Search

link to homepage

Institute of Neuroscience and Medicine

Navigation and service


A Close Look Into the Brain

Powerful hybrid device: 9.4-T MR-PET

Insight into the human brain – completely without anaesthesia and scalpel, but more detailed than ever before: at the Jülich Institute of Neurosciences and Biophysics, an internationally unique device will begin operation in 2009: a 9.4-tesla magnetic resonance tomograph (MRT) combined with a positron emission tomograph (PET).

9.4 Tesla MR-PET

With this combined device, scientists will develop new techniques for the diagnosis and treatment of neurological brain diseases. In fact, it delivers images of the human brain of previously unobtainable precision. The reason for this is the magnetic field of the MRT. With a field strength of 9.4 tesla, it is up to six times higher than that of usual devices – and 190,000 times higher than the magnetic field of the Earth.

Combination of MRI and PET

It is the combination of magnetic resonance imaging (MRI) and positron emission tomography (PET) merged in this so far unique device which opens up new perspectives for researchers. The MRT technique simulates the tissue of the brain. The simultaneous PET analysis makes the metabolism in the cells visible by means of a very weak radioactive substance. "9komma4" combines both. More: Combination of MRI and PET …

Better Diagnostic Opportunities

The simultaneous measurement of brain structures and metabolic processes will in future open up new opportunities for exploring neurodegenerative diseases such as epilepsy, stroke, Alzheimer's or multiple sclerosis. With the new combined device, researchers will soon be able to locate diseased tissue and disturbances in the metabolism in the brain precisely down to the millimetre. More: Better Diagnostic Opportunities …


Translational Research: TransFOR

The 9.4-T MR-PET completes the Jülich research platform "TransFOR" in terms of imaging techniques in brain research. In this context, Jülich researchers and their cooperation partners in education and health research are provided with a whole range of devices, which serve basic research or are already being used for clinical applications. More: Translational Research: TransFOR …


Servicemeu

Homepage

Suche

zur Hauptseite

Institut für Neurowissenschaften und Medizin
(leer)

Navigation und Service


Scharfer Blick ins Gehirn:

Der Hybrid 9,4-T-MR-PET: ein einzigartiges Kombigerät der Hirnforschung

Einblick ins menschliche Hirn – ganz ohne Narkose und Skalpell, aber detaillierter als je zuvor. Am Jülicher Institut für Neurowissenschaften und Medizin ist ein weltweit einzigartiges Gerät im Einsatz für die Forschung: Ein 9,4 Tesla Magnetresonanz-Tomograf (MRT) kombiniert mit einem Positronen-Emissions-Tomografen (PET).

9,4 Tesla MR-PET

Mit diesem Kombi-Gerät entwickeln Wissenschaftler neue Verfahren zur Diagnose und Therapie neurologischer Hirnerkrankungen. Das 20 Millionen Euro teure Gerät, das vom Bundesforschungsministerium (BMBF) und von Siemens finanziert wurde, liefert Bilder des menschlichen Gehirns in nie gekannter Schärfe. Ein Grund dafür ist das Magnetfeld des MRT. Mit einer Feldstärke von 9,4 Tesla ist es bis zu sechsmal höher als das herkömmlicher Geräte - und 190.000 Mal höher als das Magnetfeld der Erde.


Kombination von MRT und PET

Es ist die Kombination der Magnetresonanz-Tomografie (MRT) und der Positronenemissions-Tomografie (PET), die den Forschern durch das bisher einzigartige Gerät neue Perspektiven eröffnet. Das MRT-Verfahren bildet das Gewebe des Gehirns ab. Die gleichzeitige PET-Analyse macht den Stoffwechsel in den Zellen durch eine sehr schwache radioaktive Substanz sichtbar. Beides in einem leistet "9komma4". Mehr: Kombination von MRT und PET …


Verbesserte Diagnose-Möglichkeiten

Die gleichzeitige Messung von Gehirnstrukturen und Stoffwechselvorgängen eröffnet zukünftig neue Möglichkeiten zur Erforschung neurodegenerativer Erkrankungen wie Epilepsie, Schlaganfall, Alzheimer oder Multipler Sklerose. Mit dem neuen Kombi-Gerät können Forscher bald krankes Gewebe und Störungen im Stoffwechsel des Gehirns auf den Millimeter genau lokalisieren. Mehr: Verbesserte Diagnose-Möglichkeiten …


Translationale Forschung: TransFOR

Das 9,4-T-MR-PET vervollständigt die Jülicher Forschungsplattform "TransFOR" zu bildgebenden Verfahren in der Hirnforschung. Den Jülicher Forschern und ihren Kooperationspartnern in Lehre und Gesundheitswesen steht dabei eine ganze Reihe von Geräten zur Verfügung, die der Grundlagenforschung dienen oder bereits in der klinischen Anwendung sind. Mehr: Translationale Forschung: TransFOR …


Servicemenü

Homepage