Search

link to homepage

(leer)

Navigation and service


Project "NEUROTEC": Neuro-inspired Artificial Intelligence Technologies for the Electronics of the Future

Certain tasks are performed highly efficiently by the human brain and require about 10,000 times less energy than a conventional "von Neumann" computer. The recognition of patterns is an example of one such task. However, in other tasks, such as numerical calculations, the biological neural network is hopelessly inferior to computers in terms of both energy requirements and speed. These significant differences in performance when performing different tasks are related to fundamental differences in the structure of the human brain and that of von Neumann's computer architecture.

NEUROTECEnergy consumption of a classical computer and the human brain as a biological neural network in a comparison between numerical calculations and cognitive tasks.
Copyright: Forschungszentrum Jülich

A comparison of the energy consumption of conventional computers with that of the human brain shows the great potential of a future neuromorphic computer that makes use of the functionality of biological neural networks. The short-term goal of the two-year project "NEUROTEC - Neuro-inspired Technologies of Artificial Intelligence for the Electronics of the Future", which will start in November 2019, is to effectively advance the fundamentals for exploiting this potential. To this end, the existing scientific competencies of the two project partners, Forschungszentrum Jülich and RWTH Aachen University, will be bundled in a unique way, and ground-breaking concepts for neuro-inspired artificial intelligence technologies will be developed.

At the end of the project, the research results should make it possible to initiate collaborative research projects with renowned industrial partners. The longer-term scientific goal is to establish an internationally visible German location for cutting-edge research in the field of "neuro-inspired technologies for the electronics of the future" at the heart of the Rhineland’s coalmining area.  The project is expected to receive federal funding within the framework of the “Sofortprogramm” for the Rhineland.

 Participating departments of the PGI: PGI-7, PGI-9, PGI-10


Servicemeu

Homepage

(leer)

Navigation und Service


Projekt „NEUROTEC“: Neuro-inspirierte Technologien der künstlichen Intelligenz für die Elektronik der Zukunft

Bestimmte Aufgaben erledigt ein menschliches Gehirn hocheffizient und benötigt dafür etwa 10.000 Mal weniger Energie als ein konventioneller, sogenannter „von Neumann“-Computer. Die Erkennung von Mustern ist eine solche Aufgabe. Bei anderen Aufgaben, wie numerischen Kalkulationen, ist das biologische neurale Netz den Computern jedoch hoffnungslos unterlegen, sowohl hinsichtlich des Energiebedarfs als auch der Geschwindigkeit. Diese signifikanten Leistungsunterschiede bei verschiedenen Aufgaben hängen mit grundlegenden Unterschieden in der Struktur des menschlichen Gehirns und der von Neumann-Computerarchitektur zusammen.

NEUROTECEnergieverbrauch eines klassischen Rechners und des menschlichen Gehirns als biologisches neuronales Netz im Vergleich zwischen numerischen Berechnungen und kognitiven Aufgaben
Copyright: Forschungszentrum Jülich

Ein Vergleich des Energieumsatzes konventioneller Computer mit dem des menschlichen Gehirns zeigt das große Potenzial eines zukünftigen neuromorphen Computers, der sich die Funktionsweise biologischer neuraler Netze zu Nutze macht (Abbildung). Die Grundlagen zur Nutzung dieses Potenzials wirksam voranzubringen ist das kurzfristige Ziel des auf zwei Jahre angelegten Projektes „NEUROTEC – Neuro-inspirierte Technologien der künstlichen Intelligenz für die Elektronik der Zukunft“, das im November 2019 starten wird. Dafür sollen die in diesem Bereich bereits vorhandenen wissenschaftlichen Kompetenzen der beiden Projektpartner Forschungszentrum Jülich und RWTH Aachen in bislang einzigartiger Weise gebündelt und daraus wegweisende Konzepte für neuroinspirierte Technologien der künstlichen Intelligenz entworfen werden.

 

Die Forschungsergebnisse sollen im Anschluss an die Projektlaufzeit ermöglichen, unter anderem Verbundforschungsprojekte unter Einbeziehung namhafter Industriepartner anzustoßen. Das längerfristige wissenschaftliche Ziel ist es, im Rheinischen Kohlerevier einen international sichtbaren deutschen Standort der Spitzenforschung im Bereich „Neuro-inspirierter Technologien für die Elektronik der Zukunft“ zu etablieren.  Das Projekt erhält voraussichtlich Fördermittel des Bundes aus dem Sofortprogramm für das Rheinische Revier.

 

Beteiligte Institutsbereiche des PGI:

PGI-7

PGI-9

PGI-10


Servicemenü

Homepage