Search

link to homepage

Institute of Energy and Climate Research

Navigation and service


Large-Area PECVD for 40×40 cm² Substrates

The objective is to transfer the developments for small-area (10×10 cm²) solar cells to medium-sized solar modules (40×40 cm²) by means of industrial Plasma-Enhanced Chemical Vapour Deposition (PECVD) processes. Cost effective single-chamber PECVD process is being developed as an alternative method to conventional multi-chamber process. We intend to produce hydrogenated amorphous (a-Si:H) and microcrystalline (µc-Si:H) silicon films and solar cells by using single-chamber process without compromising the quality of the materials properties (optoelectronic properties, film thickness, crystallinity).


We are also working on development of in-situ laser treatment of layer stacks of p-and n-doped and intrinsic silicon by using line laser of high output power. The goal is to cure the raw material selectively within the layer structure to enhance their quality, by overcoming limitations of the production process, to expand existing process windows and to access new processes for material development. Company LIMO Lissotschenko Mikrooptik and IEK5-Photovoltaics are cooperating in this project and thus pooling their experience.


Technical Equipment


The PECVD system with a substrate size of 40×40 cm² was fabricated by “Von Ardenne Anlagentechnik” (Germany) and contains two deposition chambers (PC1 and PC2) and one load lock (LL). The design and construction of the deposition system, in particular the PECVD electrodes are developed in close cooperation with the manufacturers (VAAT and FAP, Dresden). The PECVD chamber PC1 represents an industrial reactor equipped with showerhead vertical electrodes with maximum base pressure of ~10-7 mbar and temperature of ~200 °C. The electrode can be operated at RF frequencies (13.56 MHz). Single-chamber process was developed for fabrication of single and multi-junction solar cells made of a-Si:H and µc-Si:H.


The deposition chamber PC2 is equipped with a line laser (12×0.1 mm²) of high output power to enable selectively and effectively in-situ material treatment even within layered stacks. Therefore the laser needs to be guided precisely across the substrate with very high velocity and simultaneously very low waviness while tracking the distance very accurately. This is necessary to keep the thin film within the focal range of the laser beam across the whole sample area.

BauelemEntw03PECVD system for 40×40 cm2 substrates

Contact:

Daniel Weigand
Dr. Florian C. Maier
Dr. Tsvetelina Merdzhanova


Servicemeu

Homepage

Suche

zur Hauptseite

Institut für Energie- und Klimaforschung

Navigation und Service


Großflächige PECVD-Anlage für 40×40cm2-Substrate

Das Ziel ist es, die Entwicklungen für kleinflächige Solarzellen (10×10 cm²) auf mittelgroße Solarmodule (40×40 cm²) zu übertragen bei der  industrielle “Plasma-Enhanced Chemical Vapour Deposition” (PECVD) Verfahren eingesetzt werden. Ein kostengünstiges Einkammer-PECVD-Verfahren wurde als eine alternative Methode zu herkömmlichen Multikammer-Prozessen entwickelt. Wir beabsichtigen wasserstoffhaltige, amorphe (a-Si:H) und mikrokristalline (µc-Si:H) Silizium-Schichten und Solarzellen mit Einkammer-Prozessen zu produzieren, welche die selbe Qualität der Materialeigenschaften (optoelektronische Eigenschaften, Schichtdicke, Kristallinität) besitzen, wie Zellen aus Multikammer-Systemen.

Des Weiteren  arbeiten wir auch an der Entwicklung von in-situ-Laser-Behandlungsprozessen. Hierbei sollen sowohl p- und n-dotierte, als auch intrinsische Siliziumschichten mit einem Linien-Lasern behandelt werden. Ziel ist es, durch die Laserbehandlungen Limitierungen der Depositionsprozesse hauptsächlich hinsichtlich der Abscheidetemperatur zu überwinden und so die Qualität des behandelten Materials zu verbessern. Die hierfür eingesetzte Laserquelle stammt von der Firma LIMO Lissotschenko Mikrooptik.

Technische Ausstattung

Die PECVD-Anlage mit Substratgrößen von 40×40 cm² wurde von der Firma “Von Ardenne–Anlagentechnik” (Deutschland) hergestellt. Sie enthält zwei Depositionskammern (PC1 und PC2) und eine Ladekammer (LL). Die Konstruktion des Depositionssystems, speziell der PECVD-Elektrode, wurde in enger Zusammenarbeit mit Industriepartnern (VAAT und FAP, Dresden) entwickelt. Die PECVD-Kammer PC1 repräsentiert einen industriellen Reaktor mit vertikal angeordneter “Showerhead”-Elektrode, einem maximalem Basisdruck von ~10-7 mbar und Temperaturen von ca. ~200 °C. Die Elektrode kann mit RF-Frequenzen (13,56 MHz) betrieben werden. Ein Einkammerprozess wurde zu Herstellung von Einfach- und Stapel-Solarzellen entwickelt, die aus a-Si:H und µc-Si:H bestehen.

Die Depositionskammer PC2 ist mit einem Linienlaser (12×0,1 mm²) mit hoher Ausgangsleistung ausgestattet, um selektive und effektive In-situ Materialehandlung im Vakuum zwischen der Deposition zu ermöglichen. Hierzu muss der Laser mit hoher Geschwindigkeit präzise über das Substrat geführt werden, bei einer exakten Abstandsregelung zwischen Laser und Substrat. Dies ist wichtig, um über die gesamte Probenoberfläche die zu bearbeitende Schicht innerhalb des Fokusbereichs des Laserstrahls zu halten.

BauelemEntw03PECVD-Anlage für 40×40 cm2-Substrate

Ansprechpartner:

Daniel Weigand
Dr. Florian C. Maier
Dr. Tsvetelina Merdzhanova


Servicemenü

Homepage