Navigation and service

The IBI's Divisions and Infrastructure

IBI-1-Institut

Molecular and Cellular Physiology (IBI-1)

IBI-1 investigates the mechanisms of molecular and cellular signal processing using modern methods from biochemistry, biophysics, and fluorescence microscopy. We study the properties of single molecules and proteins, cellular signal transduction as well as information processing in intact neuronal networks.

IBI-2

Mechanobiology (IBI-2)

IBI-2 is dedicated to the experimental study of the mechanobiology of living cells of animal and human origin. Our work focuses on the interplay of molecular architecture and mechanical properties, the interaction of cells with substrates and neighbouring cells, as well as the recognition and processing of mechanical signals by cells. These issues are of the utmost importance fro the production of biofunctional materials ("tissue engineering") and for the understanding of many physiological and pathological processes such as the development of the central nervous system, tissue degeneration in cadiovascular or skin diseases, and tumrourigenesis. For this research, modern methods of cell biophysics and molecular cell biology are applied and, if necessary, further developed.

IBI-3

Bioelectronics (IBI-3)

Our research is focused on bioelectronics, a field of research in the convergence of biology and electronics. In particular, we exploit biological materials and biological architectures for information processing systems and new devices which can be used as sensors, actuators, and biomedical devices. A key aspect is the interface between biological materials and electronics.

IBI-4

Biomacromolecular Systems and Processes (IBI-4)

We investigate the collective behaviour of systems consisting of interacting biomacromolecules, red blood cells, and novel thermosensitive DNA hybrid particles. Our aim is to gain a fundamental quantitative understanding of their phase and transport behaviour, and their biological functions. For this purpose, we analyse the systems for realistically high concentrations of their components under non-equilibrium conditions due to concentration and temperature gradients, flow, electric fields and spatial confinement. Our main research techniques are advanced microscopy and scattering methods, rheology and microfluidics, as well as theoretical methods and computer simulations.

IBI-5

Theoretical Physics of Living Matter (IBI-5/IAS-2)

We employ theory, modeling, and simulation to study and understand the structure, self-assembly, and dynamics of complex fluids, active soft matter, and living matter -- on the basis of physical principles.We focus on the investigation systems far from thermal equilibrium, in particular the collective behaviour of mesoscopic self-propelled objects as well as the flow behaviour of biofluids.

IBI-6

Cellular Structural Biology (IBI-6)

Our research aims to establish a fundamental, physics-based understanding of the function of bio-macromolecular systems. In this respect proteins and (protein based) macromolecular complexes, also within in their cellular context, are of particular interest for our research topics. We use and develop single-molecule techniques to study functional conformational changes of proteins, protein folding, and interactions of bio-macromolecules.

IBI-7

Structural Biochemistry (IBI-7)

The structure and dynamics of proteins as well as their interaction with ligands forms the main area of our research focus; we concentrate our investigations, therefore, on molecules which play an important role in fundamental cellular processes, in neurodegenerative diseases, or in viral infections.

IBI-8/JCNS-1

Neutron Scattering and Biological Matter (IBI-8/JCNS-1)

We investigate the structure and dynamics of soft matter using neutron scattering and complementary methods from molecular to macroscopic length and time scales, develop neutron scattering instruments and make them available to external researchers.

PGI/JCNS-TA / IBI-TA

Technical and Administrative Infrastructure (PGI/JCNS-TA and IBI-TA)

Our administrative staff provides advice and support in all matters concerning personnel, order processing, public relations and much more. Our engineers and mechanics work closely with scientists; our programmers and IT specialists offer technical advice, develop device drivers and control software as well as imaging techniques for real-time simulations.  IBI-4, -5, and -8 are all supported by the Technical Services and Administration department PGI/JCNS-TA. IBI-2 and -3 are supported by the Technischen und Administrativen Infrastruktur IBI-TA.

Navigation und Service

Die Teilinstitute des IBI und die "Technische und administrative Infrastruktur"

IBI-1-Institut

Molekular- und Zellphysiologie (IBI-1)

Das IBI-1 benutzt physikalische, biologische, mikroskopische und computergestützte Methoden, um die Mechanismen der molekularen und zellulären Signalverarbeitung zu verstehen - von den Eigenschaften einzelner Moleküle und Proteine über die zelluläre Signalwandlung bis zur Informationsverarbeitung in intakten neuronalen Netzwerken.

IBI-2

Mechanobiologie (IBI-2)

Das IBI-2 widmet sich der experimentellen Untersuchung der Mechanobiologie lebender Zellen tierischen und menschlichen Ursprungs. Im Zentrum der Arbeiten stehen das Wechselspiel von molekularer Architektur und mechanischen Eigenschaften, die Wechselwirkung von Zellen mit Substraten und benachbarten Zellen sowie die Erkennung und Verarbeitung mechanischer Signale durch Zellen. Diese Fragenkomplexe sind von größter Bedeutung für die Herstellung von biofunktionalen Materialien ("Tissue Engineering") sowie für das Verständnis vieler physiologischer und pathologischer Prozesse wie Entwicklung des Zentralnervensystems, Gewebsdegeneration bei Herz-Kreislauf- oder Hauterkrankungen und Tumorgenese. Für diese Forschungsaufgabe werden moderne Methoden der Zellbiophysik und molekularen Zellbiologie eingesetzt und bei Bedarf entwickelt.

