# **Curriculum Vitae**

Prof. Dr. Dieter Richter
JCNS-1, ICS-1, Research Center Jülich, D-52425 Jülich, Germany



27.02.1947	born in Hannover
1953 - 1957	Elementary School in Wolfsburg
1957 - 1966	Rats- und Theodor-Heuss-Gymnasium in Wolfsburg
1966 - 1968	Military service, final degree: second lieutenant
1968 - 1973	Study of physics at the Technische Universität Braunschweig
February 1974	Scientific collaborator at the Institut für Festkörperforschung of the KFA Jülich
February 1977	Thesis at the Technische Hochschule Aachen: "Investigation of Hydrogen Diffusion in the Presence of Trapping Defects"
1978 - 1979	Postdoc at the Brookhaven National Laboratory in the group of G. Shirane
1983	Habilitation in Physics at the Technische Hochschule Aachen
1985 - 1989	Senior scientist at the Institut Laue-Langevin in Grenoble, Responsibility: High resolution and time of flight experiments, physical chemistry
Since October 1989	Appointment as a director at the Institut für Festkörperforschung der KFA Jülich; Responsibility: Institute for Neutron Scattering; Chair at the University of Münster in physical chemistry
Since January 2011	Scientific Director at the FRM II in Munich
Since January 2013	Acting Director MLZ (FRM II in Munich)
Since April 2015	Retired as a Professor; working as a consultant for FZJ

## Awards / Honouring

1987	Solid State Physics Award (Walter-Schottky-Preis) of the German Physical Society for neutron-spin-echo work on the dynamics of polymers
1990	Max-Planck Award of the Humboldt Foundation and Max-Planck Society (together with J. Huang, Exxon)
1997	Honors chair at the Material Physics Dept. of the University of the Basque country founded by the Bank of Bilbao Vizcaya
1998	Fellow of the American Physical Society
1998	Call on a chair for experimental physics at the Technical University of Munich (turned down)
2002	Erwin-Schrödinger Award of the Stifterverband der deutschen Wissenschaften (together with J. Allgaier, G. Gompper (FZ Jülich) and R. Strey, T. Sottmann (Univ. Cologne))

2003/2004	Stafford Whitby Memorial Lecturer at the University Akron (sponsored by the company Bridgestone/Firestone)
2005	Call on a Chair of the University of Tennessee in combination with the directorship of the Joint Institute for Neutron Science (turned down)
2009	Walter Hälg Prize of the European Neutron Scattering Association (ENSA)
2015	Staudinger – Durrer Award of the ETH Zürich

### Memberships

2011-2015

Board:

weinbersnips	
1992 - 1995	Member in the ILL Subcommittee 9 "Soft Matter"
1992 - 1998	Chairman of the German Committee for Neutron Scattering
1994 - 1997	Founder and first Chairman of the European Neutron Scattering Association (ENSA)
1994 - 1997	Member of the European Spallation Source (ESS) Science Council
1994 - 1998	Member of the ILL Scientific Council
1996	Chairman of the Program Committee of the first European Neutron Scattering Conference (ECNS '96) in Interlaken (more than 700 participants)
1996 - 1998	Member of the Large Facility Commission
1996 - 1998	Member of the Conseil Scientific of the Laboratoire Léon Brillouin in Saclay (France)
1996 - 2000	Member of the German Delegation in the "Neutron Working Group" of the OECD Megascience Forum
1997 - 2003	Member of the European Neutron Scattering Association (ENSA)
1998 - 2003	Member of the European Union Neutron Round Table
1998 - 2007	Member of the PSI Research Commission in Villigen (Switzerland)
1999 - 2001	Member of the BMBF Commission FRM-2
1999 - 2001	Member of the Instrumentation Commission of the FRM-2
2000 - 2003	Chairman of the Scientific Advisory Committee (SAC) of the European Spallation Source (ESS) Project and ESS Science Director
2003 - 2004	Member of the ILL Instrument Subcommittee in Grenoble
2003 -	Member of the Scientific Evaluation Committee of the Laboratoire Léon Brillouin in Saclay
2003 -	Member of the Strategy Council of the FRM-2 (Munich)
2004 - 2005	Member of the ILL Scientific Council
2004 - 2005	Chairman ILL Subcommittee
2004 - 2011	Network Coordinator: "Soft Matter Composites - An approach to nanoscale functional materials", FP6 - Network of Excellence: SoftComp
2005 - 2007	Chairman of the ILL Scientific Council
2011-	Member of the Science Advisory Board of the Adophe Merkle Institute in Fribourg
2011 2015	Member of the ACS Macro Letters & Macromolecules joint Editorial Advisory

2016 - Member of the Scientific Advisory Board of the the Centro de Fisica Materiales (CSIC), Donostia (Spain)

Member in many Programm Committees and Advisory Boards of National and International Conferences

### Important Memberships in Journals

1991 - 1994	Co-Editor Europhysics Letters
1995 -	Advisory Editor "Nuclear Instruments and Methods in Physics Research"
2003 -	Advisory Editor "Journal of Polymer Science" (Polymer Physics & Polymer Chemistry)
2005 -	Member of the Editorial Board "Soft Matter" of the Royal Society of Chemistry

#### **Evaluator and Consultant Activities**

1996 - 2001	Consultant contract with Exxon, USA
1998	Evaluator of the OECD Mega Science Forum on the future prospects of neutron scattering in the OECD countries