Neutron Analytics for Energy Research

This department is in its founding phase. It will make the unique possibilities of neutron scattering and neutron analytics accessible to the research and improvement of materials, processes and systems of energy technology. This concerns in particular operando studies of real systems for energy conversion and energy storage (fuel cells, batteries, etc.) and the determination of position and movement of light elements (hydrogen, lithium, sodium, and so on), which are so significant for the energy revolution. Thus, JCNS-3 is able to bridge the gap between method-oriented research and applied research as done for example in the Institute of Energy and Climate Research (IEK) and the relevant institutes at RWTH Aachen University.

News and Events

Forschungs-Neutronenquelle Heinz Maier-Leibnitz

With close of research reactors, landscape is shifting for Europe’s world-leading neutron science community

Three neutron science research reactors in Europe have ceased operations in 2019. The League of advanced European Neutron Sources, LENS, and the European Neutron Scattering Association, ENSA, warn of a “neutron gap” that could impact scientific research across multiple fields in physics, materials science, chemistry, biology, medical science and engineering.

LabCourse

!POSTPONED! 24th JCNS Laboratory Course -
Neutron Scattering 2020

*****************************************************************Applications for 2020 now closed!*****************************************************************

If you are a student in the field of physics, chemistry, material science or biosciences with a BSc (or an equivalent qualification), you are welcome to apply for a this year's online JCNS Laboratory Course - Neutron Scattering, organized by Forschungszentrum Jülich.

Reaktor FRM II

Outstations

JCNS operates neutron instruments at the national and international leading sources MLZ, ILL and SNS under a common scientific objective.

ESS

European Spallation Source (ESS)

Neutron scattering gives us unique insights into matter and is indispensable both for basic and application-oriented research. The world's most powerful neutron source is planned to go into operation in 2019, and Jülich will be part of it.

HBS

High-Brilliance Neutron Source

The high-brilliance accelerator-based neutron source HBS represents a unique infrastructure for neutron analysis serving a multitude of scientifc disciplines.

Neutronenanalytik für die Energieforschung

Dieser Institutsbereich befindet sich in der Gründungsphase. Er soll die einzigartigen Möglichkeiten der Neutronenstreuung und Neutronenanalytik der Erforschung und Verbesserung von Materialien, Prozessen und Systemen der Energietechnik erschließen. Dies betrifft insbesondere operando-Studien an realen Systemen der Energiewandlung und Energiespeicherung (Brennstoffzellen, Batterien, etc.) und die Bestimmung von Position und Bewegung der leichten Elemente (Wasserstoff, Lithium, Natrium, …),welche für die Energiewende entscheidend sind. Damit kann das JCNS-3 eine Brückenfunktion ausfüllen zwischen methodisch orientierter und angewandter Forschung, etwa in dem Institut für Energie- und Klimaforschung (IEK) und den einschlägigen Instituten an der RWTH Aachen.

Meldungen und Termine

Forschungs-Neutronenquelle Heinz Maier-Leibnitz

Schließung von Forschungsreaktoren verändert die Forschungslandschaft für die weltweit führende europäische Neutronengemeinschaft

Drei europäische Forschungsreaktoren haben im Jahr 2019 den Betrieb einstellt. Das Konsortium Europäischer Neutronenforschungseinrichtungen (LENS) und die Vereinigung der Europäischen Neutronenforscher (ENSA) warnen vor „einem Engpass an Neutronen“, der Forschungsaktivitäten in Physik, Materialwissenschaft, Chemie, Biologie, Medizin und Ingenieurwesen beeinträchtigen könnte.

LabCourse

!POSTPONED! 24th JCNS Laboratory Course -
Neutron Scattering 2020 - ONLINE ONLY!

*****************************************************************Applications for 2020 now closed!*****************************************************************

If you are a student in the field of physics, chemistry, material science or biosciences with a BSc (or an equivalent qualification), you are welcome to apply for a place on this year's online JCNS Laboratory Course - Neutron Scattering, organized by Forschungszentrum Jülich.

Reaktor FRM II

JCNS-Außenstellen

Das JCNS betreibt Neutronenstreuinstrumente an den national und international führenden Neutronenquellen MLZ, ILL and SNS unter dem Dach einer gemeinsamen Strategie.

ESS

Europäische Spallationsquelle (ESS)

2019 soll in Südschweden die weltweit stärkste Neutronenquelle in Betrieb gehen. Das Forschungszentrum Jülich wird mit dabei sein.

HBS

Hochbrilliante beschleunigerbasierte Neutronenquelle (HBS)

Die hochbrilliante beschleunigerbasierte Neutronenquelle HBS stellt eine einzigartige Infrastruktur zur Neutronenanalytik für eine Vielzahl von Wissenschaftsdisziplinen dar.