IBI-3

Bioelektronik (IBI-3)

Wir forschen im Bereich der Bioelektronik, einem interdisziplinärem Wissenschaftsgebiet an der Schnittstelle von Biologie und Elektronik. Insbesondere nutzen wir biologische Materialien und biologische Architekturen für informationsverarbeitende Systeme und neue Anwendungen, wie z.B. Sensoren, Aktoren und biomedizinische Geräte. Ein Schlüsselaspekt bei unseren Forschungsaktivitäten ist das bessere Verständnis der Schnittstelle zwischen biologischen Materialien und Elektronik.

IBI-4

Biomakromolekulare Systeme und Prozesse (IBI-4)

Wir untersuchen das kollektive Verhalten von Systemen, die aus miteinander wechselwirkenden Biomakromolekülen, roten Blutkörperchen, oder neuartigen thermosensitiven DNA-Hybridteilchen bestehen, mit dem Ziel, ein grundlegendes quantitatives Verständnis ihres Phasen- und Transportverhaltens und ihrer biologischen Funktionen zu erlangen. Dazu analysieren wir die Systeme bei realistisch hohen Konzentrationen der Komponenten, unter Nicht-Gleichgewichts-Bedingungen, ausgelöst durch Konzentrations- und Temperaturgradienten, unter Einfluss von Scherströmungen, elektrischen Feldern sowie räumlichen Beschränkungen. Unsere wichtigsten Untersuchungsmethoden sind spezielle Mikroskopie- und Streutechniken, rheologische Messverfahren und Mikrofluidik sowie theoretische Methoden und Computersimulationen.

IBI-5

Theoretische Physik der Lebenden Materie (IBI-5/IAS-2)

Wir erforschen die Struktur und Dynamik von komplexen Flüssigkeiten, aktiver weicher Materie und biologischen Systemen mit theoretischen und numerischen Modellen und Methoden — auf der Basis physikalischer Prinzipien und Mechanismen. Im Vordergrund steht die Untersuchung und das Verständnis von Systemen fern des thermischen Gleichgewichts, insbesondere das kollektive Verhalten selbst-angetriebener mesoskopischer Objekte, aber auch von der Strömung von Biofluiden.

IBI-6

Zelluläre Strukturbiologie (IBI-6)

Mit unserer Forschung beabsichtigen wir ein fundamentales, physik-basiertes Verständnis über die Funktion von biologischen makromolekularen Systemen zu entwickeln. In diesem Zusammenhang sind Proteine und Protein-komplexe, auch in ihrem zellulären Kontext, von besonderer Bedeutung. Wir nutzen und entwickeln Einzelmolekülmethoden um funktionelle Konformationsänderungen in Proteinen, Proteinfaltung, und die Interaktion von Biomolekülen zu studieren.

Schmuck Protein NMR

Strukturbiochemie (IBI-7)

Wir untersuchen Struktur und Dynamik von Proteinen sowie deren Interaktion mit Liganden und konzentrieren uns dabei auf Moleküle, die eine wichtige Rolle bei grundlegenden zellulären Vorgängen, bei neurodegenerativen Erkrankungen oder bei viralen Infektionen spielen.

IBI-8/JCNS-1

Neutronenstreuung und biologische Materie (IBI-8/JCNS-1)

Wir untersuchen mit Hilfe von Neutronenstreuung und komplementären Methoden die Struktur und Dynamik weicher Materie von molekularen bis zu makroskopischen Längen- und Zeitskalen, entwickeln Neutronenstreuinstrumente und stellen Sie externen Forschern zur Verfügung.

PGI/JCNS-TA / IBI-TA

Technische und administrative Infrastruktur (PGI/JCNS-TA und IBI-TA)

Die Mitarbeiterinnen und Mitarbeiter der Verwaltung beraten und unterstützen in allen Belangen rund um Personalangelegenheiten, Bestellwesen, Öffentlichkeitsarbeit und mehr. Konstrukteure und Mechaniker arbeiten eng mit den Wissenschaftlern zusammen; Programmierer und IT-Spezialisten beraten und entwickeln Gerätetreiber und Steuerungssoftware genauso wie Bild gebende Verfahren für Echtzeit-Simulationen. Die Institutsbereiche 4, 5 und 8 des IBI werden von der Technischen und Administrativen Infrastruktur PGI/JCNS-TA betreut. Die Institutsbereiche 2 und 3 werden betreut von der Technischen und Administrativen Infrastruktur IBI-TA .