Navigation and service

Our Research Focus

IBI-1-Institut

Cell Signaling and Communication

"All complex functions of the human body require the communication between cells and cell networks. Our aim is to understand how cells generate electrical and chemical signals and how such signals are transmitted from one cell to the other, with particular interest into electrical signaling of neurons and synaptic transmission in the brain. We study cell signaling with biophysical methods, explore the function of ion channels and transporters with computational and experimental approaches, and analyze the impact of these transport processes for the cell function. By examining pathomechanisms underlying human diseases we seek to understand how altered cell signaling causes cell and organ dysfunction."

Prof. Christoph Fahlke (IBI-1)

IBI-2

Exploring the Mechanobiology of Cells

"We research the mechanobiology of living cells using modern methods of biophysics and cell biology, which we also improve upon, where necessary. We are interested in the mechanics of the cells themselves, how they move, adhere to their environment or exert forces on neighbouring cells. We are particularly interested in the question of how cells recognize mechanical signals from their environment and react to them, as this seems to be very important for the development of the body and for certain diseases. Mechanical interactions are essential for almost every function - whether of individual cells or entire organs. For example, they control the development of embryos and cell division."

Prof. Rudolf Merkel (IBI-2)

IBI-3

Nanocomponents Listen to Cell Signals

“We are interested in the connection between biological and electronic systems. We examine the molecular, cellular and electronic as well as electrochemical processes at this interface. This enables us to produce sensors that can detect even the tiniest amounts of pollutants or biochemical substances in the environment or in body fluids, or can even exchange signals with cells. With our methods, more compatible and highly sensitive implants may be developed in future that can be used to replace destroyed sensory cells.”

Prof. Andreas Offenhäusser (IBI-3)

IBI-4

Collective Phenomena in Biological Systems

“We investigate phenomena resulting from simultaneous interactions between many constituents, like biomacromolecules and red blood cells. We aim towards the microscopic understanding of dynamics, kinetics, and self-assembly, both in equilibrium and out-of-equilibrium, as well as and under the action of external stimuli.”

Prof. Jan Karel George Dhont (IBI-4)

IBI-5/IAS-2

Understanding Life in Motion

“The essential characteristics of living matter are activity and energy consumption. Living biological systems — and similarly active soft matter — are therefore persistently in a state far from thermal equilibrium. Which are the properties of active systems under such non-equilibrium conditions? What are the structures, dynamics, and collective behaviours, which develop in these processes? In order to address such key questions, we employ theoretical methods and run numerical simulations on supercomputers. The spectrum of our research covers systems from macromolecules* to cells and tissues. For example, we answer questions regarding the flow behaviour of blood cells, the dynamics of
microswimmers — such as bacteria, and the interaction of nanoparticles with membranes.”

Prof. Gerhard Gompper (IBI-5 and IAS-2)

IBI-6

Mechanisms of Protein Folding and Conformational Dynamics

“Proteins are synthesized on the ribosome as linear polypeptide chains and must first create their specific spatial structure (folding) before they can perform their function. How does the protein folding process work in detail? In general, synthesis and folding take place in parallel. In our work, we develop methods that allow us to apply force-based and fluorescence-based single-molecule techniques, in order to better understand the link between synthesis and the folding of proteins. We apply these techniques in particular to multi-domain proteins. We do not only study folding intermediates, but also the functional conformation dynamics of fully folded protein structures.”

Prof. Jörg Fitter (IBI-6)

IBI-7

Understanding Complex Interactions

“The function of each cell and each organism decisively depends on the dynamic interactions between biological macromolecules* and on their correct three-dimensional structure. Faulty interaction and incorrectly folded structures eventually lead to diseases and ageing. Our aim is to understand these interactions and to determine the three-dimensional structure of the protein complexes involved in decisive cellular processes – if possible, in atomic resolution. Beyond that, we develop novel methods for the early diagnosis and treatment of neurodegenerative diseases, with a strong focus on Alzheimer’s dementia.”

Prof. Dieter Willbold (IBI-7)

IBI-8/JCNS-1

Learning from Neutrons

“How do the properties and functions of soft materials depend on their internal structure and the local dynamics of their components? Investigations with neutron radiation help us answer this question and result in a fundamental understanding of the key mechanisms in soft matter self-assembly, plastics processing, membrane ion-conduction and protein folding. Neutrons provide us with information from molecular to macroscopic length and time scales allowing us to analyze and tailor properties of advanced synthetic and biomaterials.”

Prof. Stephan Förster (IBI-8 and JCNS-1)

Navigation und Service

Unsere Forschungsschwerpunkte

IBI-1-Institut

Zelluläre Informationsverarbeitung

"Alle komplexen Funktionen unseres Körpers erfordern die Kommunikation zwischen Zellen und Zellverbänden. Wir untersuchen die Bildung von elektrischen und chemischen Signalen in Zellen und ihre Weitergabe an andere Zellen. Wir benutzen dazu einen Multiskalenansatz, der von der Untersuchung der Funktion einzelner Moleküle mit einer Kombination aus experimentellen und computer-gestützten Verfahren bis zur Analyse von genetisch veränderten Tiermodellen mit modernen biophysikalischen Verfahren reicht. Die Untersuchung der Pathophysiologie menschlicher Erkrankungen erlaubt uns zu verstehen, wie Änderungen in der zellulären Signalbildung die Funktion von Zellen und Zellverbänden stören kann."

