Search

link to homepage

Navigation and service


Research Training Groups and Schools

Forschungszentrum Jülich is involved in a number of research training groups and schools through collaboration with centres of higher education, universities, and industry partners. It currently has 22 such partnerships. The focus is on teaching PhD students within a thematically focused, often interdisciplinary research programme, as well as a structured training concept with subject-related and soft skills components, e.g. project management, presentation techniques, and literature searches. Forschungszentrum Jülich is responsible for three institutions:


HITEC - Helmholtz Interdisciplinary Doctoral Training in Energy and Climate Research

Logo Hitec


HITEC is a Helmholtz Graduate School of Forschungszentrum Jülich and the five partner universities Aachen, Bochum, Cologne, Düsseldorf, and Wuppertal with a focus on energy and climate research. PhD students at the Institute of Energy and Climate Research and the partner universities acquire the expertise and the methodological and communication skills necessary for scientific work at the highest international level. Furthermore, it provides well-founded interdisciplinary know-how on the scientific, technical, and social dimensions of the topic of energy and climate, such as the complex relations between the energy supply and its impact on climate change. HITEC stands for Helmholtz Interdisciplinary Doctoral Training in Energy and Climate.

Partners: RWTH Aachen University, Ruhr University Bochum, Heinrich Heine University Düsseldorf, University of Cologne, University of Wuppertal

HITEC Graduate School website


International Helmholtz Research School: BioSoft

Logo BioSoft


The International Helmholtz Research School BioSoft offers excellent research opportunities for PhD theses in soft matter and biophysics. The courses prepare scholarship holders for interdisciplinary work at the intersection of biology, chemistry, and physics. Seminars on soft skills are also offered on topics ranging from preparing for a PhD thesis to training courses for job applications and leadership skills.

Partners: University of Cologne, Heinrich Heine University Düsseldorf, Caesar - center of advanced european studies and research (Bonn)

Helmholtz Research School website


German Research School for Simulation Sciences

Logo German Research School for Simulation Sciences


The German Research School for Simulation Sciences (GRS) gives postgraduate and PhD students the chance to learn the ropes of simulation science and perform cutting-edge research at two of the most prominent scientific institutions in Germany: RWTH Aachen University and Forschungszentrum Jülich. Together, these institutions founded the GRS in 2007 as a non-profit company. This was the first time in Germany that a research school was established by a university and non-university institution which organizes its own study programme. The project is financed jointly by the Federal Ministry of Education and Research, the Ministry of Innovation, Science, Research and Technology of the federal state of North Rhine-Westphalia, and the Helmholtz Association.

Partners: RWTH Aachen University, Forschungszentrum Jülich

GRS website

Helmholtz School for Data Science in Life, Earth and Energy (HDS-LEE)

HDS-LEE


HDS-LEE is one of five Helmholtz data science graduate schools. It provides an interdisciplinary environment for educating the next generation of data scientists in close contact to domain-specific knowledge and research. Besides the Forschungszentrum Jülich other institutions are involved: RWTH Aachen University, Max-Planck-Institut für Eisenforschung, German Aerospace Center, and the University of Cologne. The doctoral students of the program are trained accompanying to their doctorate in all essential elements of information and data sciences as well as in communication and additional key qualifications. As part of their doctoral theses, students advance the development of data science methodologies and harness the power of state-of-the-art data science technologies to solve challenging scientific problems in the domains of life and medical sciences, earth sciences and energy systems/materials science. HDS-LEE stands for "Helmholtz School for Data Science in Life, Earth and Energy".

Partners: RWTH Aachen University, Max-Planck-Institut für Eisenforschung, German Aerospace Center, University of Cologne

HDS-LEE website



Servicemeu

Homepage

Navigation und Service


Graduiertenkollegs und -schulen

EbDas Forschungszentrum ist über die Kooperation mit Hochschulen, Universitäten und Industriepartner in eine Vielzahl von Graduiertenkollegs und -schulen eingebunden. Aktuell sind es 22. Im Mittelpunkt steht die Qualifizierung von Doktorandinnen und Doktoranden im Rahmen eines thematisch fokussierten, oft interdisziplinären Forschungsprogramms sowie eines strukturierten Qualifizierungskonzepts mit fachlichen und überfachlichen Inhalten – z.B. Projektmanagement, Präsentationstechniken oder Literaturrecherche. Bei drei Einrichtungen liegt die Federführung in Jülicher Hand:


HITEC - Helmholtz Interdisciplinary Doctoral Training in Energy and Climate Research

