Navigation and service

Prof. Dr. Sebastian M. Schmidt

Member of the Board of Directors for Scientific Division I

Prof. Dr. Sebastian M. Schmidt (born 1967) became Member of the Board of Directors on 1 November 2007.

Between 2002 and 2005, Prof. Schmidt worked at the head office of the Helmholtz Association, where he was responsible for the research area "structure of matter" and "energy" from 2003 and headed subprojects on "research strategies" and "large international facilities". From 2006 until he took up employment at Research Centre Jülich, Dr. Schmidt was managing director and head of the area of "research" in the Helmholtz Association.

Sebastian Schmidt studied at the University of Rostock and in Dubna, Russia, and completed his studies in physics as a "Diplom-Physiker" in 1993. In 1995, he was awarded his PhD with the title of "Dr. rer. nat." in theoretical physics at the University of Rostock, and in 2001, he obtained his habilitation at the universities of Tübingen and Rostock.

Schmidt was the recipient of a Minerva Fellowship and studied at the University of Tel Aviv in Israel from 1995 to 1996. He spent 1999 to 2000 at Argonne National Laboratory in the USA after he was awarded a fellowship by the Alexander von Humboldt Foundation. He spent the time in between working as a university assistant with a PhD at the University of Rostock within the framework of a special university programme ("Hochschulsonderprogramm"). He went on to head a DFG Emmy Noether Independent Junior Research Group at the University of Tübingen.

Since 2009, Sebastian Schmidt has been an honorary professor at TU Dortmund University, where he is also chairman of the supervisory board of the DELTA synchrotron radiation source. He is active on a number of different national and international committees, and is chairman of the steering committee at the Institut Laue-Langevin in Grenoble, and a member of the steering committee of the European Spallation Source in Lund.

Sebastian Schmidt advises the Kurchatov Institute in Moscow as a member of the International Science Policy Committee and chairman of the subcommittee for neutron research. At the Shanghai Institute of Microsystem and Information Technology (SIMIT), he is an honorary professor and co-chairman of the joint research laboratory established together with Forschungszentrum Jülich. Sebastian Schmidt is also a member of the supervisory board of the Centre for Structural Systems Biology (CSSB) in Hamburg.

In June 2012, he was appointed professor of physics at RWTH Aachen University and he also represents the Board of Directors of Forschungszentrum Jülich on behalf of JARA at the rectorate of RWTH Aachen University. He became vice-chairman of the advisory board of the Hochschule Niederrhein University of Applied Sciences in January 2013.

In July 2014, Prof. Schmidt was awarded an honorary doctorate by the Georgian Technical University (GTU) in Tbilisi for his commitment to the scientific exchange between Germany and Georgia.

Prof. Sebastian Schmidt
Phone: +49 2461 61-3900

Executive Assistant:

Dr. Ruth Laengner

Telephone: +49 2461 61-3902
Fax: +49 2461 61-2640


Petra Rott

Telephone: +49 2461 61-3901
Fax: +49 2461 61-2640
E-Mail: E-Mail: