ICS Key Visual

Navigation and service


Soft Colloids

Recent studies on soft matter include a large variety of complex fluids such as synthetic polymers, biological macromolecules, colloids, amphiphilic systems, membranes as well as liquid crystals. A current active field of research is focused on the special class of soft colloids, i.e. elastic and deformable colloidal particles, with a dual character somewhere between polymers and hard spheres. Examples of such soft colloids are vesicles, dendrimers, microgels, polymer-grafted nanoparticles, block copolymer micelles and star polymers.

Hybrids between Polymers and Colloids

Due to their hybrid nature, soft colloids macroscopically show interesting structural as well as flow and mechanical properties resulting from their unique microscopic structure. The combination of polymer-like properties, i.e. the formation of (transient) geometric constraints due to overlapping polymeric coronas and direct colloidal interactions due to their (hard) core, in particular affects flow properties and the non-equilibrium behaviour of soft colloids.

Soft Colloids

Therefore soft colloids are frequently used in many technical applications (paints, shampoos, motor oils, polymer nano-composites etc.). The challenge of fundamental research on soft colloids is to investigate the basic principles that allow the tailoring of material properties for technical applications. However, for such comprehensive studies, excellent model systems are an important prerequisite.

Molecular Architecture & Exchange Kinetics

We established micelles formed by amphiphilic block copolymers as a tunable model system for soft colloids. Precise control of softness is based on several pillars: i) carefully chosen types of monomers and selective solvent, ii.) well-defined molecular parameters block ratio, molecular weight, and polydispersity guaranteed by use of anionic polymerisation and, iii.) precise understanding and control of micellar exchange kinetics.

Kolloide_e1_jpg

In contrast to conventional soft colloids like star polymers or microgels, block copolymer micelles are “living” systems, since they are not covalently linked. Hence, block copolymer based soft colloids can adjust its softness to external parameters, unless chain exchange is completely frozen.

Finally, colloids with well-defined softness are formed by self-assembly. Theoretically, softness is described by only two parameters, the functionality f which is the number of polymer arms emanating from the central core and the interaction length s. For block copolymer micelles this directly transforms into the micellar aggregation number Nagg, i.e. number of block copolymers within a single micelle, and micellar radius, both unambiguously given by experiment.

(Phys. Rev. Letters 94 195504 2005; Phys. Rev. Letters 104 049902 2010; Softmatter 11 4208 2015)

Interactions, Structure & Phase Behaviour

The macroscopic softness of soft colloids results from two microscopic contributions i) the deformability of the individual colloidal particle, its intramolecular softness, and ii) the form of particle interactions in terms of an effective potential (its intermolecular softness). Small Angle Neutron Scattering (SANS) combined with contrast variation is an excellent tool to investigate the structure and interaction of soft colloids on a microscopic level. Based on SANS experiments we interpret rheological and dynamic light scattering (DLS) data in terms of recently developed experimental and theoretical approaches that quantitatively describe microscopic structure. This finally enabled us to derive the dynamic phase diagram of soft colloids showing convincing agreement between experiment and theory without any adjustable parameter.

Kolloide_e1_jpg

( Phys. Rev. E 76 041503 2007; Phys. Rev. Lett.106 228301 2011; Nanoscale 7 13924 2015)

Flow Behaviour and Rheology

The effect of external shear on the structure of soft colloids was investigated in situ by Small Angle Neutron Scattering, Rheo-SANS, within the framework of the Transregional Collaborative Research Centre SFB TR 6 Physics of Colloidal Dispersions in External Fields, subproject A2 ”Tunable Model Systems for Soft Colloids”.

Kolloide_e2_jpg

Shear induced crystallization followed by shear induced melting in concentrated solutions of soft colloids was observed using Rheo-SANS. Furthermore, we were able to understand the connection between structure and flow by means of the advanced rheological characterization of our soft colloidal model system.
(Journal of Rheology 54 1219 2010; J. Phys.: Condens. Matter 24 464102 2012; Eur. Phys. J. Special Topics 222 2757–2772 2013)

Meso- and Microscopic Dynamics

Based on the structural properties of soft colloids we investigated the dynamics of kinetically frozen block copolymer micelles of different softness across a wide range of particle concentrations, from the fluid to the onset of glassy behavior, through a combination of rheology, dynamic light scattering and pulsed field gradient NMR spectroscopy.

Kolloide_e1_jpg

We additionally performed Brownian dynamics simulations based on an ultra-soft coarse-grained potential, which are found to be in quantitative agreement with experiments, capturing even the very details of dynamic structure factors S(Q; t) on approaching the glass transition. We provide evidence that for these systems the Stokes-Einstein relation holds up to the glass transition; given that it is violated for dense suspensions of hard colloids, our findings suggest that its validity is an intriguing signature of ultra-soft interactions. 

