Search

link to homepage

Peter Grünberg Institute
(leer)

Navigation and service


Master thesis: Growth of Semiconductor Nanowires

Starting date: anytime

Semiconductor nanowires belong to the most interesting one-dimensional nanostructures. Their special morphology allows the epitaxial combination of different semiconductor materials, which can be used to produce new heterostructures for diverse applications. GaAs/InAs – core/shell nanowires, recently developed at our institute are such an example. Their special band-alignment causes a high intrinsic conductivity and allows the observation of electron interference effects in electrical transport measurements.

We give you the opportunity, to work at the Peter Grünberg Institute for semiconductor nanotechnology as part of the Metal Organic Vapor Phase Epitaxy (MOVPE) research group, working actively on currents topics in semiconductor nanowire research. The goal of this master thesis is the research of crystal growth of group III/V nanowires. One aim is the improvement of the crystal quality of the nanowires and the other the development of new growth parameters for the growth of nanowire heterostructures.

At first, you will learn the structuring of suitable growth substrates for epitaxy, which are currently made be electron beam or nanoimprint lithography. Second, you will learn the growth of semiconductor nanowires using MOVPE. Third, the grown nanowires should be characterized using scanning or transmission electron microscopy.

We offer:
• Experienced and friendly research team
• Excellent experimental equipment
• Working and learning in a great research environment

Please send your application (including CV, bachelor thesis, and exam results) by email to:
[Dr. Hilde Hardtdegen] (h.hardtdegen@fz-juelich.de) or
[Fabian Haas] (f.haas@fz-juelich.de)


Servicemeu

Homepage

Suche

zur Hauptseite

Peter Grünberg Institut
(leer)

Navigation und Service


Masterarbeit: Wachstum von Halbleiter Nanodrähten

Beginn: Sofort wenn möglich

Halbleiter Nanodrähte gehören zu den interessantesten eindimensionalen Nanostrukturen. Ihre besondere Morphologie erlaubt es unterschiedlichste Halbleitermaterialien zu kombinieren, wodurch neuartige Heterostrukturen für vielfältige Anwendungen hergestellt werden können. Die zuletzt an unserem Institut entwickelten GaAs/InAs – Kern/Hülle Nanodrähte sind ein solches Beispiel. Deren besondere Bandanordnung sorgt für eine hohe intrinsische Leitfähigkeit und die Möglichkeit Elektroneninterferenz direkt sichtbar zu machen.

Wir bieten Ihnen die Möglichkeit, innerhalb des Peter Grünberg Instituts für Halbleiter Nanotechnologie als Teil der Arbeitsgruppe Metall Organische Gasphasen Epitaxie (MOVPE) aktiv an aktuellen Fragen zur Halbleiter Nanodrahtforschung mitzuarbeiten. Im Rahmen dieser Masterarbeit sollen das Kristallwachstum von Gruppe III/V Nanodrähten untersucht werden. Ziel ist zum einen die Verbesserung der kristallinen Qualität der Drähte sowie die Erschließung neuer Wachstumsparameter für das Wachstum vom Nanodraht-heterostrukturen.

In einer ersten Phase soll die Strukturierung von geeigneten Wachstumssubstraten erlernt werden, die am Institut bisher mittels Elektronenstrahl- und Nanoimprint Lithographie hergestellt werden. In einer zweiten Phase sollen dann Halbleiter Nanodrähte mittels MOVPE gewachsen werden. In der dritten Phase erfolgt deren Charakterisierung mittels Raster- sowie Transmissions-Elektronenmikroskopie.

Bitte schicken Sie Ihre Bewerbung mitsamt Lebenslauf, Bachelorarbeit und Prüfungsresultate per email an
[Dr. Hilde Hardtdegen] (h.hardtdegen@fz-juelich.de) or
[Fabian Haas] (f.haas@fz-juelich.de)


Servicemenü

Homepage