26th Laboratory Course - Neutron Scattering 2024

02-13 September 2024 Jülich/Garching - Germany

Registration is now open!

Deadline for applications is 21 May 2024

26th Laboratory Course - Neutron Scattering 2024
25th JCNS Laboratory Course Neutron Scattering organised by: JCNS / PGI-4 / IBI-8
Dr. Jennifer Fisher

Each year, the Jülich Centre for Neutron Science (JCNS) at Forschungszentrum Jülich, Germany, organizes a two-week laboratory course in neutron scattering in cooperation with RWTH Aachen University. The first week consists of lectures and exercises in Jülich, while the second week is a hands-on training at the neutron research reactor in Munich (Heinz Maier-Leibnitz Zentrum MLZ) offering different neutron scattering experiments to every participant.

Our course is aimed at Master's and PhD students, but early career postdocs with little or no experience with neutron scattering are also welcome to apply. All selected applicants will receive free accommodation and half-board, as well as financial support with travel expenses.

The lectures provide an introduction to neutron scattering and instrumentation with techniques spanning:

·       Diffraction

·       Small angle scattering

·       Polarization analysis and magnetic scattering

·       Reflectivity

·       Inelastic and quasielastic scattering

·       Elemental analysis

In the neutron experiments, a broad scope of the instrumental diffraction and spectroscopy suite at the Forschungs-Neutronenquelle Heinz Maier-Leibnitz (FRM II) is presented to the participants, see here for details.

Neutrons are crucial probes in soft matter and energy materials, used widely in life sciences, quantum materials and in industry, details of which are highlighted in the talks on applications.

More information on the scope of this year's Laboratory Course

Important information for Applicants


If you have a question and would like to contact the organizers, please be sure ONLY to use the following address: neutronlab@fz-juelich.de

Organization and Administration:

Administrative Support:

Frau Laura Kleebank


Scientific Organization:

Prof. Stephan Förster


Prof. Karen Friese


Dr. Margarita Kruteva


Prof. Dr. Mirijam Zobel


Dr. Reiner Zorn

Last Modified: 06.02.2024