Search

link to homepage

Central Institute for Engineering, Electronics and Analytics (ZEA)
(leer)

Navigation and service


Welcome to BrainMet

Bioimaging of Metals in Brain and Metallomics

BrainMet (Brainmet - Bioimaging of Metals in Brain and Metallomics) was inaugurated on 9 December 2009 as an innovative and powerful technology for dementia research. The analytical BrainMet centre of excellence at the Central Division of Analytical Chemistry of Forschungszentrum Jülich was founded with expertise and equipment from Thermo Scientific, in cooperation with associates from the medical institutes at Forschungszentrum Jülich, and with partners from Europe and America. The cutting-edge analytical BrainMet technology now available enables assays to be performed concerning the specific quantitative distribution of metals in tissue sections (bioimaging) combined with investigations on the binding of metals to proteins (metallomics) for brain research.

Motivation

  • Scientific attention has only begun to be focused on the relevance of metals in neuroscience in the first decade of the 21st century, and this is now increasingly becoming the object of fundamental developments and research in various institutions throughout the world.
  • Metals (e.g. Fe, Cu, Zn, Ca, K, Mg, Mn, Mo) are of pre-eminent importance for the living organism as essential mineral elements and are involved in important cellular processes in the brain.
  • In most neurodegenerative diseases (such as Alzheimer's disease - AD or Parkinson's disease - PD), abnormal accumulations of metal (plaques) are observed in the brain, and these can lead to the destruction of the neural network and thus to cell death.
  • Metals also play an important part in the occurrence or treatment of other diseases of the brain (Wilson's or Huntington's disease, amyotrophic lateral sclerosis (ALS), depression, epilepsy, tumours).
  • Toxic metals (Cd, Hg, Pb, As, Al, Tl, U, Cu) result in diseases of central nervous system (CNS).
    No studies are yet known on the quantitative distribution of metals combined to analysis of metalloproteins in plaques in samples of diseased brain.State of the Art

State of the Art

  • In the "BrainMet" Group, high-tech analytical techniques have been developed and established in recent years for the quantitative distribution analysis of metals in thin brain slices. The analytical techniques involving laser ablation inductively coupled mass spectroscopy (LA-ICP-MS) are robust, reproducible and provide validated and plausible distribution images of all metals, metalloids (As, Se) and also selected non-metals (C, S, Cl, I).
  • However, as well as images of the distribution of essential metals (Cu, Zn, Fe, Mo, Na, K, Mg etc.) in tissue sections, toxic metals (As, Hg, Pb, U, Th) can also be analysed with high sensitivity. The measured elemental distribution images in the thin brain slices correlate with known anatomical structures.
  • The high-tech analytical methods now established at Forschungszentrum Jülich have already been successfully used in selected studies for the quantitative distribution analysis of healthy and diseased samples of brain tissue (Alzheimer's, Parkinson's, stroke, depression), and also for investigating the growth of brain tumours.
  • The new BrainMet techniques can now be used for routine examinations of tissue samples for brain research, and are also applicable for other biological samples (tissue sections of plants and animals) as well as in micro- and nanoelectronics.
  • The BrainMet techniques are currently being further refined with the aim of improving the lateral resolution down to the nanometre range. With Nano-BrainMet, distribution analyses will in future be possible on individual cells, cell organelles (e.g. mitochondria) or synapses.

Activities and Priorities

  • Focusing expertise for the further development and dissemination of novel analytical tools in order, for example, to elucidate the relation between metallic ions, metalloproteins, their distribution in brain samples and neurodegenerative diseases and also to make new diagnostic techniques available for therapeutic measures in order, in collaboration with neuroscientists, to solve pressing issues concerning the relation between metallic ions, metalloproteins, their distribution and neurodegenerative diseases and their therapies.
  • The established BrainMet techniques are used for the effective handling of current issues at Forschungszentrum Jülich concerning the function and dysfunction of the nervous system and also to extend worldwide collaborative activities in this field.

Research Topics

Contact

BrainMet
Analytik (ZEA-3)
Forschungszentrum Jülich
D-52425 Jülich
Dr. habil. J. Sabine Becker
Tel.: (049) 2461 612698
FAX: (049) 2461 612560
s.becker@fz-juelich.de

Servicemeu

Homepage

Suche

zur Hauptseite

Zentralinstitut für Engineering, Elektronik und Analytik (ZEA)
(leer)

Navigation und Service


Willkommen auf der Webseite

Bioimaging of Metals in Brain and Metallomics

BrainMet (Brainmet - Bioimaging of Metals in Brain and Metallomics) wurde als eine neuartige und leistungsfähige Zukunftstechnologie für die Demenzforschung am 9. Dezember 2009 ins Leben gerufen. Das analytische BrainMet Kompetenzzentrum am Forschungszentrum Jülich wurde mit der Expertise und Instrumentation von Thermo Scientific, mit den Kooperationspartnern der Medizininstitute im Forschungszentrum Jülich, mit Partnern aus Europa und Amerika gegründet. Mit den verfügbaren analytischen BrainMet Techniken lassen sich neuartige quantitative Verteilungsanalysen von Metallen in Gewebeschnitten in Kombination mit Untersuchungen der Bindung der Metalle an Biomoleküle (Metallomics) für die Gehirnforschung einsetzen.

