ICS Key Visual

Navigation and service


Polymer Chemistry

Polymer chemistry at JCNS-1 is primarily concerned with the synthesis of model systems, such as:

  • classical and deuterated polymers
  • functional materials
  • complex polymer architectures
  • nanoparticles/polymer composites

      

     

Polymer-colloid Composites

Polymer-colloid composites can be synthesized as core-shell particles consisting of an inner solid, inorganic core surrounded by a soft polymer shell. A new "grafting to" technique, developed in our laboratory, allows the functionalization of silica particles with anionically-produced polymers.

PKK.png

Based on a two-step procedure, the silica nanoparticles are first modified with multifunctional chlorosilanes. The resulting chlorosilane groups are used in the next step to anchor the anionically produced polymers with the still active head groups on the nanoparticle surfaces. Both steps in the reaction take place without irreversible particle aggregation. The polymer chain density obtained by the new technique is around 1 chain per nm2 of particle sruface and is similar to standard controlled radical "grafting to" techniques. Furthermore, the new technique offers access to composites that cannot be produced using controlled radical methods, such as composites based on polydienes or those with very high molecular polymers.

Cyclic Polymers

Polymerchemie

The physical properties of a polymer are influenced not only by the type of monomer or the degree of polymerization but also to a large extent by the polymer architecture. Among the many different possible architectures, that of cyclic polymers occupies a special position. Whereas all other structures possess free end groups, these do not exist in cyclic polymers. For this reason, the dynamics of the polymer chains are fundamentally different from processes which occur in linear or branched chains.

Although macrocycles are a common by-product in many polymerization and polycondensation reactions, the specific synthesis of cyclic polymers is much less common. Our goal is to obtain thermally stable, cyclic polymers of high purity, controlled molecular weight and with a narrow molecular weight distribution on a multi-gram scale. The synthetic strategy uses anionic polymerization for the preparation of α,ω-heterodifunctionalized polymers and subsequent ring closure under highly diluted conditions. Through the chemical modification of the chain ends of the non-cyclized linear chains, it should then be easier to separate them from cyclic polymers.



Supramolecular Polymers/Self-healing Materials

Supramolecular polymers are polymers whose building blocks are held together by relatively weak intermolecular interactions such as hydrogen bonds, ionic interactions or metal ligand interactions.

Polymerchemie

Their reversible bonds permit the self-healing of structural damages. The success of this process depends on different conditions. One of these is self-assembly. Only when suitable bonding motives fit together, can a repair take place successfully.

The challenge lies in the synthesis of functionaliized polymers. The polymer scaffold, based on polyethylene oxide (PEO) or polybutylene oxide (PBO), is extended by groups capable of forming hydrogen bonds so that these end-groups are able to form reversible bonds. In this way, both supramolecular polymers and networks are synthesized (see figure).

Polymerchemie

Through the combination of reversible and permanent networking, dual networks can be built. The supramolecular part of the network can open up when exposed to mechanical load and thus, by reversible stress relief, the tearing of the material at an early stage can be avoided.

Polyalkylthiophenes

As semiconducting polymers, polyalklthiophenes (PATs) are potential candidates for organic light-emitting diodes (OLEDs), field-effect transistors, photodiodes and polymer-based solar cells. The special properties of PATs, such as high conductivity (doped up to 1000 S/cm) or solvatochromism resulting from a conjugated π system of individual monomer units. Furthermore, PATs demonstrate a considerably higher solubility in organic solvents compared to polythiophenes and are therefore easier to work with (thin films, for example). With their relatively accessibility and modifiability, they offer an ideal area of study for organic electronics.

There are numerous possible synthetic processes for PATs, for example, using coupling reactions, by electrochemical means, or by Fe-catalysed polymerisation. The method developed in the 1990s by McCullough et al., the Kumada Type Coupling Polymerisation (KCTP, often referred to as the Grignard metathesis GRIM) is the most promising method, due to a defined molecular weight, a narrow molecular mass distribution, (PDI ca. 1.10) and regional tactivity (2.5' head-to-tail coupling, HT). In virtually living Ni-catalysed polymerisation, the monomer is transformed into a Grignard bond. In addition, this method enables the functionalisation of start and end groups, made posible by an access point for block co-polymers, which then forms defined nanostructures through supramolecular organization.

