Search

link to homepage

Central Institute for Engineering, Electronics and Analytics (ZEA)
(leer)

Navigation and service


Fourier Transform Ion Cyclotron Resonance Mass Spectrometry (FT-ICR-MS)

Principles

The Fourier transform mass spectrometry (FTMS) is a special MS technique based on the principle of ion cyclotron resonance (ICR). Generally externally formed ions are trapped in a FTMS analyzer cell which is at the center of a strong magnetic field. A cyclotron motion results when the ions spiral rapidly around the magnetic field lines. The cyclotron frequencies of the different ions depend on their mass/charge ratios and the uniform magnetic field strength. Detection of the ions is performed by recording image current signals (transient) which are induced by the ions passing a pair of receiver plates. Frequencies are recorded more precisely than any other physical parameter leading to mass spectra with very high resolution and mass accuracies. For simultaneous measurement of ions with different mass/charge ratios Fourier transform analysis is used to convert the complex transient from a time-dependent to a frequency-dependent function which is the basis for generation the mass spectra.

Equipment

The LTQ FT Ultra from Thermo Fisher is a hybrid mass spectrometer consisting of a linear ion trap (LTQ) and a FT-ICR-MS. For separation of complex mixtures prior to FT-ICR-MS a HPLC system (Agilent 1200) can be coupled to the LTQ FT Ultra.

Ionization can be performed by the API techniques electrospray ionization (ESI) and atmospheric pressure chemical ionization (APCI) as well as by the Nanomate from Advion which enables on/off-line nano-ESI.

API techniques are soft ionization techniques which generate intact pseudo-molecule ions from analyte molecules. Besides determination of the accurate mass MS-MS experiments are useful for additional structure information. The LTQ FT Ultra offers collision induced dissociation (CID) in the ion trap as well as fragmentation directly in the ICR cell (Infrared multiphoton dissociation (IRMPD): excitation of molecule vibrations by a CO2 laser; electron capture dissociation (ECD): bombardment of multiply-charged positive ions with electrons).

Examples

  • Structure elucidation of unknown organic compounds (signaling compounds, metabolites, products from chemical (side) reactions)
  • Characterization of the organic carbon in soil and sediments with the focus on humic substances
  • Characterization and sequencing synthetic and natural peptides and proteins (under construction)

Contact

Frau Dr. B. Santiago Schübel Tel.: 02461-61 4951


Servicemeu

Homepage

Suche

zur Hauptseite

Zentralinstitut für Engineering, Elektronik und Analytik (ZEA)
(leer)

Navigation und Service


Fourier Transformations - Ionen Cyclotron Resonanz-Massenspektrometrie (FT-ICR-MS)

Methodenbeschreibung

Die Fourier-Transformations-Massenspektrometrie (FTMS) ist eine spezielle massenspektrometrische Technik, die auf dem Prinzip der Ionen Cyclotron Resonanz (ICR) basiert. Im Allgemeinen extern generierte Ionen werden dabei in einer Cyclotron-Zelle, die sich ihrerseits in einem starken Magnetfeld befindet, gespeichert. Durch das Magnetfeld werden die Ionen auf Kreisbahnen gezwungen, deren Frequenzen nur vom Masse/Ladungsverhältnis und der (konstanten) Magnetfeldstärke abhängen. Die Detektion erfolgt im Gegensatz zu anderen MS-Systemen nicht direkt, sondern nach erfolgter Anregung der Ionen durch die Aufnahme des sogenannten Image Current. Da Frequenzen derzeit mit höherer Genauigkeit bestimmt werden können als jeder andere physikalische Parameter, bieten diese Systeme sehr hohe Auflösungen und Massegenauigkeiten. Zur parallelen Messung von Ionen unterschiedlichen Masse/Ladungsverhältnisses wird die Fourier Transformation genutzt, die das resultierende komplexe Signal von einer zeit- in eine frequenzabhängige Funktion umrechnet, aus der letztendlich das Massenspektrum generiert wird.

Apparative Ausstattung

Das LTQ FT Ultra der Fa. Thermo Fisher ist ein Hybrid-Massenspektrometer aus einer vorgelagerten, linearen Ionenfalle (LTQ) und dem eigentlichen FT-ICR-MS. Zur weiteren Vortrennung komplexer Gemische ist die Kopplung mit einer HPLC möglich (Agilent 1200).

Zur Ionisierung stehen die API-Techniken Elektrospray (ESI) und Atmosphärendruck-Chemische Ionisation (APCI), mit der NanoMate (Fa. Advion) eine on/off-line Nano-ESI zur Verfügung.

API-Techniken generieren aus Molekülen geladene (unfragmentierte) Pseudo-Molekül-Ionen. Zur Strukturaufklärung (über die genaue Masse hinaus) werden häufig Fragmentierungen benötigt. Unser System bietet sowohl in der vorgelagerten linearen Ionenfalle die klassische Kollisions-induzierte Dissoziation (CID) als auch Fragmentierungsmöglichkeiten direkt in der ICR-Zelle (Anregung von Gerüstschwingungen mittels IR-Laser: IRMPD und/oder Anlagerung thermischer Elektronen an mehrfachgeladene Ionen: ECD).

Analysenbeispiele

  • Strukturaufklärung unbekannter Organika (Signalstoffe, Metabolite, Produkte aus chemischen (Neben)-Reaktionen etc.)
  • Charakterisierung des organischen Kohlenstoffs in Böden und Sedimenten mit Schwerpunkt Huminstoffe
  • Charakterisierung und Sequenzierung von synthetischen und natürlichen Peptiden und Proteinen (in Planung)

Ansprechpartner

Frau Dr. B. Santiago Schübel Tel.: 02461-61 4951


Servicemenü

Homepage