(Phys. Rev. Letters 115 128302 2015)

Applications of Soft Colloids


Another type of soft colloids, namely microgels, are used as carriers for catalysts within the Collaborative Research Centre SFB 985 "Functional Microgels and Microgel Systems“, subproject A2 "Microgel supported catalysts for olefin polymerization”.

We will systematically investigate how the supramolecular microgel structure influences the reaction profile of an active olefin polymerization catalyst. New microgel supported metallocene and non-metallocene catalysts will be developed with the following aims: i.) olefin polymerization in aqueous environments via amphiphilic core-shell microgels, ii.) stereoselective polymerization without chiral ligands via chiral microgels, and iii.) improved mechanical properties of the polyolefin via subsequent use of microgel supports as intrinsic nanofillers.

Kolloide_e1_jpg

J.Stellbrink


Servicemeu

Homepage

ICS Key Visual

Navigation und Service


Weiche Kolloide

Aktuelle Forschungen an “weicher Materie” beinhalteten ein große Vielfalt “komplexer Flüssigkeiten”, wie Lösungen, Suspensionen oder Schmelzen von synthetischen Polymeren, biologischen Makromolekülen, Kolloiden, amphiphilen Systemen, Membranen und Flüssigkristallen. Ein derzeitig aktives Forschungsgebiet fokussiert sich speziell auf die Klasse weicher Kolloide, das sind elastische, deformierbare Kolloidpartikel, die einen dualen Charakter zwischen Polymerknäueln und harten Kugeln aufweisen. Beispiele solch weicher Kolloide sind Vesikel, Dendrimere, Mikrogele, Nanopartikel mit aufgepfropften Polymeren und Sternpolymere.

Hybride zwischen Polymeren und Kolloiden


Aufgrund ihrer Hybridnatur zeigen weiche Kolloide sowohl interessante strukturelle als auch mechanische und Fliess-Eigenschaften, die von ihrer einzigartigen mikroskopischen Struktur abhängen. Das Zusammenspiel der Polymer-typischen Eigenschaften, wie etwa die Einschränkungen durch überlappende Polymercoronas, mit direkten Kolloidwechselwirkungen der (harten) Kerne, beeinflusst ins Besondere die Fliesseigenschaften und das Nichtgleichgewichtsverhalten weicher Kolloide.

Deshalb werden weiche Kolloide oft in vielen technischen Anwendungen genutzt (Farben, Shampoos, Motoröle, Polymer-Nanokomposite). Die Herausforderung in Bereich der Grundlagenforschung liegt in der Erforschung der grundlegenden Prinzipien, die ein Massschneidern der Materialeigenschaften für technische Anwendungen erlaubt. Allerdings sind wohldefinierte Modellsysteme die Voraussetzung dafür.

Soft Colloids

Moleculare Architektur & Austauschkinetik


Wir haben Mizellen aus amphiphilen Block-Kopolymeren als einstellbares Modellsystem für weiche Kolloide etabliert. Genaue Kontrolle der “Weichheit” basiert auf mehren Säulen: i) sorgfältige Auswahl der Monomere und des selektiven Lösungsmittels, ii.) wohldefinierte Molekülparameter wie Molekulargewicht und Polydispersität, die durch anionische Polymerisation garantiert sind, und iii.) ein genaues Verständnis und Kontrolle der mizellaren Austauschkinetik. Im Kontrast zu weichen Kolloiden aus Sternpolymeren oder Mikrogelen sind Block-Kopolymermizellen “lebende” System, da sie nicht kovalent verbunden sind.

Somit können Block-Kopolymer basierte weiche Kolloide ihre “Weichheit” an externe Parameter anpassen, solange ein Austausch nicht vollständig eingefroren ist.

Kolloide_e1_jpg

Daher können Kolloide mit gut definierter Weicheit durch Selbstassoziation (self-assembly) hergestellt werden. Theoretisch wird die “Weichheit” durch lediglich zwei Parameter bestimmt, die Funktionalität, f = Anzahl der Polymerarme, die vom zentralen Kern ausgehen, und die Wechselwirkungslänge.

Für Block-Kopolymermicellen sind diese Parameter dann die Aggregationszahl Nagg, d.h. die Anzahl einzelner Block-Kopolymermoleküle in einer Mizelle, und der Mizellenradius, beide werden eindeutig im Experiment bestimmt.

