Search

link to homepage

Central Institute for Engineering, Electronics and Analytics (ZEA)
(leer)

Navigation and service


Matrix-assisted Laser Desorption/Ionization Linear Ion Trap Orbitrap XL (MALDI LTQ Orbitrap XLTM)

In the Thermo Scientific MALDI LTQ Orbitap XLTM instrument a MALDI source is coupled with a hybrid analyzer consisting of a linear ion trap (LTQ) and an Orbitrap. The LTQ provides fast sample analysis which is complementary to the electrospray, while the Orbitrap provides high resolution (minimum resolution 7,500 maximum resolution >100,000 at m/z 400), high mass accuracy (< 3 ppm with external calibration, < 2 ppm using internal calibration), and high sensitivity (sub-femtomol range for peptides), features which are required for unambiguous protein identification.

 

This system is suitable for both classical gel-based proteomics and for direct tissue analysis. The available fragmentation techniques are: CID (collision induced dissociation), PQD (pulsed Q collision induced dissociation which enables trapping of low mass fragment ions with m/z 50 - 2000). Moreover, precursor ion selection can be performed in the linear ion trap and fragmentation can be done in the collision cell (HCD) with high resolution accurate mass detection in the Orbitrap mass analyzer (m/z 50 – 4000).

 

The tissue-imaging solution provides researchers with unparalleled sensitivity and unmatched MSn spectral quality of linear ion trap technology as well as faster sample analysis, compared with the standard practice of homogenizing and extracting from tissue. The Thermo ImageQuest software enables the localization of peptides/small molecules within the analysed tissue, thus being a powerful tool for the presentation of MS images directly from tissue samples.

Contact:

Frau Dr. I Susnea Tel.: 02461-61 9582


Servicemeu

Homepage

Suche

zur Hauptseite

Zentralinstitut für Engineering, Elektronik und Analytik (ZEA)
(leer)

Navigation und Service


Matrix-assisted Laser Desorption/Ionization Linear Ion Trap Orbitrap XL (MALDI LTQ Orbitrap XLTM)

Im Thermo Scientific MALDI LTQ Orbitap XLTM wird eine MALDI-Quelle mit einem Hybrid Analysator aus seiner linearen Ionenfalle (LTQ) und einer Orbitrap gekoppelt. Das LTQ erlaubt kurze Analysenzeiten wie sie für Electrospray notwendig sind, wohingegen die Orbitrap höchste Massenauflösung (minimale Auflösung 7500 maximale Auflösung >100,000 bei m/z 400), hohe Massengenauigkeit (< 3 ppm mit externer Kalibrierung, < 2 ppm mit interner Kalibrierung), und hohe Empfindlichkeit (sub-femtomol Bereich für Peptide) erlaubt. Damit erlaubt das LTQ Orbitrap eindeutige Protein-Identifizierungen.

 

Das System ist sowohl für klassische gel-basierte Proteomics als auch für direkte Gewebe-Analytik geeignet und verfügt dazu über folgende Fragmentierungstechniken: CID (collision induced dissociation), PQD (pulsed Q collision induced dissociation – hierdurch wird das Trapping kleiner Massenfragment-Ionen zwischen m/z 50 – 2000 ermöglicht). Darüber hinaus besteht die Möglichkeit precursor ions in der linearen Ionenfalle zu erzeugen und zu selektieren, um sie anschließend in einer Kollisionszelle (HCD) zu fragmentieren und mit hoher Massengenauigkeit in der Orbitrap zu detektieren (m/z 50 – 4000).

 

Für die direkte Gewebeanalytik besteht höchste Empfindlichkeit sowie die Möglichkeit zu MSn Spektren mit höchster Qualität in der linearen Ionenfalle bei kleineren Analysendauern im Vergleich mit den Standardverfahren der Homogenisierung und Extraktion aus Gewebe. Die Thermo ImageQuest Software erlaubt die ortsaufgelöste Verteilungsanalytik von Peptiden/kleinen Molekülen und bietet die Möglichkeit zur Darstellung von MS-Images der Zielmoleküle des Gewebes.

 

Ansprechpartner:

Frau Dr. I. Susnea Tel.: 02461-61 9582


Servicemenü

Homepage