Navigation and service

Selected Offers and Areas of Expertise

How do complex liquids and soft matter behave under the influence of external forces? How dependent are the properties and functions of macromolecular materials, such as starch or protein molecules, on their inner structure and molecular processes? We attempt to answer these and other challenging questions which span the fields of physics, chemistry and biology.

To this end, we develop and employ a wide range of the most advanced instruments, experimental approaches and theoretical methods for our research. In collaborations with leading research facilities and companies in industry, we are able to share our knowledge and also pass it on to the next generation of young scientists in the form of lectures, study programmes and summer schools.

Below, you can find a selection of the facilities, activities and educational events on offer. Further details are given on the websites of the individual institutes.

Methods and Infrastructure

Schmuck Protein NMR

Biomolecular NMR Centre

The Biomolecular NMR Centre of IBI-7 and the Institute of Physical Biology at the Heinrich Heine University Düsseldorf Heinrich-Heine-Universität Düsseldorf , with its high field NMR spectrometers for fluid and solid state NMR spectroscopy, offers excellent opportunities for research into structural biology on biologically and medically-relevant proteins, such as the identification of high-resolution, three-dimensional structures.

Administrative_Staff_at_Work

Serving science, side by side

Our administrative staff provides advice and support in all matters concerning personnel, order processing, public relations and much more. Our engineers and mechanics work closely with scientists; our programmers and IT specialists offer technical advice, develop device drivers and control software as well as imaging techniques for real-time simulations.  IBI-4, -5, and -8 are all supported by the Technical Services and Administration department PGI/JCNS-TA. IBI-2 and -3 are supported by the Technical and Administrative Infrastructure IBI-TA.

JCNS Neutron Scattering Instrument

Jülich Center of Neutron Science (JCNS)

We develop and operate neutron scattering instruments at some of the best neutron sources worldwide: FRM-II (Garching), ILL (Grenoble), SNS (Oak Ridge) and in the future at the European Spallation Source ESS (Lund). Our research focus areas are “soft matter and biophysics”, “correlated electron systems and nanomagnetism” and “energy materials”. Within these areas of expertise we offer expert support at world-class neutron instruments including a specialized sample environment and ancillary laboratory access for external users from science and industry.

Synchrotron X-ray Instrument

Synchrotron Scattering

We use synchrotron X-ray beamlines at the storage rings PETRA-III (Hamburg) and ESRF (Grenoble) to determine the structure of soft materials and proteins. We develop specialized sample environments including shear cells and microfluidic devices together with in-situ spectroscopic techniques for fast time-resolved in-situ X-ray scattering experiments.

Helmholtz Nano Facility (HNF) Building

Helmholtz Nanoelectronic Facility (HNF)

The Helmholtz Nanoelectronic Facility (HNF) at the Forschungszentrum Jülich is a state of the art clean room facility with 1000 m2 clean room space DIN ISO 1-3 and forms the central technological platform for nanoelectronics with an emphasis on “green microchips/computing”, quantum- and neuromorphic computing, bioelectronics and microfluidics in the Helmholtz Association.

Helmholtz Nano Facility (HNF)

JUQUEEN system

Jülich Supercomputing Center (JSC)

The Jülich Supercomputing Center (JSC) operates supercomputers of the highest performance class, which enable scientists and engineers to solve highly complex problems by simulations. The institute IBI and the program BioSoft benefit enormously from the high-performance computing facilities of JSC and the periodic performance upgrades. Many of the simulation activities, ranging from molecular dynamics simulations of proteins to mesoscale simulations of complex fluids and active systems, require large computer resources due to the large number of degrees of freedom, the large number of interacting components, and the wide range of relevant time scales. For example, JSC’s simulation lab on molecular systems offers a code for efficient computation of long-distance interactions that is highly beneficial for simulating soft matter systems with electrostatic contributions. In addition, the computer department of the Peter-Grünberg Institute (PGI) operates CPU and GPU clusters for the three theory groups PGI-1, PGI-2, and IBI-5. These clusters are ideally suited for medium-size simulations with optimized software. (JSC)

Collaborations

Softcomp Logo

Softcomp

Softcomp started out as a Network of Excellence (NoE), supported by the EU with the aim of creating a sound knowledge base for the intelligent design of functional composite soft matter materials on the nanoscale.
More

