Navigation and service

POSTPONED to 2021 -- 14th European Conference on Surface Crystallography and Dynamics

04 May 2020
08 May 2020
Grainau, Eibsee, Germany

The European Conference on Surface Crystallography and Dynamics is one of the central conference series in the field of surface science and surface crystallography in Europe. It brings together scientists (both theoreticians and experimentalists) working on structural and related electronic properties of (crystalline) surfaces, interfaces, hybrid systems and - with increasing relevance - two-dimensional systems.

The next conference of this series (ECSCD 14) will be organized by the Peter Grünberg Institute (PGI-3), Forschungszentrum Jülich, and will be held from 4 - 8 May 2020 at the Eibsee Hotel, located at the foot of the Zugspitze mountain, the highest peak in the German Alps.

Without minimizing the relevance of traditional research topics, so-called novel material systems will be the focus of the upcoming ECSCD 14. In particular, this comprises two-dimensional materials such as graphene and transition metal dichalcogenides, but also topological materials. These systems are vital for technological advances in spintronics and quantum computing, telecommunications, light harvesting and "green power". This development of the research focus in the surface and interface science field will be accommodated by a targeted selection of invited speakers working at the forefront of their corresponding fields. The conference will therefore provide a central communication platform for the European surface science community and beyond.

We expect around 60-80 attendees to share their most recent scientific findings with their colleagues and to establish and extend collaborations with other research groups in the field. We particularly encourage oral and poster contributions from young scientists. Attending the conference will provide them with an opportunity to meet with experienced and internationally-recognized colleagues.

Organization Committee

F. Stefan Tautz
Christian Kumpf
Francois C. Bocquet
Christian Wagner
Sergey Subach
Lukasz Plucinski

Read more on the ECSCD 14 website