Navigation and service

Beware the Next Wave – Modeling Scenarios for the COVID-19 Pandemic

As the COVID-19 pandemic started to take hold in Germany, the CoSiMo (COVID simulation and modeling) group was established as a collaboration between JSC and the Frankfurt Institute for Advanced Studies (FIAS). At the same time, the new SimLab Epidemiology and Pandemics was also established. Early in April, initial results were presented, demonstrating the potential effects of nonpharmaceutical interventions on the mitigation/suppression of the first wave and predicting the risk of a second one in the coming months.

As the second wave started to show in October 2020 and discussions veered towards different intervention strategies, the group simulated various scenarios capturing different intervention strategies. The results were presented on the homepage of Forschungszentrum Jülich’s website (press release from 6 November; in German) and were recently published in Influenza and other respiratory viruses. More recently, the group produced updated simulations demonstrating the possible effects of the holiday season (press release from 26 November; in German). Short-term predictions are provided to the forecast hub established at KIT (https://kitmetricslab.github.io/forecasthub/forecast).

Since there are too many factors influencing the epidemic that cannot be reliably estimated or predicted based on available data and knowledge, the simulations only show scenarios for different assumptions about these factors. In particular, long-term predictions are of a qualitative nature at best. The most reliable result predicts that a single 4-week-long shutdown – even if temporarily effective in reducing case numbers and fatalities – would not be sufficient in keeping the epidemic at bay for the rest of the winter. On the contrary, a number of contact reduction measures need to be applied throughout the next few months if further waves, and therefore repeated shutdowns, are to be avoided. This result was confirmed by the case/death counts of several countries such as France and Ireland which went into a second strict lockdown in the autumn followed by a subsequent new increase in cases shortly after the lockdown measures were lifted.

Further scenarios and simulations taking new data into account are to be provided and will address the issue of vaccinations, among other matters.

Contact: Dr. Jan Fuhrmann, j.fuhrmann@fz-juelich.de

From JSC News No. 278, 30 January 2021

Navigation und Service

Vorsicht vor der nächsten Welle - Modellierungsszenarien für die Pandemie COVID-19

Als sich die COVID-19-Pandemie in Deutschland abzuzeichnen begann, wurde die CoSiMo-Gruppe (COVID-Simulation und -Modellierung) als Kooperation zwischen JSC und dem Frankfurt Institute for Advanced Studies (FIAS) gegründet. Gleichzeitig wurde auch das neue SimLab Epidemiologie und Pandemie eingerichtet. Anfang April wurden erste Ergebnisse vorgestellt, die die möglichen Auswirkungen nicht-pharmazeutischer Maßnahmen auf die Eindämmung/Unterdrückung der ersten Welle aufzeigetn und das Risiko einer zweiten Welle in den kommenden Monaten vorhersagten.

Nachdem sich im Oktober 2020 die zweite Welle ankündigte und sich die Diskussionen auf verschiedene Interventionsstrategien zuspitzten, simulierte die Gruppe verschiedene Szenarien, die unterschiedliche Interventionsstrategien erfassten. Die Ergebnisse wurden auf der Homepage des Forschungszentrums Jülich vorgestellt (Pressemitteilung vom 6. November) und kürzlich in Influenza and other respiratory viruses veröffentlicht. Erst kürzlich hat die Gruppe aktualisierte Simulationen erstellt, die die möglichen Auswirkungen der Urlaubszeit zeigen (Pressemitteilung vom 26. November). Kurzfristige Vorhersagen werden dem am KIT eingerichteten Prognose-Hub zur Verfügung gestellt (https://kitmetricslab.github.io/forecasthub/forecast).

Da es zu viele Einflussfaktoren auf die Epidemie gibt, die auf der Grundlage der verfügbaren Daten und Kenntnisse nicht zuverlässig abgeschätzt oder vorhergesagt werden können, zeigen die Simulationen nur Szenarien für verschiedene Annahmen zu diesen Faktoren. Insbesondere die langfristigen Vorhersagen sind bestenfalls qualitativer Natur. Das zuverlässigste Ergebnis sagt voraus, dass eine einzige 4-wöchige Abschaltung - selbst wenn sie vorübergehend wirksam wäre, um die Fallzahlen und Todesfälle zu reduzieren, - nicht ausreichen würde, um die Epidemie für den Rest des Winters in Schach zu halten. Vielmehr müssen in den nächsten Monaten eine Reihe von Maßnahmen zur Kontaktreduzierung durchgeführt werden, um weitere Wellen und damit wiederholte Shutdowns zu vermeiden. Dieses Ergebnis wurde durch die Fall-/Todeszahlen mehrerer Länder wie Frankreich und Irland bestätigt, die im Herbst in einen zweiten strengen Lockdown gingen, gefolgt von einem erneuten Anstieg der Fälle kurz nach Aufhebung der Beschränkungsmaßnahmen.

Weitere Szenarien und Simulationen unter Berücksichtigung neuer Daten sind geplant und werden sich unter anderem mit der Frage der Impfungen befassen.

Ansprechpartner: Dr. Jan Fuhrmann, j.fuhrmann@fz-juelich.de

Aus JSC News No. 278, 30. Januar 2021