Deuterated Materials

Polymerchemie

When using neutrons to study organic materials, much use is made of so-called contrast variation, taking advantage of the fact that both hydrogen isotopes, deuterium (2H) and protium (1H) strongly differentiate themselves with a high level of contrast during neutron scattering. In this way, using a mixture of deuterated and hydrogenous elements, organic macromolecules can be made "visible".

The production of deuterated polymers normally takes place through the polymerisation of deuterated monomers. The subsequent replacement of hydrogen with deuterium (H/D replacement) in the polymer is often avoided, as due to the frequently harsh conditions, alterations in the polymer structure may occur.

The necessary deuterium-enriched monomers are either synthesized from commercially deuterated chemicals or produced using an H/D exchange of organic molecules catalysed by a transition metal in a deuterated solvent. For subsequent use in anionic polymerisation, the monomers must meet high levels of purity and deuteration.


Servicemeu

Homepage

ICS Key Visual

Navigation und Service


Polymerchemie


 

Die Polymerchemie im JCNS-1 befasst sich mit der Synthese von Modellsystemen wie z.B.:

• klassische und deuterierte Polymere
• funktionelle Materialien
• komplexe Polymerarchitekturen
• Nanopartikel/Polymer Komposite

 


Polymer-Kolloid-Komposite

Polymer-Kolloid Komposite lassen sich als Kern-Schale Partikel herstellen, die aus einem harten, anorganischen Kern und einer weichen Polymerschale bestehen. Eine von uns entwickelte "grafting to"-Technik ermöglicht die Funktionalisierung von Nanopartikeln mit anionischen lebenden Polymeren. In dem zweistufigen Prozess werden die Nanopartikel zuerst mit multifunktionellen Chlorsilanen modifiziert.

PKK.png

Die so entstandenen Chlorsilangruppen dienen im darauf folgenden Schritt dazu, um die anionisch hergestellten Polymere mit den noch aktiven Kopfgruppen auf der Nanopartikeloberfläche zu verankern. Beide Reaktionsschritte verlaufen ohne irreversible Partikelaggregation. Die mit der neuen Technik zu erzielende Polymerkettendichte liegt bei etwa 1 Kette pro nm2 Partikeloberfläche und entspricht der gängiger kontrolliert radikalischer "grafting to"-Techniken. Außerdem eröffnet die neue Technik Zugang zu Kompositen, die über kontrolliert radikalische Methoden nicht hergestellt werden können, wie beispielsweise Komposite auf Polydienbasis oder solche mit sehr hochmolekularen Polymeren. 

Ringpolymere

Polymerchemie

Die physikalischen Eigenschaften eines Polymers werden nicht nur von der Art der Monomere und dem Polymerisationsgrad beeinflusst, sondern ebenfalls von der Architektur der Polymere. Unter der Vielzahl von verschiedenen Architekturen nehmen die Ringpolymere eine Sonderstellung ein. Während alle anderen Strukturen freie Kettenenden besitzen, sind diese bei Ringpolymeren nicht vorhanden. Dadurch ist die Dynamik der Polymerketten grundsätzlich verschieden von den Prozessen, die bei linearen oder verzweigten Ketten auftreten.

Obwohl Makrozyklisierung als Nebenreaktion in vielen Polymerisationen und Polykondensationen auftritt, ist die gezielte Synthese von Ringpolymeren weniger verbreitet. Unser Ziel ist die Herstellung thermisch stabiler Ringpolymere in hoher Reinheit, kontrolliertem Molekulargewicht und enger Molekulargewichtsverteilung im Multigramm Maßstab. Die verwendete Synthesestrategie beruht auf der Herstellung von α,ω-heterodifunktionalisierten Polymeren durch anionische Polymerisation und anschließendem intramolekularem Ringschluss unter hoher Verdünnung. Durch chemische Modifikation der Kettenenden der nicht-zyklisierten linearen Ketten sollen diese leichter vom Ringpolymer abgetrennt werden können.

Supramolekulare Polymere/Selbstheilende Materialien

Supramolekulare Polymere sind Polymere, deren Bausteine durch relativ schwache intermolekulare Wechselwirkungen wie Wasserstoffbrückenbindungen, Ionenbindungen oder Metall-Ligand-Wechselwirkungen zusammengehalten werden. Ihre reversiblen Bindungen erlauben Strukturschäden selbständig zu reparieren.

