Search

link to homepage

Navigation and service


juelich_horizons

Supporting young people and early-career scientists is one of Forschungszentrum Jülich's central concerns. Introducing children and teenagers to research, developing innovative structures for vocational training, and providing early-career scientists with outstanding conditions for achieving excellence – these tasks have been brought together under the banner of juelich_horizons. The strategic development of Jülich's support for young and early-career scientists is coordinated within Corporate Development.

Promoting Action at All Stages of Education

Foto Heads

juelich_heads

works with outstanding early-career scientists at postdoc level.

more: juelich_heads …

Foto Chances

juelich_chances

addresses students and graduates from Germany and abroad.

more: juelich_chances …

Foto Tracks

juelich_tracks

is aimed at young people in their training and early career stages.

more: juelich_tracks …

Foto Impuls

juelich_impulse

targets children and young people, starting with kindergarten children and covering all types of schools.

more: juelich_impulse …

Promoting Excellence, Equal Opportunities, and Internationalization

All support services aim to generate excellence in all stages of education, training, and career development. Broad-based support will be applied at first wherever it is appropriate and feasible, especially in the early stages of the educational process – to provide impulses, discover talents, and foster excellence. In this way, Forschungszentrum Jülich introduces children and young people to research and helps to further knowledge transfer while simultaneously fulfilling its special responsibility as a publicly funded research institution.

Another guiding principle is the promotion of equal opportunities for men and women. Bearing scientific career paths in mind, Jülich's self-imposed quotas (which are distinctly higher than those recommended in the Helmholtz Association guidelines) are particularly important for achieving this aim. In order to achieve a better balance between the sexes, the Board of Directors has therefore decided to implement quotas for the share of women scientists at different stages of the career ladder. The aim of these quotas is to incentivize the promotion of women, to employ the best talent at Forschungszentrum Jülich regardless of gender, and in doing so to ensure truly equal opportunities. Creating appropriate employment conditions will also allow employees to balance their work at Forschungszentrum Jülich on the one hand and their family obligations on the other. In December 2013, Jülich was re-certified as a family-friendly employer in the "berufundfamilie" (career and family) audit.

Another important element in promoting young talent is internationalization. International frames of reference have become more and more important and this development must be continuously sustained in order to remain competitive both in Europe and at a global level. This process of internationalization always follows scientific objectives and is continuously fostered both internally and externally. It is reflected not only in the institutional structures of cross-border educational and research associations and large-scale projects, but also in the competition to attract the best minds of tomorrow. This has less to do with "brain gain" (international recruitment) or "brain drain" (the loss of expertise), and more with recognizing that the promotion of "brain circulation" will be a key to the future internationalization strategy. Creating conditions that promote international networking on an institutional as well as an individual level and hence prepare early-career scientists in particular to compete globally will have a positive knock-on effect in the long term and make Forschungszentrum Jülich a more attractive employer.

Through transparent and competition-oriented promotion, selection, and evaluation processes, Forschungszentrum Jülich will take a tactical approach in its support for young scientists under the banner of juelich_horizons and will anchor the guiding principles stated above to all four cornerstones of its work in supporting young scientists.


Servicemeu

Homepage

Navigation und Service


juelich_horizons

Nachwuchsförderung ist ein zentrales Anliegen des Forschungszentrums. Kinder und Jugendliche an die Forschung heranführen, innovative Strukturen für die Berufsausbildung entwickeln und den wissenschaftlichen Nachwuchs mit hervorragenden Bedingungen zu exzellenten Leistungen befähigen – diese Aufgaben werden unter dem Dach juelich_horizons zusammengefasst. Die strategische Ausrichtung der Jülicher Nachwuchsförderung wird innerhalb des Geschäftsbereiches Unternehmensentwicklung koordiniert.

Verzahnte Maßnahmen entlang der gesamten Bildungskette

Foto Heads

juelich_heads

wendet sich an herausragende Nachwuchswissenschaftlerinnen und -wissenschaftler in der Postdoc-Phase

Mehr: juelich_heads …

Foto Chances

juelich_chances

adressiert Studierende und Graduierte aus dem In- und Ausland.

