link to homepage

Navigation and service

Young Investigators Groups 2018

In 2018, there were 13 young investigators groups with funding from different sources, and five of their leaders held junior professorship positions. Three of the 13 young investigators groups are headed by women.

Federal Ministry of Education and Research (BMBF) Young Investigators Groups


Dr. Simone Vossel (INM-3)

How the human brain predicts the future: The neural and neurochemical basis of attentional expectancies in the healthy brain and after stroke

 Portrait (PDF, 248 kB)


Dr. Alexander Graf (IBG-3)

Instrumental and Data-driven Approaches to Source-Partitioning of Greenhouse Gas Fluxes: Comparison, Combination, Advancement

 Portrait (PDF, 614 kB)

Prof. Dr. Jesus Gonzalez-Julian

Prof. Dr. Jesus Gonzales-Julian (IEK-1)

Ceramic Matrix Composites

 Portrait (PDF, 152 kB)

Jülich Young Investigators Groups

Dr. Elié Paillard (IEK-12)

Polymerelektrolyte für Batteriesysteme


Dr. Steffen Grieshammer (IEK-12)

Anionenleitende und kationenleitende Elektrolyte für Feststoffbatterien

Dr. Jan-Philipp Machtens (ICS-4)

Molecular Modelling and Simulation of Membrane Proteins

Dr. Benedikt Sabass (ICS-2)

Multiscale Modelling and Simulation of Macromolecules

Helmholtz Young Investigators Groups


Dr. Dietrich Kohlheyer (IBG-1)

Microscale Bioengineering

 Portrait (PDF, 156 kB)


Prof. Dr. Moritz Helias (INM-6)

Theory of Multi-scale neuronal networks

 Portrait (PDF, 181 kB)

Prof. Martina Müller (PGI-6)

Oxide Spintronics Laboratory

Dr. Carolin Schmitz-Antoniak (PGI-6)

Borderline Magnetism

Prof. Dr. Dirk Witthaut (IEK-STE)

E3-NET. Effciency, Emergence and Economics of future supply networks  Portrait (PDF, 111 kB)


Dr. Felix Plöger (IEK-7)

Assessment of Stratospheric Processes and their Effects on Climate Variability (A–SPECi)

 Portrait (PDF, 141 kB)