikation, der Datenspeicherung und Fortschritten in der Nanotechnologie bei.

Die Resultate aus dieser fundamentalen bauelementorientierten Forschung wird zu den beiden JARA Instituten JARA Green-IT und JARA-QI transferiert, um deren Aktivitäten im Bereich neuer Computerarchitekturen zu unterstützen. Diese Computerarchitekturen sind einerseits angelehnt an den Funktionen des Gehirns oder basieren auf Quantenphänomenen. Hiermit möchten wir komplexe Probleme und das Problem grosser Datenmengen in der Informationsgesellschaft lösen.


Servicemenü

Homepage