Curriculum vitae

Prof. Dr. Laurens (Kobus) Kuipers

Member of the Board of Directors for Scientific Division I

Employment

Since March 20	25 Member of the Board of Directors, Forschungszentrum Jülich
2016-2025	Full Professor Nanophotonics at the Delft University of Technology
2020–2024	Director of the Kavli Institute of Nanoscience in Delft
2016-2024	Head of the Quantum Nanoscience, TNW, Delft University of Technology
2015–2016	Professor Nanophotonics at the Delft University of Technology
2014–2019	Professor Nanophotonics at the University of Utrecht
2006–2015	Head of the Center for Nanophotonics, FOM institute AMOLF
2006–2018	Professor Nanophotonic Structures at the University of Twente
2003–2016	Group leader of the NanoOptics group at the FOM institute AMOLF
2003–2006	Professor Nanophotonic Structures at the University of Twente
2001–2003	Professor by special appointment, University of Amsterdam
2000–2005	Program Director "Advanced Photonic Structures" of the MESA+ Institute UT
1997–2003	Assistant & Associate Professor, Twente University (associate 2000-2003)
1995–1997	Honorary Lecturer, University of Birmingham (UK)
1995–1997	EU Human Capital and Mobility Fellow, University of Birmingham (UK)
1994–1995	Oppenheimer Fellow at the Cavendish Laboratory, University of Cambridge (UK)
1990–1994	PhD student at the FOM-institute for Atomic and Molecular Physics (AMOLF)

Education

1994 PhD University of Amsterdam, Physics,

1990 MSc University of Amsterdam, Physics with subsidiaries in mathematics

Professional service, selection

FIGUESSIONAL SE	ervice, Selection
2018-2025	Inaugural chair Dutch Physics Council, national council to represent, coordinate and promote academic physics research and teaching in The Netherlands
2018-2024	Member of Scientific Advisory Committee ARCNL, a public-private collaboration between ASML, the Dutch research council (NWO) and three universities in The Netherlands
2016-2024	Member executive board NanoLab.NL, consortium of all Dutch academic cleanrooms
2013-2020	Member Oversight Board of EPSRC Electromagnetic Metamaterials CDT (Exeter, UK)
2013-2016	Executive board member of European Laboratory for Non-Linear Spectroscopy (LENS; Florence, Italy)
2008-2018	International Partner Investigator of CUDOS (Australia); working on ultrafast optical data communication and processing exploiting slow light
2014-2015	National coordinator of the UN International Year of Light 2015 in The Netherlands
2011-2015	Chair, Nanophysics Advisory board of FOM; formulating strategy for nanoscience and physics in The Netherlands, evaluating and monitoring national research programs

Recognition, selection

2019	Physica prize 2019, premier prize for Physics in The Netherlands
2016	Named Member of Merit of the Dutch Physical Society
2013	Recipient of ERC Advanced Grant
2009	Fellow of the Optical Society of America (OSA)
2005	Elected member of De Jonge Akademie, section of Royal Dutch Academy of Arts and Sciences
1994	Oppenheimer Fellowship of the University of Cambridge, United Kingdom

Publications

ORCID-ID: 0000-0003-0556-8167, Web of Science A-9378-2014, Google scholar