Curriculum Vitae

Prof. Dr. Peter Andreas Grünberg (1939 - 2018)

born on 18 May 1939 in Pilsen (now Czech Republic),
died on 7 April 2018 in Jülich, Germany

Nationality: German


Diploma in physics: Technical University at Darmstadt, Germany, 1966
Ph.D: Technical University at Darmstadt, Germany 1969
Habilitation: University of Cologne, Germany 1984

Postdoctoral fellow at Carleton University, Ottawa Canada 1969- 1972
Research scientist, IFF-Forschungszentrum Juelich, Germany from 1972
Habilitation and lecturer, University of Cologne, from 1984
Title of "ausserplanmässiger Professor" awarded at University of Cologne 1992
Visiting scientist at Argonne National Laboratories, USA, 1984-1985
Visiting professor: IMR at Tohoku University, Sendai, Japan
and JRCAT, Tsukuba Research Center, Japan 1998

Specialization Main field: magnetism
Other fields: materials research, thin films
Current research interests: spintronics in layered magnetic structures

Honours, Awards, Members of Professional Societies

1994 APS International Prize for New Materials, together with A. Fert und S.S.P. Parkin

1994 IUPAP Magnetism Award, together with A. Fert

1996 "Technologiepreis", Verein der Freunde und Förderer des Forschungszentrums Jülich

1997 Hewlett Packard Europhysics Prize, together with A. Fert und S.S.P. Parkin

1998 "Deutscher Zukunftspreis": price of the president of the German Federal Republic for innovation and advancement of technology

2002 Award of the title of a "honorary doctor" (Dr.rer.nat.h.c.) by the Faculty for Physics and Astronomy at the University of Bochum, Germany

2003 Membership at the Max Planck Society as external member of the "Max-Planck-Institut für Mikrostrukturphysik" in Halle/Saale, Germany

2004 "Manfred-von-Ardenne Preis 2004 für Angewandte Physik" by the EFDS (European Society of Thin Films), Dresden, Germany

2006 "European Inventor of the Year 2006" in the category Universities and Research Institutions", European Patent Office

2006 "Stern-Gerlach-Medaille" of the German Physical Society

2007 Japan-Prize of the Science and Technology Foundation of Japan, together with A. Fert

2007 Wolf-Foundation Prize in Physics, together with A. Fert, Israel

2007 Nobel Prize in Physics, together with A. Fert

2007 Helmholtz Professorship

2007 Honorary Doctorate, RWTH Aachen University

2008 Cross of the Order of Merit of the Federal Republic of Germany

2008 Honorary Doctorate, Faculty of Mathematics and Natural Science, University of Cologne

2008 Honorary Doctorate, Saarland University

2008 Freeman of the City Jülich

2008 Freeman of the City Lauterbach

2008 Order of Merit of the German federal state of North Rhine-Westphalia

2008 Honory doctorate, Gebze Institute of Technology, Turkey

2008 Minerva-Preis, Förderverein Museum Jülich

2009 Honory doctorate, University of Athens, Greece

2011 Verleihung der Ehrenmitgliedschaft der Deutschen Physikalischen Gesellschaft (DPG)

2016 Friendship Award of the People’s Republic of China

Letzte Änderung: 30.08.2023