EUSMI Logo

EUSMI

EUSMI (European Soft Matter Infrastructure) is the European infrastructure project for soft matter (in the Horizon 2020 EU program), is coordinated by IBI-4. A total of fifteen European partners pool their facilities for undertaking physical studies on soft matter, for developing and synthesizing new materials and computer simulations, and will make this infrastructure available to external scientists for their research work.
More

Educational Programmes and Events

IHRS BioSoft Logo

International Helmholtz Research School of Biophysics and Soft Matter

The International Helmholtz Research School of Biophysics and Soft Matter (IHRS BioSoft) offers excellent research opportunities for students working on their doctoral thesis.
More

IFF Spring School participants with Electron Miscroscope

IFF Spring School

The Spring Schools organized in Jülich for young scientists have been a regular event for more than 50 years, with a changing focal point each year featuring up-to-the-minute research taken from solid state physics, so-called “soft matter” physics, and biophysics.
More

JSMD2012_Key-Visual

Jülich Soft Matter Days

Central to these annual workshops are varying topics from soft matter research at the interface of physics, chemistry, biology and the life sciences.

More: Jülich Soft Matter Days …

Navigation und Service

Ausgewählte Einrichtungen und Angebote

Wie verhalten sich komplexe Flüssigkeiten und weiche Materie unter dem Einfluss äußerer Kräfte? Wie hängen die Eigenschaften und Funktionen makromolekularer Materialien, etwa Stärke- oder Eiweißmoleküle, von ihrer inneren Struktur und den Bewegungen ihrer Bausteine ab? Wir suchen Antworten auf  diese und andere spannenden Fragen im Grenzgebiet von Physik, Chemie und Biologie.

Dafür entwickeln und nutzen wir eine breite Auswahl fortschrittlichster Instrumente, experimenteller Ansätze und theoretischer Methoden für die Forschung. In Kooperationen mit führenden Forschungseinrichtungen und Industrieunternehmen tauschen wir unser Wissen aus und geben es im Rahmen von Vorträgen sowie Ferienschulen und -kursen an den wissenschaftlichen Nachwuchs weiter.

Nachfolgend finden Sie ausgewählte Einrichtungen, Aktivitäten und Angebote. Weitere führen wir auf den Webseiten der Institutsbereiche auf.

Methoden und Infrastruktur

Schmuck Protein NMR

Biomolekulares NMR-Zentrum

Das Biomolekulare NMR-Zentrum des IBI-7 und des Instituts für Physikalische Biologie der Heinrich-Heine-Universität Düsseldorf ermöglicht mit seinen Höchst- und Hochfeld-NMR-Spektrometern für Flüssig- und Festkörper-NMR-Spektroskopie hervorragende Bedingungen für die strukturbiologische Forschung an biologisch und medizinisch relevanten Proteinen, wie beispielsweise die Bestimmung der hochaufgelösten dreidimensionalen Struktur.

Administrative_Staff_at_Work

Partner der Wissenschaft

Die Mitarbeiterinnen und Mitarbeiter der Verwaltung beraten und unterstützen in allen Belangen rund um Personalangelegenheiten, Bestellwesen, Öffentlichkeitsarbeit und mehr. Konstrukteure und Mechaniker arbeiten eng mit den Wissenschaftlern zusammen; Programmierer und IT-Spezialisten beraten und entwickeln Gerätetreiber und Steuerungssoftware genauso wie Bild gebende Verfahren für Echtzeit-Simulationen.   Die Institutsbereiche 4, 5 und 8 des IBI werden von der Technischen und Administrativen Infrastruktur PGI/JCNS-TA betreut. Die Institutsbereiche 2 und 3 werden betreut von der Technischen und Administrativen Infrastruktur IBI-TA .

JCNS Neutron Scattering Instrument

Jülich Center of Neutron Science (JCNS)

Wir entwickeln und betreiben Neutronenstreuinstrumente an einigen der besten Neutronenquellen weltweit: FRM-II (Garching), ILL (Grenoble), SNS (Oak Ridge) und zukünftig an der Europäischen Spallationsquelle ESS (Lund). Innerhalb unserer Forschungsschwerpunkte „Weiche Materie und Biophysik“, „Korrelierte Elektronensysteme und Nano-Magnetismus“ und „Energiematerialien“ ermöglichen wir Forschern aus Wissenschaft und Industrie, weltweit führende Neutroneninstrumente einschließlich spezialisierter Probenumgebung und ergänzender Labors zu nutzen, unterstützt durch unsere Experten.

