Search

link to homepage

Institut of Neuroscience and Medicine
Cognitive Neurology (INM-3)
(leer)

Navigation and service

The Department of Cognitive Neuroscience (INM-3) uses behavioral, pharmacological and neuromodulatory methods to elucidate pathomechanisms of neurological and neuropsychological deficits, with the aim to develop innovative diagnostic and therapeutic strategies/procedures.

Using functional imaging (PET and MRI), both systemic (neural networks) and molecular (neurotransmission) approaches utilizing mathematical models (such as dynamic causal modelling) are combined, in order to arrive at a holistic understanding of the development of normal functions in the healthy brain (across the entire life span) as well as the diseased brain of neurological and psychiatric patients.

These aims are pursued in tight collaboration with the Department of Neurology, University Hospital Cologne (stroke-induced deficits and neurorehabilitation, memory disorders in normal aging and dementias), the Department of Psychiatry, University Hospital Cologne (disorders of social cognition in autism and schizophrenia) and the Department of Child and Adolescent Psychiatry, University Hospital of the RWTH Aachen (disorders of attention and empathy in ADHD).

Focus

Arbeitsgruppe Räumliche Kognition

Spatial Cognition

The study group spatial cognition studies the different aspects of spatial Information processing in the human brain. Here fundamental research as well application-orientated clinical research is the centre of our interest.
One Target of our study group is the to get a clearer view in the mechanism of visual and spatial Information processing in the human brain and to transfer that knowledge applicable orientated in clinical issues. One centre of interest is the so-called neglect syndrome, which is mostly associated with right hemisphere brain lesions.
More: Spatial Cognition …

schlaganfall

Motor cognition

All cognitive processes are expressed by actions. In turn, complex actions draw upon cognitive functions. Motor cognitive disorders, like apraxia, strongly impair the outcome of stroke patients. Therefore, the Motor Cognition group investigates the neural mechanisms and concepts (e.g., body schema ) underlying complex action by structural (statistical lesion mapping) and functional (network connectivity) imaging in healthy volunteers and neurological patients. Furthermore, non-invasive neuromodulatory techniques (e.g., TMS, tDCS) are used to develop new strategies for the therapy of motor cognitive disorders.In the following two exemplary projects are presented: More: Motor cognition …

neuronavigation

Rehabilitation of cognitive impairments

A brain lesion as a consequence of either illness or accident can cause permanent dysfunctions in the brain. In our society stroke is the most frequent cause of a permanent disability. More: Rehabilitation of cognitive impairments …

ag_gruhn_1

Computational Neurology

The aim of our research group is to construct mathematical models of the neuronal network dynamics underlying motor actions in healthy humans and stroke patients, using recordings of individual brain activity (EEG and fMRI). More: Computational Neurology …

Spule Kind 160 100

Development of cognitive functions (Cognitive Development)

The aim of the study group is to research and characterize the typical brain maturation as well as possible deviations of this maturation in neuropsychiatric disorders during childhood and adolescence. More: Development of cognitive functions (Cognitive Development) …

soziale_kognition

Social Cognition

The focus of the study group is the research field of social cognition, which assembles all cognitive processes, which are relevant for the interaction and communication between human beings. More: Social Cognition …

JMC-logo

Memory Clinic Köln Jülich

The Memory Clinic Köln Jülich (JMC) aims to establish a close cooperation between clinical medicine and research in the field of aging and dementia. The initial consultation and assessment of cognitive complaints takes place at the Department of Neurology at the University Hospital of Cologne. In cooperation with the Institute of Neuroscience and Medicine (INM) at Jülich Research Centre, modern brain imaging tools such as PET-MRI are in use. More: Memory Clinic Köln Jülich …


Servicemeu

Homepage

Suche

zur Hauptseite

Institut für Neurowissenschaften und Medizin
Kognitive Neurowissenschaften (INM-3)
(leer)

Navigation und Service

Das Teilinstitut Kognitive Neurowissenschaften (INM-3) nutzt behaviorale, pharmakologische und neuromodulatorische Methoden, um die Pathomechanismen neurologischer und neuropsychologischer Defizite aufzuklären, mit dem Ziel, innovative diagnostische und therapeutische Verfahren zu entwickeln.


