ICS Key Visual

Navigation and service


Microemulsions

Polymer Boosting Effect

boostingeffect_jpg


Amphiphilic block copolymers increase the efficiency of surfactants by up to 10 times. Therefore, microemulsions are studied where the surfactant is responsible for the miscibility between oil and water. Surfactants are important components in detergents and cosmetics for instance. The reduced amount of surfactants serves the environment and reduces the product price. The actual research focuses on novel polymers, which are less costly and more specialized for applications.

J. Allgaier

 

 


Neutron Scattering on Microemulsions

sans_jpg


The bulk properties of microemulsions are well understood. Phase diagrams, small angle neutron scattering (SANS) experiments, and neutron spin echo (NSE) spectroscopy are described by a unifying theory going back to Helfrich. So, the miscibility, the nano-structure, and the nano-dynamics are connected by a common model. The climax of the structural analysis is the contrast variation measurement revealing the size and relative position of polymers as additives in microemulsions. All these methods uncover the mechanisms of modern polymeric additives and serve for an optimized application.

H. Frielinghaus

 

 

Microemulsions adjacent to surfaces

GISANS_jpg


Microemulsions come in contact with surfaces for nearly all practical applications. This is obvious for cleaning processes, but also for surfactant systems for the enhanced oil recovery where the oil is enclosed in the porous sand stone. We study the effect of simple model surfaces on the structure and dynamics of microemulsions. For planar surfaces we employ scattering experiments under grazing incidence, i.e. GISANS and GINSENG. Here we found a lamellar order adjacent to the surface with faster dynamics.

O. Holderer

Microemulsion cleaning agents


 Solvent-based cleaning agents are still used, for example in the construction sector as brush cleaners or as specialty cleaning products for the removal of adhesive residues. It is obvious that these cleaners contain severe disadvantages for health and the environment. Microemulsions represent an interesting alternative to solvent cleaners. With the help of polymeric additives, these cleaners can be formulated with low surfactant concentrations. If high-boiling ester oils are used as the oil component, fully non-hazardous cleaners can be obtained. The cleaning power of microemulsion cleaners is equivalent to that of solvent cleaners. A cleaning product developed in our laboratories is now being sold commercially by a manufacturer of paints and coatings.

J. Allgaier


Servicemeu

Homepage

ICS Key Visual

Navigation und Service


Mikroemulsionen

Der Polymer Boosting Effekt

boostingeffect_jpg

Amphiphile Block Copolymere können die Effizienz von Tensiden um bis zu einen Faktor 10 steigern. Hierfür studiert man Mikroemulsionen, wo das Tensid für die Mischbarkeit von Öl und Wasser sorgt. Tenside sind heutzutage ein wichtiger Bestandteil von z.B. Waschmitteln und Kosmetika. Der verminderte Einsatz von Tensiden dient der Umweltverträglichkeit und einem niedrigen Produktpreis. Die aktuellen Forschungen konzentrieren sich heute auf neuartige Polymere, die günstiger herzustellen sind und noch spezieller an besondere Anwendungen angepasst sind.

J. Allgaier

 

Neutronenstreuung an Mikroemulsionen

sans_jpg

Über die Volumeneigenschaften von Mikroemulsionen weiß man schon recht viel. Hier hat man Phasendiagramme, Neutronenkleinwinkelstreumessungen (SANS) und Neutronen-Spinecho-Spektroskopie (NSE) über eine vereinheitlichte Theorie, die auf Helfrich zurückgeht, zusammengeführt. Man kann also die Mischbarkeit, die Nano-Struktur und die Nano-Dynamik mit einem gemeinsamen Modell verknüpfen. Als Höhepunkt der strukturellen Bestimmung liefert die Kontrastvariationsmessung Aufschluss über die Ausdehnung und die relative Position des Polymers in der Mikroemulsion. Alle diese Methoden helfen, die Wirkungsweise von modernen Polymeradditiven aufzuklären und deren Einsatz zu optimieren.

H. Frielinghaus

 

 

Mikroemulsionen an Oberflächen

GISANS_jpg

Mikroemulsionen kommen in der praktischen Anwendung fast immer mit Oberflächen in Kontakt. Dieses ist offensichtlich in Reinigungsprozessen, kommt aber auch für Tensidsysteme, die die Ausbeute in der Erdölförderung erhöhen sollen, vor, denn das Öl ist häufig in einem porösen Sandstein eingeschlossen. Wir studieren den Einfluss von einfachen Modelloberflächen auf die Struktur und Dynamik von Mikroemulsionen. Für ebene Oberflächen dienen uns dabei Streuexperimente unter streifendem Einfall, also GISANS und GINSENG, in denen wir eine lamellare Ordnung nahe der Oberfläche mit einer schnelleren Dynamik gefunden haben.

O. Holderer

Reiniger auf Basis von Mikroemulsionen


Heutzutage werden noch immer Reinigungsmittel eingesetzt, die weitgehend aus Lösemitteln bestehen. Man findet sie z. B. im Bausektor als Pinselreiniger oder als Spezialreiniger zum Entfernen von Kleberückständen. Die Nachteile dieser Reiniger für die Gesundheit und die Umwelt sind offensichtlich. Mikroemulsionen bieten hierzu eine Alternative. Mittels polymerer Additive lassen diese Reiniger sich mit geringen Tensidanteilen formulieren. Werden hochsiedende Esteröle als Ölkomponente verwendet, können vollkommen kennzeichnungsfreie Reiniger erhalten werden, die vergleichbare Reinigungsleistungen aufweisen wie die bisherigen Lösemittelreiniger. Ein von uns entwickelter Reiniger wird inzwischen von einem Hersteller von Farben und Lacken als Universalfarblöser vermarktet.

J. Allgaier



Servicemenü

Homepage