Prof. Christoph Fahlke (IBI-1)

IBI-2

Die Mechanobiologie von Zellen erforschen

„Wir erforschen die Mechanobiologie lebender Zellen mit modernen Methoden der Biophysik und Zellbiologie, die wir auch – falls notwendig – verbessern. Dabei interessieren wir uns für die Mechanik der Zellen selbst, wie sie sich fortbewegen, an ihrer Umgebung haften oder Kräfte auf Nachbarzellen ausüben. Besonders spannend finden wir die Frage, wie Zellen mechanische Signale aus ihrer Umgebung erkennen und auf diese reagieren, denn das scheint für die Entwicklung des Körpers und für manche Krankheiten sehr wichtig zu sein. Für nahezu jede Funktion – egal ob von einzelnen Zellen oder ganzen Organen – sind mechanische Wechselwirkungen essenziell. Sie steuern zum Beispiel die Entwicklung von Embryonen oder die Zellteilung.“

Prof. Rudolf Merkel (IBI-2)

IBI-3

Nanobauelemente hören auf Zellsignale

„Unser Interesse gilt der Verbindung zwischen biologischen und elektronischen Systemen. Hierbei untersuchen wir die molekularen, zellulären und elektronischen sowie elektrochemischen Vorgänge an dieser Schnittstelle. Dies ermöglicht uns die Herstellung von Sensoren, die schon sehr geringe Mengen von Schadstoffen oder biochemischen Substanzen in der Umwelt oder in Körperflüssigkeiten aufspüren oder sogar Signale mit Zellen austauschen können. Mit unseren Methoden könnten in Zukunft auch verträglichere und hochsensible Implantate entstehen, die zerstörte Sinneszellen ersetzen.“

Prof. Andreas Offenhäusser (IBI-3)

IBI-4

Kollektive Phänomene in Biologischen Systemen

„Wir erforschen Phänomene, die aufgrund von gleichzeitigen Wechselwirkungen zwischen vielen Teilchen, wie Biomakromolekülen und roten Blutkörperchen, auftreten. Wir wollen die Dynamik, die Kinetik und die Selbstorganisation dieser Systeme auf makromolekularem Niveau quantitativ verstehen, sowohl im Gleichgewicht und im Ungleichgewicht als auch unter dem Einfluss äußerer Stimuli.“

Prof. Jan Karel George Dhont (IBI-4)

IBI-5/IAS-2

Der Dynamik lebender Materie auf der Spur

„Die wesentlichen Charakteristika lebender Materie sind Aktivität und Energieverbrauch. Lebende biologische Systeme — und ebenso aktive weiche Materie — befinden sich deshalb ständig fern des thermischen Gleichgewichts. Welche Eigenschaften haben aktive Systeme unter solchen Bedingungen? Welche Strukturen, welche Dynamik, und welches kollektives Verhalten entwickelt sich dabei? Zur Beantwortung solcher Schlüsselfragen verwenden wir theoretische Methoden und numerische Simulationsverfahren auf Hochleistungscomputern. Das Forschungsspektrum reicht von der Nanotechnologie bis hin zu biologischen Systemen wie Zellen und Geweben. So beantworten wir die Fragen nach dem Fließverhalten von Blutzellen, der Dynamik von Mikroschwimmern – wie zum Beispiel Bakterien – und der Wechselwirkung von Nanoteilchen mit Membranen.“

Prof. Gerhard Gompper (IBI-5 und IAS-2)

IBI-6

Mechanismen der Proteinfaltung und der Konformationsdynamik

„Proteine werden am Ribosom als lineare Polypeptidkette synthetisiert und müssen erst ihre spezifische Raumstruktur herstellen (Faltung) bevor sie ihre Funktion ausführen können.Wie funktioniert der Prozess der Proteinfaltung im Detail? Im Allgemeinen laufen Synthese und Faltung parallel ab. In unseren Arbeiten entwickeln wir Methoden, welche es uns ermöglichen kraftbasierte und fluoreszenzbasierte Einzelmolekültechniken anzuwenden, um die Kopplung zwischen Synthese und Faltung von Proteinen besser zu verstehen. Wir wenden diese Techniken insbesondere für Multidomänen Proteine an. Dabei untersuchen wir nicht nur Faltungsintermediate, sondern auch die funktionelle Konformationsdynamik vollständig gefalteter Proteinstrukturen.“

Prof. Jörg Fitter (IBI-6)

IBI-7

Komplexe Interaktionen verstehen

„Die Funktion jeder Zelle und jedes Organismus hängt entscheidend von den dynamischen Interaktionen zwischen biologischen Makromolekülen* und ihrer korrekten dreidimensionalen Struktur ab. Fehlerhafte Interaktionen und fehlgefaltete Strukturen führen letztlich zu Krankheit und Alterung. Unser Ziel ist es, diese Wechselwirkungen zu verstehen und die dreidimensionalen Strukturen der an entscheidenden zellulären Prozessen beteiligten Protein-Komplexe möglichst in atomarer Auflösung zu bestimmen. Darüber hinaus entwickeln wir neuartige Verfahren zur Früherkennung und zur Therapie neurodegenerativer Erkrankungen mit einem starkem Fokus auf der Alzheimer’ schen Demenz.“

Prof. Dieter Willbold (IBI-7)

IBI-8/JCNS-1

Lernen von Neutronen

„Wie hängen die Eigenschaften und Funktionen makromolekularer* Materialien von ihrer inneren Struktur und lokalen Dynamik ihrer Bausteine ab? Untersuchungen mit Neutronenstrahlen helfen uns, diese Fragen zu beantworten, und führen zu einem grundlegenden Verständnis der Schlüsselmechanismen bei der Selbstorganisation weicher Materialien, der Kunststoffverarbeitung, der Ionenleitung in Membranen oder der Proteinfaltung. Neutronen liefern Informationen von molekularem bis zu makroskopischen Längen- und Zeitskalen und erlauben so eine Analyse und Kontrolle der Eigenschaften moderner synthetischer und biologischer Materialien. “

Prof. Stephan Förster (IBI-8 and JCNS-1)