Navigation and service

News about us



May 2015

Katrin Neureiter joins our group to do her Master’s thesis.

April 2015

Start of the lectures "Experimentelle Grundlagen der Spinelektronik" (Jun.-Prof. M. Müller) at the University Duisburg-Essen.

January 2015

The 580. Wilhelm and Else Heraeus Seminar „Oxide Spintronics - Novel Materials, Transport and Emergent Phenomena“ from 07.-09.01.2015 in Bad Honnef was successfully organized by Martina Müller and Marjana Lezaic. More details



November 2014

Patrick Lömker successfully finishes his Master’s thesis and continues in our group as PhD student.

April 2014    

Start of the Lecture "Experimentelle Grundlagen der Spinelektronik" (Jun.-Prof. M. Müller) at the University Duisburg-Essen.

April 2014      

Successful assembly and first operation of our new Oxide-MBE & Analysis System - a big thank you to all helpful hands!

March 2014      

Dr. Timm Geber joins our group as a postdoctoral researcher.



November 2013
Martina Müller accepted an appointment at the University of Duisburg-Essen, Faculty of Physics, as Junior Professor (W1). 

October 2013

Patrick Lömker joined our group to do his Master's thesis.

August 2013
Christian Caspers was awarded second prize for his poster at the JEMS 2013 Joint European Magnetic Symposia.

July 2013

Christian Caspers successfully passed his Ph.D. examination at the University of Duisburg-Essen.

March 2013

Our manuscript "Ultrathin magnetic oxide EuO films on Si(001) using SiOx passivation - controlled by HAXPES" was published.

January 2013

Martina Müller was invited to give a talk on the group's synchrotron activities at the 2013 DESY User's Meeting in Hamburg and at the ESRF Users' Meeting in Grenoble, France.



December 2012
Christian Caspers was awarded the "HZB User Committee Best Poster Award" at the BESSY User's Meeting in Berlin for his contribution "Magnetic Oxides EuO Thin Films on Surface Passivated Silicon for Silicon Spintronics".

November 2012

Sebastian Flade finished his Master's thesis and graduated from University Duisburg-Essen.

October 2012
Martina Müller received a "Fast Track Fellowship" of the Robert Bosch Foundation.

August 2012

Stephan Kramer-Sinzinger finished his Diploma thesis and graduated from Cologne University.

April 2012
The Young Investigators Group "Oxide Spintronics Laboratory", funded by the Helmholtz Association was officially launched.
Michael Hoppe and Bernardus Zijlstra join our group to write their three-year Ph.D thesis.

January 2012

Our HAXPES study was selected for the "Best of 2011" Edition of physics status solidi.
"Best of pss 2011"





December 2011

Our paper „  Electronic structure of EuO spin filter tunnel contacts directly on silicon (PDF, 399 kB)
was chosen as the title page of the pss RRL Edition Focus on Spintronics and Spin Physics.

DESY press release (09.12.2011)