Search

link to homepage

Institute for Advanced Simulation (IAS)

Navigation and service


CroMa Project: Crowd Management in Transport Infrastructures

On 4 September 2018, the new CroMa project (Crowd Management in Transport Infrastructures) was officially launched at a kick-off meeting in Wuppertal. The CroMa project is funded by the German Federal Ministry of Education and Research (BMBF) over three years as of August 2018 as part of the Research Programme for Civil Security.

Public transport strongly relies on railway systems. Due to constantly growing passenger volumes, new concepts are needed in order to increase the efficiency of railway and underground stations. The CroMa project is focused on the development and enhancement of different strategies, such as building regulations, crowd management, and innovative action strategies. These strategies aim to increase the robustness and efficiency of railway stations during peak load and to avoid crushes in the event of critical crowd densities.

Research within the framework of CroMa includes the investigation of pedestrian traffic in traffic facilities and the study of pedestrian behaviour within dense crowds. These research fields will be assessed by means of field studies at railway stations as well as large-scale experiments in which several outer and inner parameters will be varied on a controlled basis.

The partners in the joint research project are the University of Wuppertal, Forschungszentrum Jülich (IAS 7 – Civil Safety Research), Ruhr-Universität Bochum, and Düsseldorf Congress GmbH. The associated partners include representatives of several public transport services, federal police, firefighters, equipment suppliers, and security services.

Contact: Dr. Maik Boltes, m.boltes@fz-juelich.de

from JSC News No. 261, 24 October 2018


Servicemeu

Homepage

Suche

zur Hauptseite

Institute for Advanced Simulation (IAS)

Navigation und Service


CroMa-Projekt: Crowd-Management in Verkehrsinfrastrukturen

Am 4. September 2018 wurde das neue Projekt CroMa (Crowd-Management in Transportinfrastrukturen) bei einem Kick-Off-Meeting in Wuppertal offiziell gestartet. Das CroMa-Projekt wird ab August 2018 vom Bundesministerium für Bildung und Forschung (BMBF) im Rahmen des Forschungsprogramms für die zivile Sicherheit über drei Jahre gefördert.

Der öffentliche Verkehr ist stark von Eisenbahnsystemen abhängig. Aufgrund des ständig wachsenden Passagieraufkommens sind neue Konzepte erforderlich, um die Effizienz von Bahnhöfen und U-Bahnhöfen zu steigern. Das CroMa-Projekt konzentriert sich auf die Entwicklung und Verbesserung verschiedener Strategien wie Bauvorschriften, Crowd-Management und innovative Aktionsstrategien. Diese Strategien zielen darauf ab, die Robustheit und Effizienz von Bahnhöfen in Spitzenlastzeiten zu erhöhen und Gedränge bei kritischen Personendichten zu vermeiden.

Die Forschung im Rahmen von CroMa umfasst die Untersuchung des Fußgängerverkehrs in Verkehrsanlagen und die Untersuchung des Fußgängerverhaltens in dichten Menschenmassen. Die Bewertung dieser Forschungsfelder erfolgt durch Feldstudien an Bahnhöfen sowie durch Großversuche, bei denen mehrere äußere und innere Parameter kontrolliert variiert werden.

Partner des Verbundprojekts sind die Universität Wuppertal, das Forschungszentrum Jülich (IAS 7 - Civil Safety Research), die Ruhr-Universität Bochum und die Düsseldorf Congress GmbH. Zu den assoziierten Partnern gehören Vertreter mehrerer öffentlicher Verkehrsbetriebe, der Bundespolizei, der Feuerwehr, der Lieferanten von Sicherheitsausrüstung und der Sicherheitsdienste.

Ansprechpartner: Dr. Maik Boltes, m.boltes@fz-juelich.de

aus JSC News No. 261, 24. Oktober 2018


Servicemenü

Homepage