Synchrotron X-ray Instrument

Synchrotronstreuung

Wir verwenden Synchrotron-Röntgen-Beamlines an den Speicherringen PETRA-III (Hamburg) und ESRF (Grenoble) um die Struktur von weichen Materialien und Proteinen zu bestimmen. Wir entwickeln spezielle Probenumgebungen wie Scherzellen und Mikrofluidik-Aufbauten zusammen mit in-situ Spektroskopie-Methoden zur Durchführung schneller zeitaufgelöster Röntgenstreuexperimente.

Helmholtz Nano Facility (HNF) Building

Helmholtz Nano Facility (HNF)

Die Helmholtz Nano Facility (HNF) am Forschungszentrum Jülich ist eine state-of-the art Reinraumfacility mit 1000 m2 Reinraum der Klassen ISO 1-3 und eine zentrale Technologieplattform für die Herstellung von Strukturen und Devices für die Schwerpunkte „Green Mikrochips/Computing“, Quantencomputing und Neuromorphic Computing, sowie Bioelektronik und Mikrofluidik in der Helmholtz-Gemeinschaft.

Helmholtz Nano Facility (HNF)

JUQUEEN system

Jülich Supercomputing Center (JSC)

Das Jülich Supercomputing Center (JSC) betreibt Supercomputer der höchsten Leistungsklasse, mit denen Wissenschaftler und Ingenieure hochkomplexe Probleme durch Simulationen lösen können. Das Institut IBI und das Programm BioSoft profitieren enorm von den Hochleistungsrechenanlagen des JSC und den periodischen Leistungssteigerungen. Viele der Simulationsaktivitäten, von Moleküldynamiksimulationen von Proteinen bis zu mesoskaligen Simulationen komplexer Fluide und aktiver Systeme, erfordern aufgrund der großen Anzahl an Freiheitsgraden, der großen Anzahl an interagierenden Komponenten und der großen Bandbreite relevanter Zeitskalen große Computerressourcen. Das JSC-Simulationslabor bietet beispielsweise einen Code für die effiziente Berechnung von Ferninteraktionen für molekulare Systeme, der sich sehr vorteilhaft für die Simulation von Systemen weicher Materie mit elektrostatischen Beiträgen eignet. Darüber hinaus betreibt die Computerabteilung des Peter Grünberg Instituts (PGI) CPU- und GPU-Cluster für die drei Theoriegruppen PGI-1, PGI-2 und IBI-5. Diese Cluster eignen sich ideal für Simulationen mittlerer Größe mit optimierter Software. (JSC)

Kooperationen

Softcomp Logo

Softcomp

Softcomp begann als Network of Excellence (NoE), unterstützt von der EU, mit dem Ziel, eine fundierte Wissensbasis für das intelligente Design von funktionellen Verbundwerkstoffen aus Weicher Materie im Nanobereich zu schaffen.
Mehr

EUSMI Logo

EUSMI

EUSMI (European Soft Matter Infrastructure), das
europäische Infrastrukturprojekt für Weiche Materie, wird vom IBI-4 koordiniert.
Mehr

Lehre und Veranstaltungen

IHRS BioSoft Logo

International Helmholtz Research School of Biophysics and Soft Matter

Die International Helmholtz Research School of Biophysics and Soft Matter (IHRS BioSoft) bietet ausgezeichnete Forschungsmöglichkeiten für Doktorarbeiten.  Mehr

IFF Spring School participants with Electron Miscroscope

IFF-Ferienschule

Die Jülicher Ferienschule für junge Wissenschaftlerinnen und Wissenschaftlern wird seit mehr als 50 Jahren veranstaltet, jedes Jahr mit einem wechselnden aktuellen Schwerpunktthema aus der Festkörperphysik, der Physik der sogenannten „Weichen Materie“ und der Biophysik.
Mehr

JSMD2012_Key-Visual

Jülich Soft Matter Days

Im Mittelpunkt des einmal jährlich durchgeführten Workshops stehen wechselnde Themen der Weiche Materie-Forschung an der Schnittstelle von Physik, Chemie, Biologie und den Lebenswissenschaften.

Mehr: Jülich Soft Matter Days …