ICS Key Visual

Navigation and service


Polymers

SANS Investigations

The SANS technique if coupled to macroscopic characterization methods like rheology, provides a powerful tool for the study of bulk materials in external fields. Our research activities focus on the structural response of polymers upon extension and shear deformation in space and time in in-situ experiments.





Rheology

rheology_jpg

Theological measurements provide the necessary link between mechanical properties and molecular structure as determined from scattering methods. The dynamic moduli efficiently probe the relaxation time spectrum in polymer melts. Properties such as relaxation processes or plateau moduli are discussed within the tube picture for topological interactions and ideally show up as more or less pronounced humps in the loss modulus G''(ω) at ~1/τ.

W. Pyckhout-Hintzen



Polymer Networks

polynet2_jpg

Statistically crosslinked polymer networks based on homopolymers are studied in the light of the tube confinement model for the topological interactions. Static experiments on KWS1 are described perfectly with the affine premise of chain deformation including a non-affine contribution due to the constraining potential. The tube model explains naturally the anisotropic scattering patterns as well as principal axes as a function of deformation ratio.

W. Pyckhout-Hintzen, A. Botti (Univ. Rome),
E. Straube (Univ. Halle-Saale)


Quenched Melts

qunchmelts_jpg

Branched polymers behave rheologically different from linear chains. Here, time-dependent phenomena at several length scales can be decoupled by freezing-in states. Quenched melts of partially labeled branched copolymers can therefore be studied by insitu SANS and extensional rheology to locally investigate structural relaxations on different hierarchical levels. The topological tube is now intimately related to the relaxation of stress.

M. Heinrich, W. Pyckhout-Hintzen



Branched Polymers in Solution

branchpoly_jpg

The formfactor of polyamides (Nylon-6) of architectures from simple linear to random-branched structures are studied in several solvents covering up to the good solvent limit. A knowledge of the conformation allows the development of structure-property relationships and the investigation of the effect of polydispersity on processing. Due to their crystalline nature and the fact that reamidisation occurs above the melting temperature, these nylons can not be investigated in the melt state. The hydrogen-bonding capabilities of nylon-6 in solution on the other hand can be disrupted using a trifluoroacetylation modification. This makes nylon-6 soluble in many common solvents and a theta solvent can be found so that the conformation of the polymer in the melt can be predicted.

H. Hermes, W. Pyckhout-Hintzen


Polymer Melts

wisch2_jpg

One of the fascinating properties of polymer melts is their rheological behaviour. The observation of slow molecular motions on a microscopic (molecular) scale can be realized by neutron-spin-echo (NSE)-spectroscopy, which measures directly the single-chain dynamic structure factor S(Q,t) or the segment mean square displacement. In the limit of short chains, S(Q,t) is successfully described by the Rouse model. For large molecular weights, topological constraints (entanglements) are dominant. The most successful model to take them into account is the reptation model of deGennes, where the topological constraints are represented by a virtual tube. This model was corroborated in the limit of long chain systems by NSE experiments (see figure). The ultimate goal in polymer science is to predict the optimal composition and molecular architecture of a polymer system for specific macroscopic properties or specific applications ('molecular design') by revealing all relevant relaxation mechanisms.

A.Wischnewski


Polymers in confining geometries

zorn1_184px_png

Polymer melts in confining geometries exhibit novel and unique features, in particular with respect to applications. For example, if polymers and nanoparticles are mixed, then the rheological behavior of the mixture could be completely different in comparison to the single raw materials. At present a molecular theory which predicts the properties of the composite just based on the ingredients does not exist. Therefore, the ultimate vision is to derive the macroscopic function from the microscopic situation. In order to achieve this goal, we study the influence of confining geometries on the polymer by means of neutron scattering techniques. In particular SiO2 nanoparticles and nanoporous alumina or silicon are very well suited model systems. Confinement effects are introduced if their diameters are comparable with the typical size of the chain dimensions. Neutron scattering techniques offer the unique possibility to observe single polymer chains in these systems on the molecular and microscopic length scale. For example, the single chain structure factor can be observed by neutron small-angle scattering experiments. The dynamical features can be studied by the neutron spin echo technology, i.e. by the dynamical structure factor S(Q,t)/S(Q,0). By that means changes in comparison to the pure melt can be directly followed. The figure shows the influence of nanoparticles on S(Q,t)/S(Q,0).

G. J. Schneider


Servicemeu

Homepage

ICS Key Visual

Navigation und Service


Polymere

Neutronenkleinwinkelstreuung

Die Neutronenkleinwinkelstreuung (SANS) als Technik ist ein ungemein aussagekräftiges Werkzeug, um Bulkmaterialen in externen Feldern zu studieren, wenn sie mit makroskopischen Charakterisierungstechniken wie zum Beispiel der Rheologie verknüpft wird. Unsere Forschungsaktivitäten zielen auf den strukturellen Respons von Polymeren nach einer Scher- und Dehnungsdeformation sowohl im Raum als auch in der Zeit - und zwar mittels in-situ-Experimenten.





Rheologie

rheology_jpg

Die Rheologie verschafft die notwendige Verbindung zwischen den mechanischen Eigenschaften und der molekularen - aus Streuexperimenten bestimmten - Struktur. Die dynamischen Module tasten auf empfindliche Weise das Relaxationszeitspektrum in Polymerschmelzen ab. Eigenschaften wie einzelne Relaxationsprozesse oder Plateaumodule können im Rahmen eines Röhrenmodells für topolologische Wechselwirkungen zwischen Ketten erfolgreich diskutiert werden. Diese zeigen sich als mehr oder weniger ausgeprägte Maxima im G''-Verlustmodul bei Frequenzen proportional der inversen Relaxationszeit.

