Search

link to homepage

Institute of Energy and Climate Research

Navigation and service


Flexible solar cells

Flexible solar cells benefit from low weight, flexibility and versatility regarding shapes and sizes of the module. These advantages make flexible solar cells attractive for a broad field of applications, such as building integrated photovoltaics, clothing and mobile applications, which is due to their low weight and versatility regarding shapes and sizes of the module. Additionally, the possibility to use roll-to-roll fabrication additionally facilitates high throughput production for extensive large area modules. To reduce the cost of the device, inexpensive plastic substrates like transparent polyethylene terephthalate (PET) can be used. The research of our group focuses on the development of thin-film silicon solar cells on these flexible transparent PET substrates. As the substrate is temperature sensitive, all fabrication steps of the solar cell need to be compatible with temperatures below 140 °C. This demands new concepts for e.g. the texturing of the film substrates, which is needed to maintain light trapping in the solar cell and therefore improved performance of flexible devices can be achieved. Our light management concepts involve development and application of advanced nanoimprint method, allowing to replicate required textures on flexible substrates. Other topics of interest include investigations of the effects of mechanical strain (e.g. bending) on the solar cell performance, upscaling of the process as well as the feasibility for industrial applications, investigated in collaboration with other research groups and industrial partners.

Front-Cover-RRLThin film silicon solar cell on low-cost and flexible PET substrate with nano-imprint light-trapping structure.
Copyright: Phys. Status Solidi R 9, 215-219 (2015)

Publications:


K. Wilken, U. W. Paetzold, M. Meier, N. Prager, M. Fahland, F. Finger, and V. Smirnov, “Nanoimprint texturing of transparent flexible substrates for improved light management in thin-film solar cells,” Phys. status solidi - Rapid Res. Lett., vol. 4, pp. 215–219, Apr. 2015. [http://onlinelibrary.wiley.com/doi/10.1002/pssr.201510040/epdf]


K. Wilken, U.W. Paetzold, M. Meier, M. Smeets, N. Prager, M. Fahland, F. Finger and V. Smirnov, “Light Management in Flexible Thin-Film Solar Cells - The Role of Nanoimprinted Textures and Tilted Surfaces," IEEE Journal of Photovoltaics, DOI: 10.1109/JPHOTOV.2015.2470672 (accepted)

Contact:

Dipl.-Ing. Karen Wilken

Dr. Vladimir Smirnov


Servicemeu

Homepage

Suche

zur Hauptseite

Institut für Energie- und Klimaforschung

Navigation und Service


Flexible Solarzellen

Die Vorteile von flexiblen Solarzellen sind ihr geringes Gewicht, Flexibilität sowie die Herstellung von Modulen in verschiedensten Formen und Größen. Daraus ergibt sich ein breites Feld an Anwendungsmöglichkeiten, wie z.B. gebäudeintegrierte Photovoltaik, Bekleidung sowie mobile Anwendungen. Die Möglichkeit des Rolle-zu-Rolle-Prozesses bietet zusätzlich die Möglichkeit eines hohen Produktionsdurchsatzes für großflächige Module. Um die Kosten zu reduzieren, können möglichst günstige Plastiksubstrate, wie z.B. transparentes Polyethylenterephthalat (PET), verwendet werden. Die Arbeitsgruppe arbeitet an der Entwicklung von Solarzellen aus Dünnschichtsilizium auf diesen flexiblen PET Substraten. Aufgrund der Temperaturempfindlichkeit dieser Substrate müssen alle Herstellungsprozesse für die Solarzelle mit Temperaturen unterhalb 140 ° kompatibel sein. Dies erfordert neue Konzepte für z.B. die Texturierung der Foliensubstrate, die benötigt wird um Licht in der Solarzelle einzufangen und somit verbesserte Wirkungsgrade der flexiblen Bauteile zu erzielen. Unsere Konzepte für das Lichtmanagement beinhalten die Entwicklung und Anwendung der Nanoimprint-Methode, die es ermöglicht benötigte Texturen auf flexiblen Substraten zu reproduzieren. Weitere Themenfelder, die zusammen mit anderen Forschungsgruppen und Industriepartnern untersucht werden, sind die Einflüsse von mechanischen Belastungen (wie z.B. Biegung) auf die Solarzellenleistung, Hochskalierung der Prozesse sowie die Machbarkeit für industrielle Anwendungen.

Front-Cover-RRLDünnschicht-Silizium Solarzelle auf kostengünstigem, flexiblem PET Substrat mit Nano-Imprint Light-trapping Struktur.
Copyright: Wilken et al., Phys. Status Solidi R 9, 215-219 (2015)

Publikationen:


K. Wilken, U. W. Paetzold, M. Meier, N. Prager, M. Fahland, F. Finger, and V. Smirnov, “Nanoimprint texturing of transparent flexible substrates for improved light management in thin-film solar cells,” Phys. status solidi - Rapid Res. Lett., vol. 4, pp. 215–219, Apr. 2015. [http://onlinelibrary.wiley.com/doi/10.1002/pssr.201510040/epdf]


K. Wilken, U.W. Paetzold, M. Meier, M. Smeets, N. Prager, M. Fahland, F. Finger and V. Smirnov, “Light Management in Flexible Thin-Film Solar Cells - The Role of Nanoimprinted Textures and Tilted Surfaces," IEEE Journal of Photovoltaics, DOI: 10.1109/JPHOTOV.2015.2470672 (accepted)

Ansprechpartner:

Dipl.-Ing. Karen Wilken


Servicemenü

Homepage