PICO 2019 Frontiers of Aberration Corrected Electron Microscopy

06-10 May 2019

The Fifth Conference on Frontiers of Aberration Corrected Electron Microscopy – PICO 2019 – will be held from 6 to 10 May 2019 in Kasteel Vaalsbroek. The meeting will address recent advances in methods and applications for the study of structural and electronic properties of condensed matter by the application of advanced transmission electron microscopy techniques in solid state research and the life sciences.


PICO 2019 is scheduled to take place again in Kasteel Vaalsbroek located at the borders of Belgium, Germany and the Netherlands. Topical issues of advanced electron microscopy research will be highlighted in keynote presentations given by leading invited speakers plus further poster presentations from the wider scientific community.

Confirmed speakers include Bettina Böttcher (Würzburg), Christian Colliex (Orsay), Javier Garcia de Abajo (Barcelona), Kay Grünewald (Hamburg), Niko Grigorieff (Ashburn), Lothar Houben (Rehovot), Archie Howie (Cambridge), Ute Kaiser (Ulm), Mathieu Kociak (Orsay), Jani Kotakoski (Vienna), Ondrej Krivanek (Kirkland), Michael Lehmann (Berlin), Hannes Lichte (Dresden), Axel Lubk (Dresden), Molly McCartney (Tempe), Knut Müller-Caspary (Jülich), Peter Nellist (Oxford), Eva Olsson (Gothenburg), Steve Pennycook (Singapore), Peter Peters (Maastricht), Jürgen Plitzko (Martinsried), Quentin Ramasse (Daresbury), John Rodenburg (Sheffield), Harald Rose (Ulm), Chris Russo (Cambridge), David Smith (Tempe), Odile Stephan (Orsay), Kazu Suenaga (Tsukuba), Sandra Van Aert (Antwerp), Jo Verbeeck (Antwerp), Florian Winkler (Jülich), Nestor Zaluzec (Argonne), and Xiaoyan Zhong (Bejing).

PICO 2019 will also honour the scientific careers of three pioneers of transmission electron microscopy in solid state research. A special colloquium will be devoted to honour the achievements of Christian Colliex and Hannes Lichte as well as Archie Howie celebrating their 75th and 85th birthdays in 2019, respectively. PICO 2019 will be organised by the Ernst Ruska-Centre in Aachen and Jülich.


Letzte Änderung: 14.03.2022