Search

link to homepage

Peter Grünberg Institute
(leer)

Navigation and service


Magnetotransport

By means of magnetotransport measurements spin and quantum phenomena in semiconductor nanostructures can be investigated. Depending on the required measurement temperature different types of cryostats are used. In order to obtain high magnetic fields, often superconducting magnets are employed.

For extremely low temperatures an Oxford Kelvinox 200 He-3/He-4 dilution refrigerator and a Leiden Cryogenics dilution refrigerator are available. Both with a base temperature of about 10 mK. In a dilution fridge a mixture of He-3 and He-4 is used for cooling. At low temperatures a phase separation into a He-3 rich and He-3 diluted phase occurs. The cooling power results from the transfer of He-3 from the He-3 rich into the He-3 diluted phase. This cryostats is equipped with a superconduction magnets, in case of the Oxford system with a vector magnet.

Leiden dilution fridgeLeiden Cryogenics dilution refrigerator, control panel


For measurements down to 300 mK an Oxford He-3 cryostat is available, which is equipped with a 8 T magnet. For cooling down to base temperature previously condensed He-3 is pumped by a sorption pump.

He-3 CryostatOxford He-3 cryostat


In addition to the systems mentioned above it is also possible to measure samples in a He-4 continuous flow cryostat at temperatures from 4 K up to room temperature. Here, a magnetic field of 0.5 T can be applied.


Servicemeu

Homepage

Suche

zur Hauptseite

Peter Grünberg Institut
(leer)

Navigation und Service


Magnetotransport

Mit Hilfe von Magnetotransportmessungen können eine Vielzahl Quantenphänomenen in Halbleiterstrukturen untersucht werden. In der Regel werden die Messungen bei tiefen Temperaturen durchgeführt. Abhängig von der benötigten Messtemperatur werden unterschiedliche Kryostatsysteme eingesetzt. Zur Erzeugung von hohen Magnetfeldern kommen oft supraleitende Magneten zum Einsatz.

Zur Erzeugung tiefster Temperaturen stehen ein Oxford Kelvinox 200 und ein Leiden Cryogenics zur Verfügung mit Basistemperaturen von etwa 10 mK. Bei diesen Mischkryostaten wird ein Gemisch aus He-3 und He-4 zur Kühlung eingesetzt. Bei tiefen Temperaturen gibt es eine Separation in eine He-3 reiche und eine He-3 arme Phasen. Die Kühlwirkung kommt dadurch zustande, dass He-3 aus der He-3 reichen Phase in die He-3 arme Phase transferiert wird. Die Kryostat ist mit supraleitenden Magneten ausgestattet

Leiden Cryogenics MischkryostatLeiden Cryogenics Mischkryostat


Für Messungen bis hinunter zu 300 mK kommt ein He-3 Kryostat zum Einsatz, welcher mit einem 8 T Magneten ausgestattet ist. Die Kühlwirkung kommt dabei zustande, dass zuvor verflüssigtes He-3 mittels einer Sorptionspumpe abgepummt wird.

He-3 KryostatOxford He-3 Kryostat


Neben den oben genannten Systemen ist es auch möglich mittels eines He-4 Durchflusskryostaten Messungen von He-Temperatur (4 K) bis hinauf zu Raumtemperatur durchzuführen. Bei diesem Messaufbau steht ein Magnet mit einem Feld bis 0.5 T zur Verfügung.

Kontakt

Prof. Dr. Thomas Schäpers


Servicemenü

Homepage