(Phys. Rev. Letters 94 195504 2005; Phys. Rev. Letters 104 049902 2010; Softmatter 11 4208 2015)

 

Wechselwirkungen, Struktur & Phasenverhalten

Die makrokopische Weichheit weicher Kolloide resultiert aus zwei mikroskopischen Beiträgen i) der Verformbarkeit individueller Kolloidteilchen, deren intramolekularer Weichheit, und ii) dem radialen Verlauf der Teilchenwechselwirkung in Form eines effektiven Potentials (der intermolekularen Weichheit). Kleinwinkelneutronenstreuung (KWS) in Kombination mit Kontrastvariation ist ein exzellentes Werkzeug um die Struktur und Wechselwirkung weicher Kolloide auf mikroskopischer Skala zu untersuchen.

Ausgehend von KWS-Experimenten interpretieren wird die rheologischen und Daten aus der dynamischen Lichtstreuung im Rahmen kürzlich entwickelter experimenteller und theoretischer Ansätze, die die mikroskopische Struktur quantitativ beschreiben. Dies ermöglichte uns letztendlich das dynamische Phasendiagramm für weiche Kolloide herzuleiten, welches ohne anpassbare Paramater eine überzeugende Übereinstimmung zwischen Experiment und Theorie zeigt.

Kolloide_e1_jpg

(Phys. Rev. E 76 041503 2007; Phys. Rev. Lett.106 228301 2011; Nanoscale 7 13924 2015)

Fließverhalten und Rheology

Der Einfluss externer Scherung auf die Struktur von weichen Kolloiden wurde “in-situ” mit Kleinwinkelstreuung untersucht. Dies fand im Rahmen des Transregional Collaborative Research Centre SFB TR 6 “Physics of Colloidal Dispersions in External Fields“, Teilprojekt A2 ”Tunable Model Systems for Soft Colloids” statt.

Kolloide_e2_jpg

Mit Rheo-KWS an konzentrierten Lösungen weicher Kolloide wurde scherinduzierte Kristallisation gefolgt von scherinduziertem Schmelzem beobachtet. Weiterhin konnten wir den Zusammenhang von Struktur und Fliessen durch fortschrittliche rheologische Charakterisierung unserer Modellsysteme bestimmen.
(Journal of Rheology 54 1219 2010; J. Phys.: Condens. Matter 24 464102 2012; Eur. Phys. J. Special Topics 222 2757–2772 2013)

Meso- und Microskopische Dynamik

Basiert auf den Struktureigenschaften weicher Kolloide haben wir die Dynamik kinetisch eingefrorener Blok-Kopolymermizellen verschiedener Weichheit über einen weiten Konzentrationsbereich mit einer Kombination von Rheologie, Dynamischer Lichtstreuung und Pulsed Field Gradient-NMR untersucht. Das erstreckte sich vom Fluid bis zum Einsetzen des Glasverhaltens. Zusätzlich haben wir Brownian Dynamics Simulationen mit eine ultraweichen Potential durchgeführt.

Kolloide_e1_jpg

Die Ergebnisse stammen quantitativ mit den Experimenten überein, wobei sogar die Details der dynamischen Strukturfunktion S(Q,t) bei Annäherung an den Glasübergang wiedergegeben werden. Wir zeigen Beweise, dass für diese Systeme die Stokes-Einstein Relation bis zum Glasübergang gilt. Wenn man betrachtet, dass diese für dichte Suspensionen aus harten Kolloiden verletzt, legen unsere Ergebnisse nahe, dass diese Gültigkeit eine überraschende Signatur der ultra-weichen Wechselwirkung ist.

(Phys. Rev. Letters 115 128302 2015)

Anwendungen weicher Kolloide

Ein weitere Typ weicher Kolloide, nämlich Mikrogele, werde als Träger für Katalysatoren genutzt. Dies wir im Rahmen des Collaborative Research Centre SFB 985 "Functional Microgels and Microgel Systems" untersucht, subproject A2 ” Microgel supported catalysts for olefin polymerization”.

Kolloide_e1_jpg

Wir werde systematisch erforschen wie die supramolekulare Mikrogelstruktur das Reaktionsprofil eines aktiven Olefinpolinerisationskatalysators beeinflusst.
Neue Mikrogel-gestützte Metallocen und Nicht-Metallocen Katalysatoren werden entwickelt mit dem Zielen: i) Olefin-Polymerisation in wässrigen Umgebungen mittels amphiphiler Kern-Schale Mikrogele zu ermöglichen, ii.) stereoselektive Polymerisation ohne chirale Liganden durch chirale Mikrogele zu erreichen, und iii.) Verbesserung der mechanischen Eigenschaften des Polyolefins durch Nutzung des Mikrogelträgers als intrinsicher Nanofüllstoff.

J.Stellbrink


Servicemenü

Homepage