Navigation and service

CoE in Combustion to Accelerate Decarbonization of Energy

The “Center of Excellence in Combustion (CoEC)”, an EU-funded project starting on 1 October 2020 with a total budget of around € 5.6 million, brings together eleven European partners with dedicated expertise in the numerical simulation of combustion. The objective is to develop high-performance software accessible to the industrial sector for the design of innovative technologies in combustion. The simulation of turbulent combustion of real devices, such as engines and gas turbines, is extremely demanding computationally and is consistently in the group of few applications that use the largest part of the available computer time on Tier-0 machines.

The CoEC is built upon the European HPC combustion community and aims at boosting the transition of the EU combustion codes towards exascale computing. It will enable new breakthroughs towards decarbonization, by developing a portfolio of high-end exa-enabled services based on combustion simulations. The ultimate goal of the CoEC is to empower the combustion simulation community to face the current and future challenges for cleaner and more efficient power and propulsion systems.

With the upcoming exascale machines, an opportunity for the revision of simulation methodologies and the extension of the most accurate methods to a wider range of conditions becomes possible.

The project is therefore divided into four main activities: computing efficiency, modelling, data processing, and future technologies. JSC is responsible for the work package “Data processing and analysis”, dedicated to the challenges and opportunities arising from the significantly increasing amount of data available in the simulations.

Contact: Jens-Henrik Göbbert, j.goebbert@fz-juelich.de

from JSC News No. 275, 25 September 2020

Navigation und Service

Centre of Excellence für Verbrennung zur Beschleunigung der Entkarbonisierung bei der Energieerzeugung

Das "Center of Excellence in Combustion (CoEC)", ein von der EU gefördertes Projekt, das am 1. Oktober 2020 mit einem Gesamtbudget von rund 5,6 Millionen Euro startet, vereint elf europäische Partner mit engagierter Expertise in der numerischen Simulation der Verbrennung. Ziel ist die Entwicklung einer dem Industriesektor zugänglichen Hochleistungssoftware für den Entwurf innovativer Verbrennungstechnologien. Die Simulation der turbulenten Verbrennung in echten Anlagen, wie Motoren und Gasturbinen, ist rechnerisch äußerst anspruchsvoll und gehört stets zu der Gruppe der Anwendungen, die einen großen Teil der verfügbaren Rechenzeit auf Tier-0-Maschinen nutzen können.

Das CoEC baut auf der europäischen HPC-Nutzerschaft für Verbrennungssimulationen auf und zielt darauf ab, den Übergang der europäischen Verbrennungscodes zum Exascale-Computing zu fördern. Das Exzellenzzentrum soll neue Durchbrüche auf dem Weg zur Dekarbonisierung ermöglichen, indem es ein Portfolio von anspruchsvollen High-End-Diensten entwickelt, die auf Verbrennungssimulationen basieren. Das letztendliche Ziel des CoEC ist es, die Nutzerschaft in die Lage zu versetzen, sich den aktuellen und zukünftigen Herausforderungen für sauberere und effizientere Energie- und Antriebssysteme zu stellen.

Mit den bevorstehenden Exascale-Maschinen wird eine Gelegenheit zur Überarbeitung der Simulationsmethoden und zur Ausweitung der genauesten Methoden auf ein breiteres Spektrum von Bedingungen möglich.

Das Projekt gliedert sich daher in vier Hauptaktivitäten: Recheneffizienz, Modellierung, Datenverarbeitung und Zukunftstechnologien. Das JSC ist für das Arbeitspaket "Datenverarbeitung und -analyse" verantwortlich, das sich den Herausforderungen und Möglichkeiten widmet, die sich aus der deutlich zunehmenden Menge der in den Simulationen verfügbaren Daten ergeben.

Ansprechpartner: Jens-Henrik Göbbert, j.goebbert@fz-juelich.de

aus JSC News No. 275, 25. September 2020