Tasso Springer Fellowship Program

The “Tasso Springer Fellowship Program” is named after the outstanding neutron scientist Prof. Dr. Tasso Springer*. His career in neutron scattering began at the FRM in Garching before he was appointed Director at the Kernforschungsanlage Jülich, now Forschungszentrum Jülich. As chairman of the scientific advisory board, he massively supported the realization of the new research neutron source FRM II in Garching from Jülich. From 1977 to 1982 he was Director of the Institute Laue-Langevin in Grenoble. Thus the name “Tasso Springer” stands for the historically grown connection between Jülich, Garching and Grenoble in the field of research with neutrons, the cornerstone of the Jülich Centre for Neutron Science.

The program has two main thrusts:

  1. as PhD fellowship it aims to educate the next generation of outstanding neutron science researchers;
  2. as Post-doctoral fellowship it gives early career researchers the opportunity to further develop their scientific excellence.

The following people currently hold the prestigious Tasso Springer Fellowship:

*deceased, 2017

Last Modified: 23.04.2024