Motivation von BrainMet

  • Die Relevanz der Metalle in den Neurowissenschaften ist erst zu Beginn des 21. Jahrhunderts in den Mittelpunkt des wissenschaftlichen Interesses gerückt und wird zunehmend Gegenstand für grundlegende Entwicklungen und Forschungen in verschiedenen Institutionen weltweit.
  • Bekanntlich sind Metalle (z.B. Fe, Cu, Zn, Ca, K, Mg, Mn, Mo) als essenzielle Mineralelemente für den lebenden Organismus von eminenter Bedeutung und an wichtigen zellulären Prozessen im Gehirn beteiligt.
  • Bei den meisten neurodegenerativen Erkrankungen (z.B. Alzheimer, Morbus Parkinson) werden abnormale Metallablagerungen (Plaques) im Gehirn beobachtet, die zur Zerstörung der Nervenbahnen und damit zum Zelltod führen können.
  • Auch bei anderen Erkrankungen des Gehirns (Wilson, Hungtington, Amyotrophe Lateralsklerose (ALS), Depressionen, Epilepsie, Tumore) spielen Metalle bei der Entstehung bzw. Behandlung eine wichtige Rolle.
  • Über quantitative Metallverteilungen und/oder die Verteilung von Metalloproteinen in Plaques oder ausgewählten Bereichen in erkrankten Gehirnproben sind bisher kaum Untersuchungen bekannt.

State of the Art

  • In der Gruppe "Spuren- und Ultraspurenanalytik" des ZEA-3 wurden in den letzten Jahren Hightech-Analysentechniken zur quantitativen Verteilungsanalyse von Metallen in dünnen Gehirnschnitten entwickelt und etabliert. Diese analytischen Techniken unter Verwendung der Laserablations-ICP-Massenspektrometrie (LA-ICP-MS - laser ablation inductively coupled plasma mass spectrometry), erweisen sich als robust, reproduzierbar und liefern validierte und plausible Verteilungsbilder aller Metalle, Metalloide (As, Se), aber auch ausgewählter Nichtmetalle (z.B. C, S, Cl, I).
  • Neben den Verteilungsbildern essenzieller Metalle (Cu, Zn, Fe, Mo, Na, K, Mg, u.a.) in Gewebeschnitten können auch toxische Metalle (As, Hg, Pb, U, Th) mit hoher Empfindlichkeit analysiert werden. Die gemessenen Elementverteilungsbilder korrelieren mit den bekannten anatomischen Strukturen in dünnen Gehirnschnitten.
  • Die inzwischen im Forschungszentrum Jülich etablierten Hightech-BrainMet - Analysentechniken wurden bereits erfolgreich für ausgewählte Studien zur quantitativen Verteilungsanalytik in gesunden und kranken Gehirngewebeproben (Alzheimer- und Parkinson-Erkrankung, Gehirnschlag, Depression), aber auch zum Studium des Wachstums von Gehirntumoren eingesetzt.
  • Die neuen leistungsfähigen BrainMet -Techniken lassen sich nunmehr auch für Routineuntersuchungen an Gewebeproben für die Gehirnforschung einsetzen, sie sind aber auch für andere biologische Proben (Gewebeschnitte von Pflanzen und Tieren) oder in der Mikro- und Nanoelektronik anwendbar.
  • Derzeit werden die BrainMet -Techniken mit dem Ziel weiterentwickelt, das laterale Auflösungsvermögen bis in den Nanometerbereich zu verbessern. Mit Nano-BrainMet werden zukünftig Verteilungsanalysen an einzelnen Zellen, Zellorganellen (z.B. Mitochondrien oder quantitative Zn-Verteilungen an Synapsen) möglich sein.

Aufgaben und Schwerpunkte

  • Wir wollen unsere Kompetenzen im Forschungszentrum zur Weiterentwicklung und Verbreitung neuartiger, analytischer Werkzeuge bündeln, um beispielsweise den Zusammenhang von Metallionen, Metalloproteinen, deren Verteilungen in Gehirnproben mit neurodegenerativen Erkrankungen zu klären, bzw. neue Diagnosetechniken für Therapien zur Verfügung zu stellen, um brennende Fragen gemeinsam mit den Neurowissenschaftlern zu lösen.

Die etablierten BrainMet-Techniken sollen genutzt werden, um die aktuellen Fragestellungen zum Schwerpunkt des Forschungszentrums: "Function and Dysfunction of the Nervous System" erfolgreich zu bearbeiten, aber auch, um Kooperationen weltweit auf diesem Gebiet weiter auszubauen.

Forschungsprogramm

Kontakt

BrainMet
Analytik (ZEA-3)
Forschungszentrum Jülich
D-52425 Jülich
Dr. habil. J. Sabine Becker
Tel.: (049) 2461 612698
FAX: (049) 2461 612560
s.becker@fz-juelich.de

Servicemenü

Homepage