Mittels funktioneller Bildgebung (PET, MRT) werden systemische (neurale Netzwerke) und molekulare (Neurotransmission) Ansätze unter Einsatz mathematischer Modelle (z.B. dynamic causal modelling) zusammengeführt, um zu einem ganzheitlichen Verständnis der Entwicklung normaler Hirnfunktionen bei Gesunden (über die gesamte Lebensspanne, d.h. vom Kindes- bis zum hohen Alter) als auch gestörter Hirnfunktionen bei neurologischen und psychiatrischen Patienten zu gelangen.

Diese Ziele werden in enger Zusammenarbeit mit den Kliniken für Neurologie (schlaganfall-bedingte Ausfallserscheinungen und Neurorehabilitation; Störungen des Gedächtnisses bei normalem Altern und Demenzen) und Psychiatrie (Störungen der sozialen Kognition bei Autismus & Schizophrenie) der Uniklinik Köln sowie der Klinik für Kinder- und Jugendpsychiatrie der RWTH Aachen (Störungen von Aufmerksamkeit und Empathie bei Aufmerksamkeitsdefizit-Hyperaktivitätssyndrom) verfolgt.

Fokus

Arbeitsgruppe Räumliche Kognition

Räumliche Kognition

Mit Hilfe verschiedener neurowissenschaftlicher Methoden erforschen wir die Verarbeitung und Selektion räumlicher Information im menschlichen Gehirn.
Mehr: Räumliche Kognition …

schlaganfall

Motorische Kognition

Die aktuelle Forschung zeigt, dass kognitive und motorische Prozesse eng mit einander verwoben sind. Störungen der motorischen Kognition, wie beispielsweise die Apraxie, haben einen negativen Einfluss auf die Rehabilitation von Schlaganfallpatienten. Die Arbeitsgruppe Motorische Kognition untersucht die neuronalen Mechanismen und Konzepte (z.B. Körperschema), die der Apraxie zugrunde liegen. Mehr: Motorische Kognition …

ag_rehabilitation of cognitive impairments

Rehabilitation kognitiver Störungen

Wie beeinflusst ein Schlaganfall das sensomotorische System im menschlichen Gehirn? Wie schafft es das Gehirn, verlorengegangene Funktionen zu kompensieren? Wie können diese Prozesse von außen unterstützt werden, um die Rehabilitation von Schlaganfall-Patienten zu verbessern? Das sind die zentralen Fragen, welche unsere Forschungsaktivitäten antreiben. Mehr: Rehabilitation kognitiver Störungen …

ag_gruhn_1

Computational Neurology

Fast jede motorische Handlung resultiert aus der komplexen Interaktion verschiedener Hirnregionen. In den vergangenen Jahrzehnten wurden die Hirnregionen, die in die Generierung von Bewegungen involviert sind intensiv in Tiermodellen, sowie im Menschen untersucht. Neuere theoretische Ansätze erlauben es uns, Informationen über die Interaktionen zwischen diesen Hirnregionen aus durch Elektroenzephalografie (EEG) und funktioneller Magnetresonanztomografie (fMRT) gewonnenen Daten zu extrahieren. Mehr: Computational Neurology …

Spule Kind 160 100

Entwicklung kognitiver Funktionen

Das Ziel der Arbeitsgruppe liegt in der Erforschung und Charakterisierung der regelhaften Hirnentwicklung sowie möglicher Abweichungen in dieser Entwicklung bei neuropsychiatrischen Erkrankungen des Kindes- und Jugendalters. Mehr: Entwicklung kognitiver Funktionen …

soziale_kognition

Soziale Kognition

Das Kerninteresse der Arbeitsgruppe fokussiert auf das Forschungsfeld der sozialen Kognition, das alle kognitiven Prozesse einschließt, die für Interaktion und Kommunikation zwischen Personen relevant sind. Mehr: Soziale Kognition …

JMC-logo

Memory Clinic Köln Jülich

Die Memory Clinic Köln Jülich (JMC) verwirklicht eine enge Verzahnung von Klinik und Wissenschaft zum Thema kognitives Altern und Demenz. Die Abklärung und Beratung bei kognitiven Beschwerden erfolgt an der Klinik und Poliklinik für Neurologie der Uniklinik Köln. In Zusammenarbeit mit dem Institut für Neurowissenschaften und Medizin (INM) des Forschungszentrums Jülich kommen hierbei moderne Bildgebungsmöglichkeiten des Gehirns zum Einsatz, so unter anderem eine MR-PET Hybrid-Bildgebung. Mehr: Memory Clinic Köln Jülich …


Servicemenü

Homepage