Polymerchemie

Der Erfolg dieser Selbstheilung hängt von verschiedenen Faktoren ab. Einer dieser Faktoren ist die Selbstorganisation. Nur wenn entsprechende Bindungsmotive zueinander passen, kann eine Reparatur erfolgen.

Eine Herausforderung besteht in der Synthese der funktionalisierten Polymere. Das Polymergerüst, auf Basis von Polyethylenoxid (PEO) oder Polybutylenoxid (PBO), wird mit Wasserstoffbrückenbildenden Gruppen so erweitert, dass die Endgruppen reversible Bindungen ausbilden können. Auf diesem Wege werden supramolekulare Polymere, aber auch Netzwerke hergestellt (siehe Abbildung).

 

Polymerchemie

Durch die Kombination von reversibler- und permanenter Vernetzung können duale Netzwerke hergestellt werden. Der supramolekulare Teil des Netzwerkes kann sich unter mechanischer Belastung öffnen und damit durch reversiblen Spannungsabbau ein frühes Reißen des Materials verhindern.

Polyalkylthiophene

Als halbleitende Polymere sind Polyalkylthiophene (PATs) potentielle Kandidaten für organischen Leuchtdioden (OLEDs), Feldeffekttransistoren, Photodioden und polymer basierten Solarzellen. Die besonderen Eigenschaften von PATs wie die hohe Leitfähigkeit (dotiert bis zu 1000 S/cm) oder Solvatochromie resultieren aus einem konjugierten π-System der einzelnen Monomereinheiten. Zudem zeigen PATs verglichen mit Polythiophenen eine wesentlich höhere Löslichkeit in organischen Lösungsmitteln und sind daher leicht zu verarbeiten (z.B. Dünnschichtfilme). Mit ihrer relativ guten Zugänglichkeit und Modifizierbarkeit sind sie ein ideales Studiengebiet im Bereich der organischen Elektronik.

Es gibt eine Vielzahl möglicher Synthesewege für PATs, beispielsweise über Kupplungsreaktionen, auf elektrochemischem Weg oder über Fe-katalysierte Polymerisation. Die in 1990er Jahren von McCullough et al. entwickelte Kumada Type Coupling Polymerization (KCTP; oft auch Grignard-metathesis GRIM) ist dabei am vielversprechendsten Methoden hinsichtlich eines definierten Molekulargewichts, einer engen Molmassenverteilung (PDI ca. 1.10) und der Regiotaktizität (2,5‘-head-to-tail coupling, HT). Bei der quasi lebenden Ni-katalysierten Polymerisation wird das Monomer als Grignard-Verbindung umgesetzt. Zudem bietet diese Methode die Möglichkeit von Start- und Endgruppenfunktionalisierung, was einen Zugang für Block-Copolymere ermöglicht, die durch supramolekulare Organisation definierte Nanostrukturen bilden.

Deuterierte Materialien

Umorganische Materialien mit Hilfe von Neutronen untersuchen zu können, bedient man sich der sogenannten Kontrastvariation. Dabei nutzt man die Tatsache, dass die beiden Wasserstoff Isotope Deuterium (2H) und Protium (1H) bei der Neutronenstreuung einen stark unterschiedlichen Streuquerschnitt (= „Kontrast“) besitzen. Somit können durch Verwendung einer Mischung aus deuterierten und wasserstoffhaltigen Bestandteilen, organische Makromoleküle „sichtbar“ gemacht werden.

Polymerchemie


Die Herstellung von deuterierten Polymeren erfolgt in der Regel über die Polymerisation von deuterierten Monomeren. Ein nachträglicher Austausch von Wasserstoff zu Deuterium (H/D Austausch) im Polymer wird häufig vermieden, da auf Grund der oft harschen Bedingungen Veränderungen in der Polymerstruktur auftreten können.

Die benötigten Deuterium angereicherten Monomere werden entweder aus kommerziellen deuterierten Chemikalien synthetisiert oder durch Übergangsmetall katalysierten H/D Austausch von organischen Molekülen mit deuterierten Lösungsmitteln hergestellt. Zur anschließenden Verwendung in der anionischen Polymerisation müssen die Monomere höchsten Anforderungen bezüglich Reinheit und Deuterierungsgrad genügen.


Servicemenü

Homepage