Search

link to homepage

Institute of Energy and Climate Research

Navigation and service


Multiscale Simulation of Solar Cells with Nanostructure Components

A wide range of novel solar cell devices contains nanostructures or inhomogeneities on the nanometer scale, which are introduced in order to adjust the optoelectronic properties to the specific requirements of the device concepts. Representatives of nanostructure components that are under active experimental development at IEK-5 are the passivation and contact layers of the silicon heterojunction solar cell (AG Ding) and the nanoparticle absorbers from earth-abundant and non-toxic materials (AG Carius).

The presence of nanostructure components exhibiting the desired deviation of the physical behaviour from that of the bulk material introduces new challenges for the modelling of the resulting photovoltaic devices: while the conventional macroscopic continuum models for the bulk materials do not provide a valid description of the physics of the nanostructures, a complete microscopic picture with atomic resolution is neither feasible - due to the huge computational costs of such a description – nor appropriate, since only the nanostructure related parts deviate from the bulk picture. In this situation, new multiscale simulation approaches are required, which combine the macroscopic description of the bulk material with the consideration of nanostructure properties on a microscopic level, thereby providing a physically valid picture of the impact of nanostructure components on the photovoltaic device characteristics.

On the level of the absorber and conductor materials, microscopic approaches for the description of the local microstructure, e.g., ab-initio methods such as DFT or empirical formalisms like tight-binding can be used in combination with molecular dynamics to obtain the electronic and vibrational states of the nanostructures. These states can then be used to parametrize mesoscopic Hamiltonians for quantum-kinetic models of the charge carrier dynamics, such as the Non-equilibrium Green's function formalism (NEGF), which can already provide local photovoltaic device characteristics. For the simulation of complete solar cells with realistic dimensions, either the microscopically determined material parameters of the nanostructures are used in a 3D multi-physics (optical-electronic-thermal) device simulation environment, or the mesoscopically described regions are integrated in such a macroscopic simulation by the means of suitable boundary conditions.

One of the focus activities of the multiscale simulation group lies on the developments of simulation methods at the mesoscopic scale, i.e., in the extension of the NEGF formalism to new processes and nanostructure components relevant for the operation of novel solar cell devices, such as, e.g., non-radiative recombination via defects and the Auger effect as well as nanocrystal quantum dots or ultra-thin absorber layers. These developments are directly implemented in simulation approaches for various third generation high-efficiency solar cell concepts, such as quantum well solar cells, quantum dot intermediate band solar cells, tunnel junctions for multijunction solar cells, etc.

Nanoparticle absorber solar cellMultiscale simulation of a nanoparticle absorber solar cell

Contact:

Dr. Urs Aeberhard
Phone: +49 2461 61-2615
email: u.aeberhard@fz-juelich.de


Servicemeu

Homepage

Suche

zur Hauptseite

Institut für Energie- und Klimaforschung

Navigation und Service


Theorie und Multiskalensimulation von Solarzellen mit Nanostrukturkomponenten

Eine Vielzahl von neuartigen photovoltaischen Bauelementen enthält Nanostrukturkomponenten oder Inhomogenitäten auf der Nanometerskala, da sich damit optoelektronische Eigenschaften den spezifischen Anforderungen anpassen lassen. Beispiele solcher am IEK-5 auch experimentell untersuchter Nanostrukturkomponenten sind die Passivier- und Kontaktschichten der Silizium Heterostruktursolarzelle (AG Ding) sowie die Nanopartikelabsorber aus häufigen und ungiftigen Materialien (AG Carius).

Die Anwesenheit der Nanostrukturkomponenten mit der gewünschten Abweichung des physikalischen Verhaltens von demjenigen des Volumenmaterials stellt die Modellierung der photovoltaischen Bauelemente vor neue Herausforderungen: zum einen wird die Physik der Nanostrukturen durch die herkömmlichen makroskopischen Kontinuumsmodelle für das Volumenmaterial unzureichend beschrieben, und zum anderen ist eine komplette Beschreibung der gesamten Solarzelle durch ein mikroskopisches Modell mit atomistischer Auflösung aufgrund des immensen Rechenaufwans nicht machbar und auch nicht sinnvoll, da nur Teile des Bauelements vom Volumenmaterial abweichen. In dieser Situation sind neue Multiskalensimulationsansätze gefragt, welche die Beschreibung des Volumenmaterials im makroskopischen Modell mit der Berücksichtigung der Nanostrukturen im mikroskopischen Modell kombinieren und damit den Einfluss von Nanostrukturkomponenten auf die Bauelementscharakteristik physikalisch valide beschreiben.

Auf der Materialebene liefern mikroskopische Ansätze für die Beschreibung der Mikrostruktur, z.B. ab-initio Methoden wie Dichtefunktionaltheorie (DFT) oder Tight-Binding in Kombination mit Molekulardynamik die elektronischen und vibrationellen Zustände der Nanostrukturen. Die Zustände könne in der Folge zur Parametrisierung mesoskopischer Hamiltonians als Grundlage quanten-kinetischer Beschreibungen der Ladungsträgerdynamik verwendet werden. Mittels solch er Ansätze wie z.B. dem Nichtgleichgewichtsgreensfunktionsformalismus (NEGF) lassen sich bereits lokale Bauelementscharakteristiken beschreiben. Für die Simulation kompletter Solarzellen mit realistischen Ausdehnungen werden dann in einer makroskopischen 3D Multiphysik (optisch-elektronisch-thermisch) Bauelementsimulationsumgebung wie z.B. ''TiberCAD'' entweder die mikroskopisch ermittelten Materialparameter für die Nanostrukturen verwendet, oder die mesoskopisch beschriebenen Bereiche mittels geeigneter Randbedingungen integriert.

Einer der Schwerpunkte der AG Multiskalensimulation liegt in der Methodenentwicklung auf mesoskopischer Ebene, d.h., in der Erweiterung des NEGF Formalismus auf neue Prozesse und Nanostrukturkomponenten, z.B. nichtstrahlende Rekombination über Störstellen und den Auger-Effekt sowie Nanokristall-Quantenpunkte oder ultradünne Absorberschichten. Direkte Anwendung finden die Entwicklungen in der Simulation diverser Hocheffizienzsolarzellkonzepte der dritten Generation, wie z.B. Quantentopfsolarzellen, Quantenpunkt-Intermediate-Band Solarzellen, Tunnelkontakte in Stapelsolarzellen, etc.

NanopartikelabsorbersolarzelleMultiskalenanalyse einer Nanopartikelabsorbersolarzelle

Ansprechpartner:

Dr. Urs Aeberhard
Telefon: +49 2461 61-2615
E-Mail: u.aeberhard@fz-juelich.de


Servicemenü

Homepage