Navigation and service

New DFG Project on Parallel Simulation of Multi-Modal Energy Systems

The complexity of modern energy systems poses significant challenges concerning how these systems are planned, designed, and operated. These systems are expected to be multi-modal and to include storage capacities. The distributed nature of new resources and the participation of loads in energy management require fast, reactive control and protection. In this context, the use of highly efficient and fast numerical simulation tools becomes a critical need.

The goal of the newly started DFG project “Space-time parallel simulation of multi-modal energy systems” (PinTSimE, funded by DFG within the priority programme 1984 “Hybrid and multimodal energy systems”) is to define methodologies for the use of parallel-in-space-and-time techniques for the simulation of multi-modal energy systems in order to achieve faster than real-time performance. The two parallelization techniques combined will ensure an effective use of simulations for the design, analysis, control, and optimization of multi-modal power grids.

The project is led by Prof. Andrea Benigni of the Institute of Energy and Climate Research – Energy Systems Engineering at Forschungszentrum Jülich (IEK-10). Together with the University of Wuppertal, researchers at JSC will primarily work on parallel-in-time techniques for energy systems, in particular with respect to discrete events and their impact on convergence and efficiency. The group at IEK-10 will focus on the implementation and application of parallel-in-space solvers on Field-Programmable Gate Arrays (FPGAs). The project started on 1 February 2021 and will run for three years, supporting PhD and master’s students during this time.

Contact: Dr. Robert Speck, r.speck@fz-juelich.de

Navigation und Service

Neues DFG-Projekt zur parallelen Simulation von multimodalen Energiesystemen

Die Komplexität moderner Energiesysteme stellt erhebliche Herausforderungen an die Planung, Auslegung und den Betrieb dieser multimodalen Systeme. Die verteilte Natur der neuen Ressourcen und die Beteiligung der Lasten am Energiemanagement erfordern eine schnelle, reaktive Steuerung und zuverlässigen Schutz. In diesem Zusammenhang wird der Einsatz von hocheffizienten und schnellen numerischen Simulationswerkzeugen zu einer kritischen Notwendigkeit.

Das Ziel des neu gestarteten DFG-Projekts "Raum-Zeit-parallele Simulation multimodaler Energiesysteme" (PinTSimE, gefördert von der DFG im Rahmen des Schwerpunktprogramms 1984 "Hybride und multimodale Energiesysteme") ist es, Methoden für den Einsatz von Raum-Zeit-Parallelisierungstechniken zu entwickeln, um eine Simulationen multimodaler Energiesysteme schneller als in Echtzeit zu erreichen. Die Kombination der beiden Parallelisierungstechniken soll einen effektiven Einsatz von Simulationen für den Entwurf, die Analyse, die Steuerung und die Optimierung von multimodalen Energienetzen gewährleisten.

Geleitet wird das Projekt von Prof. Andrea Benigni vom Institut für Energie- und Klimaforschung - Energiesystemtechnik am Forschungszentrum Jülich (IEK-10). Gemeinsam mit der Universität Wuppertal werden die Forschenden am JSC vor allem an Parallel-in-Time-Techniken für Energiesysteme arbeiten, insbesondere im Hinblick auf diskrete Ereignisse und deren Auswirkungen auf Konvergenz und Effizienz. Die Gruppe am IEK-10 wird sich auf die Implementierung und Anwendung von Parallel-in-Raum-Lösern auf Field-Programmable Gate Arrays (FPGAs) konzentrieren. Das Projekt startete am 1. Februar 2021 und läuft über drei Jahre. Während dieser Zeit werden Promovierende und Masterstudierende unterstützt.

Ansprechpartner: Dr. Robert Speck, r.speck@fz-juelich.de