Logo Hitec


HITEC ist eine Helmholtz-Graduiertenschule des Forschungszentrums Jülich und der fünf Partneruniversitäten Aachen, Bochum, Düsseldorf, Köln und Wuppertal mit dem Schwerpunkt Energie- und Klimaforschung. Doktorandinnen und Doktoranden des Instituts für Energie und Klimaforschung und der Partneruniversitäten erwerben fachliche, methodische und kommunikative Fähigkeiten, die für wissenschaftliches Arbeiten auf höchstem internationalen Niveau notwendig sind. Darüber hinaus wird fundiertes Querschnittswissen über die wissenschaftliche, technische und gesellschaftliche Dimension des Themas Energie und Klima bereitgestellt, wie zum Beispiel über die komplexen Zusammenhänge der Energieversorgung und deren Auswirkung auf den Klimawandel. HITEC steht für Helmholtz Interdisciplinary Doctoral Training in Energy and Climate Research.

Partner: RWTH Aachen, Universität Bochum, Universität Düsseldorf, Universität Köln, Universität Wuppertal

Website der Graduiertenschule HITEC


Helmholtz-Kolleg BioSoft

Logo BioSoft


Das Helmholtz-Kolleg BioSoft bietet ausgezeichnete Forschungsmöglichkeiten für Doktorarbeiten in der Weichen Materie und der Biophysik. Das Kursprogramm bereitet Stipendiaten auf interdisziplinäres Arbeiten im Grenzbereich von Biologie, Chemie und Physik vor. Zusätzlich werden Seminare zu Schlüsselqualifikationen angeboten, die Themen von der Vorbereitung auf die Doktorarbeit bis hin zu Bewerbungs- und Führungstraining umfassen.

Partner: Universität Köln, Universität Düsseldorf, Caesar - center of advanced european studies and research (Bonn)

Website des Helmholtz-Kollegs


German Research School for Simulation Sciences

Logo German Research School for Simulation Sciences


Die "German Research School for Simulation Sciences" (GRS) bietet Studierenden und Promovierenden die Möglichkeit, die Grundlagen der Simulationswissenschaft zu erlernen und an zwei der herausragendsten Wissenschaftseinrichtungen Deutschlands Spitzenforschung zu betreiben: der RWTH Aachen und dem Forschungszentrum Jülich. Zusammen gründeten beide Einrichtungen 2007 die GRS als gemeinnützige GmbH. Erstmalig in Deutschland wurde damit gemeinsam durch eine universitäre und eine außeruniversitäre Einrichtung eine Research School ins Leben gerufen, die einen eigenen Studiengang organisiert. Das Bundesministerium für Bildung und Forschung, das Ministerium für Innovation, Wissenschaft, Forschung und Technologie des Landes Nordrhein-Westfalen und die Helmholtz-Gemeinschaft tragen gemeinsam zur Finanzierung bei.

Partner: RWTH Aachen, Forschungszentrum Jülich

Website der GRS


Helmholtz School for Data Science in Life, Earth and Energy (HDS-LEE)

HDS-LEE


HDS-LEE ist eine von fünf Helmholtz Graduiertenschulen im Bereich Datenwissenschaften. Es bietet ein interdisziplinäres Umfeld für die Ausbildung der nächsten Generation von Datenwissenschaftlern in engem Kontakt mit fachspezifischem Wissen und Forschung. Neben dem Forschungszentrum Jülich sind RWTH Aachen University, Max-Planck-Institut für Eisenforschung, Deutsches Zentrum für Luft- und Raumfahrt und die Universität zu Köln involviert. Die Doktoranden des Programmes werden promotionsbegleitend in allen wesentlichen Bereichen der Informations- und Datenwissenschaften geschult ebenso wie in Kommunikation und weiteren zusätzlichen Schlüsselqualifikationen. Im Rahmen ihrer Doktorarbeit treiben die Studierenden die Entwicklung von datenwissenschaftlichen Methoden voran und nutzen die Leistungsfähigkeit modernster Technologien zur Lösung anspruchsvoller wissenschaftlicher Probleme in den Bereichen Lebens- und Medizinwissenschaften, Geowissenschaften und Energiesysteme/Materialwissenschaften. HDS-LEE steht für "Helmholtz School for Data Science in Life, Earth and Energy".

Partner: RWTH Aachen University, Max-Planck-Institut für Eisenforschung, Deutsches Zentrum für Luft- und Raumfahrt, Universität zu Köln

Website HDS-LEE


Servicemenü

Homepage