W. Pyckhout-Hintzen



Polymere Netzwerke

polynet2_jpg

Statistisch-vernetzte polymere Netzwerke - ausgehend von linearen Homopolymeren - werden mit Hinblick auf Röhrenbehinderungseffekte studiert. Statische Experimenten an KWS1 bestätigen die affine Deformation der Röhrenachse inklusive eines nicht-affinen Beitrags vom Behinderungspotential. Das Röhrenmodell erklärt auf natürliche Weise die 2-dimensionalen anisotropen Streubilder sowie die Hauptachsen als Funktion der Dehnung.

W. Pyckhout-Hintzen, A. Botti (Univ. Rome),
E. Straube (Univ. Halle-Saale)


Eingefrorene Schmelzen

qunchmelts_jpg

Polymere mit verzweigter Architektur verhalten sich anders als lineare Ketten. Zeitabhängige Phänomene, die sich auf unterschiedlichen Längenskalen abspielen, können jetzt entkoppelt in statischen Experimenten studiert werden - und zwar durch das Einfrieren der jeweiligen Zuständen. Eingefrorene Schmelzen von partiell-markierten verzweigten Copolymeren können mit der in-situ-SANS-Methode und gekoppelter Dehnrheometrie studiert werden, um strukturelle Relaxationen im Ortsraum auf verschiedenen hierarchischen Ebenen zu untersuchen. Die topologische Röhre ist eng mit der Abbau der Spannung verbunden.

M. Heinrich, W. Pyckhout-Hintzen


Verzweigte Polymere in Lösung

branchpoly_jpg

Der Formfaktor von Polyamiden (Nylon-6) mit Architekturen von linear bis zufällig verzweigt werden in geeigneten Lösungsmitteln studiert. Die Kenntnisse über die Konformation lässt eine Weiterentwicklung von Struktur-Eigenschaftsbeziehungen zu und die Erforschung des Effekts der Polydispersität bei der Verarbeitung. Wegen ihre kristallinen Natur und Reamidisierung bei hoher Temperatur können Untersuchungen der Schmelze an markierten Ketten nicht durchgeführt werden. Wasserstoffbrückenbildung andererseits kann mittels einer Trifluoracetylierung verringert werden. Theta-Lösungsmittel-Untersuchungen werden herangezogen, um die Kettenkonformation in der Schmelze zu simulieren.

H. Hermes, W. Pyckhout-Hintzen


Polymerschmelzen

wisch2_jpg

Polymerschmelzen faszinieren durch ihr rheologisches Verhalten. Die Neutronen-Spin-Echo (NSE) Spektroskopie erlaubt die langsamen Bewegungen dieser langen Moleküle direkt zu beobachten. NSE misst den Einzelkettenstrukturfaktor S(Q,t) oder auch die mittlere quadratische Auslenkung von Kettensegmenten. Für kurze Ketten wird S(Q,t) durch das Rouse-Modell beschrieben. In langkettigen Systemen dominieren topologische Wechselwirkungen in Form von Verschlaufungen. Das erfolgreichste Modell zur Beschreibung dieser Dynamik ist das Reptations-Modell von deGennes. In diesem Modell werden die topologischen Einschränkungen durch eine virtuelle Röhre repräsentiert. Es wurde durch NSE-Experimente im Grenzfall sehr langer Polymerketten bestätigt. Das ultimative Ziel der Polymerforschung ist eine Vorhersage der optimalen Zusammensetzung und Architektur von Polymersystemen für bestimmte makroskopische Eigenschaften bzw. spezifische Anwendungen ('molecular design'). Dies setzt ein Verständnis aller Relaxationsmechanismen in diesen Systemen voraus.

A. Wischnewski


Polymere in einschränkenden Geometrien

zorn1_184px_png

Polymerschmelzen in einschränkenden Geometrien weisen neue Merkmale auf, insbesondere auch im Hinblick auf Anwendungen. Beispielsweise kann das rheologische Verhalten von Polymeren, die mit Nanopartikeln vermischt sind, völlig verschieden von dem der einzelnen Komponenten sein. Bislang existiert keine molekulare Theorie, die eine Vorhersage der Eigenschaften des Verbundmaterials aufgrund der Ausgangsstoffe ermöglicht. Das ultimative Ziel der Forschung ist es daher, ausgehend von Informationen auf der mikroskopischen Ebene, die makroskopische Funktion des Materials zu beschreiben. Um dieses Ziel zu erreichen, studieren wir den Einfluss einschränkender Geometrien mit Hilfe von Neutronenstreuung. Als Modellsysteme eignen sich zum Beispiel Nanopartikel aus SiO2 und nanoporöses Aluminiumoxid oder Silizium. Eine geometrische Einschränkung für die Polymere stellen diese Materialien dar, wenn die Durchmesser von vergleichbarer Größe sind, wie die typischer Kettendimensionen. Die Neutronenstreuung ermöglicht es in einzigartiger Weise einzelne Polymerketten in dieser Umgebung auf molekularer und mikroskopischer Ebene zu betrachten. Beispielsweise können der Einzelkettenstrukturfaktor und die Teilchenstruktur mittels Neutronenkleinwinkelstreuung erhalten werden. Dynamische Phänomene lassen sich mittels Neutronenspinecho, d.h. mit Hilfe des dynamischen Strukturfaktors S(Q,t)/S(Q,0), bestimmen. Das Bild zeigt die Auswirkungen von Nanopartikeln auf S(Q,t)/S(Q,0), und somit sind Änderungen im Vergleich zum reinen Polymer direkt feststellbar.

G. J. Schneider


Servicemenü

Homepage