Mehr: juelich_chances …

Foto Tracks

juelich_tracks

richtet sich an Jugendliche und junge Erwachsene in der Ausbildungs- und frühen Erwerbstätigkeitsphase.

Mehr: juelich_tracks …

Foto Impuls

juelich_impulse

spricht Kinder und Jugendliche ab dem Kindergartenalter über alle Schulformen hinweg an.

Mehr: juelich_impulse …

Exzellenz, Chancengleichheit und Internationalisierung fördern

Alle Förderaktivitäten zielen darauf, in allen Bildungs-, Ausbildungs- und Karrierestufen Exzellenz zu generieren. Dort, wo Förderung zunächst einer breiten Basis sinnvoll und möglich ist - insbesondere in den ersten Gliedern der Bildungskette - wird sie betrieben: Impulse werden gesetzt, Talente entdeckt und Exzellenz gefördert. Somit leistet das Forschungszentrum durch die Heranführung von Kindern und Jugendlichen an die Forschung auch einen Beitrag zur Stärkung von Wissenstransfer und wird zudem seiner besonderen Verantwortung als von der öffentlichen Hand finanzierter Forschungseinrichtung gerecht.

Eine weitere handlungsleitende Maxime ist die Förderung der Chancengleichheit von Männern und Frauen. Mit Blick auf den wissenschaftlichen Nachwuchs ist dies insbesondere bei der Erreichung der Jülicher Selbstverpflichtungsquoten relevant, die deutlich über die von der Helmholtz-Gemeinschaft empfohlenen Richtwerte hinausgehen. Um eine verbesserte Balance zwischen den Geschlechtern zu erreichen, hat der Vorstand Zielquoten für den Anteil von Wissenschaftlerinnen auf verschiedenen Karrierestufen beschlossen. Ziel dieser Quoten ist es, Anreize für die Förderung von Frauen zu schaffen, um unabhängig vom Geschlecht die besten Talente im Forschungszentrum zu beschäftigen und damit tatsächliche Chancengleichheit zu gewährleisten. Darüber hinaus soll die Schaffung von geeigneten Rahmenbedingungen die Vereinbarkeit von beruflicher Tätigkeit im Forschungszentrum einerseits und Familienaufgaben andererseits be­günstigen. Im Dezember 2013 wurde Jülich erneut im Rahmen des audits berufundfamilie als familienfreundlicher Arbeitgeber zertifiziert.

Ein weiteres wichtiges Element der Nachwuchsarbeit ist die Internationalisierung. Internationale Bezugsrahmen haben stark an Bedeutung gewonnen und diese Entwicklung wird sich beständig fortsetzen, um in Europa und darüber hinaus im globalen Kontext wettbewerbsfähig zu bleiben. Dabei folgt die Internationalisierung stets der wissenschaftlichen Zielsetzung und wird nach innen und außen durchgän­gig gefördert. Sie spiegelt sich nicht nur in der institutionellen Ausgestaltung von grenzüberschreitenden Ausbildungs- und Forschungsver­bünden sowie Großprojekten wider, sondern findet ihren Niederschlag auch bei der Nachwuchsgewinnung im Wettbewerb um die besten Köpfe von morgen. Hier geht es weniger um „brain gain“ – die internationale Rekrutierung – oder „brain drain“ – dem Verlust von Expertise – vielmehr wird zukünftig ein Schlüssel der Internationalisierungsstrategie in der Beförderung der „brain circulation liegen: Die Schaffung von Rahmenbedingungen, die eine internationale Vernetzung auf institutioneller wie individueller Ebene begünstigen und so insbesondere Nachwuchswissenschaftlerinnen und Nachwuchswissenschaftler bestmöglich für den globalen Wettbewerb rüsten, wird langfristig eine positive Sogwirkung entfalten und die Attraktivität von Jülich als Arbeitgeber steigern.

Durch transparente, wettbewerbsorientierte Förder-, Auswahl- und Evaluationsverfahren geht das Forschungszentrum die Nachwuchsförderung unter dem Dach von juelich_horizons planvoll an und verankert die vorgenannten Leitgedanken mit differen­zierter Gewichtung in allen vier Grundsteinen der Nachwuchsarbeit.


Servicemenü

Homepage