Search

link to homepage

Institute of Energy and Climate Research

Navigation and service


UlTrace

Ultra Trace Species

In the atmosphere, chemical compounds (“species”) drive important processes  relevant for climate and stratospheric ozone although they are present at extremely low concentrations. Species with mixing ratios (https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Mixing_ratio) of tens of molecules per billion of air molecules (ppb= part ber billion, 10-9) and below are termed ultra trace species.

In order to improve predictions of the evolution of global climate and the ozone layer all relevant atmospheric chemical and micro-physical conversion processes of UlTrace species have to be correctly represented in climate models. Therefore, these  processes need to be identified, understood, and parameterized, which is only possible with extremely sensitive, precise and accurate measurements. In addition, satellite instruments require regular validation via in situ measurement techniques.

Therefore, our group is designing, building, and operating highly specialized instrumentation capable of quantifying a large range of Ultrace species on different atmospheric platforms and in the laboratory.

The senior group members also have long-standing high competence in organizing, conducting, and interpreting airborne and balloon borne field measurements and have been leading very successful EC and ERC research projects as well as international arctic and tropical aircraft field campaigns:

Contact: Dr. Fred Stroh


Servicemeu

Homepage

Suche

zur Hauptseite

Institut für Energie- und Klimaforschung

Navigation und Service


Ultrace

Ultra-Spurenstoffe

In der Atmosphäre können einige Spurengase trotz ihrer extrem geringen Konzentrationen klima-relevante Prozesse antreiben. Solche Stoffe mit Vorkommen von weniger als einigen zehn Molekülen pro Milliarde Luftmoleküle (ppb = part per billion, engl., 10-9) werden als Ultra-Spurenstoffe bezeichnet.

Um die zukünftige Entwicklung des globalen Klimas als auch der atmosphärischen Ozonschicht zuverlässig vorhersagen zu können, müssen alle relevanten chemischen und mikrophysikalischen Prozesse korrekt in unseren Klimamodellen abgebildet werden. Dazu müssen solche Prozesse der Ultra-Spurenstoffe identifiziert, verstanden und parametrisiert werden, was nur durch extrem empfindliche, zuverlässige und genaue Messungen ermöglicht wird. Ferner ist es notwendig, die Messungen von Satelliteninstrumenten durch Vergleiche mit In-Situ-Messgeräten (“direkte” Messung) zu validieren.

Hierzu entwickelt, baut und betreibt unsere Gruppe hoch-spezialisierte Instrumente, die in der Lage sind eine Vielzahl von Ultra-Spurenstoffen von unterschiedlichen atmosphärischen  Plattformen, wie Flugzeugen und Ballons, als auch im Laborbetrieb hochempfindlich und genau zu messen.

Im besonderen haben die leitenden Wissenschaftler auch lange und große Erfahrung in der Organisation, Durchführung und Interpretation von fluzeug- und ballon-getragenen Feldmessungen und haben sehr erfolgreiche EU-finanzierte Forschungsprojekte als auch internationale arktische und tropische Flugzeug-Meßkampagnen geleitet:

Ansprechpartner: Dr. Fred Stroh

Unser Team:

Zusatzinformationen



Instrumente:




AMICAAMICA


FunMassFunMass


HALOXHALOX


Servicemenü

Homepage