Search

link to homepage

Institute of Neuroscience and Medicine
(leer)

Navigation and service


BigBrain Project

Reference brains are indispensable tools in brain mapping, enabling integration of multimodal data into anatomically realistic standard space. However available reference brains are limited to macroscopic scale and therefore do not provide information on functionally relevant microscopic dimension. Within the scope of international cooperation with Prof. Alan Evans from the Montreal Neurological Institute (MNI) of the McGill University in Montreal a 3D modell of a human brain in extremely high resolution has been developed. This so far unique reconstruction was carried on the basis of 7404 digitalized histological cuts. „BigBrain“ is a free tool and offers matchless neuroanatomical insight as well as the possibility to verify hypotheses.

Big Brain

The Human Brain Project (HBP) integrates Big Brain as a part of the HBP Human Brain Atlas, and provides an interactive Online-Viewer at https://bigbrain.humanbrainproject.org. The dataset of approx. 1 Terabyte is available for download at http://bigbrain.loris.ca.

For detailed information please see the original publication.

Amunts, K., Lepage, C., Borgeat, L., Mohlberg, H., Dickscheid, T., Rousseau, M., Bludau, S., Bazin, P., Lewis, L., Oros-Peusquens, A., Shah, N., Lippert, T., Zilles, K., Evans, A., 2013. BigBrain - an ultra-high resolution 3D human brain model. Science Vol. 340 no. 6139 pp. 1472-1475

Helmholtz International BigBrain Analytics and Learning Laboratory

The German-Canadian Helmholtz International Lab HIBALL will intensify the collaboration of Neuroscientist and AI experts around Alan Evans at McGill University in Canada and Katrin Amunts at Forschungszentrum Jülich (FZJ) in Germany and will develop the next generation multimodal 3D brain models at unmatched spatial resolution in close cooperation with CIFAR and MILA in Canada as well as Helmholtz AI in Germany, using novel deep learning methods and the latest supercomputing architectures to analyze neuroscientific data in the petabyte range. The lab will establish infrastructure solutions for sharing and analyzing large imaging data that are interoperable with the services of the large brain initiatives, most notable the HBP and the Canadian Healthy Brains for Healthy Lives initiative (HBHL).

HIBALL is funded for a period of 5 years with a total budget of 6 million euros by the Helmholtz Association and the Canadian partners. From April 2020, the successful collaboration around the open, high-resolution human brain model "BigBrain" between the institutes of Alan Evans and Katrin Amunts will enter a new phase and enable the development of a digital, 3D atlas of the human brain at cellular level.

Project webpage: HIBALL

Big Brain Logos

Additional Information

BigBrain Project

Big Brain

HIBALL



Contact:

Prof. Dr. med. Katrin Amunts

Building: 15.9, Room: 3022

Tel.:  +49-2461-61-4300
Fax: +49-2461-61-3483
k.amunts@fz-juelich.de

and

C. and O. Vogt-Intitut for Brain Research
University Hospital Düsseldorf
Moorenstraße 5
40225 Düsseldorf

Buidling: 22.03, Floor: 05, Room: 39

Tel.:  +49-211-81-12777
Fax: +49-211-81-12336
katrin.amunts@uni-duesseldorf.de



Alan C. Evans, Ph.D

McGill Centre for Integrative Neuroscience (MCIN)

Montreal Neurological Institute (MNI)

3801 University Street
Montreal, Quebec, Canada
H3A 2B4


Servicemeu

Homepage

Suche

zur Hauptseite

Institut für Neurowissenschaften und Medizin
(leer)

Navigation und Service


BigBrain Projekt

Referenz-Gehirne sind unverzichtbare Werkzeuge im Bereich des Human Brain Mappings, da sie die Integration multimodaler Daten in einen anatomisch realistischen Standardraum ermöglichen. Verfügbare Referenz-Gehirne sind jedoch auf eine makroskopische Größenordnung beschränkt und liefern keine Informationen zur funktionell relevanten mikroskopischen Dimension. Im Rahmen einer internationalen Kooperation mit Prof. Alan Evans vom Montreal Neurological Institute (MNI) der McGill University in Montreal wurde ein extrem hoch aufgelöstes 3D-Modell eines menschlichen Gehirns erstellt. Diese bis dato einzigartige Rekonstruktion erfolgte auf der Grundlage von 7404 digitalisierten histologischen Schnitten. "BigBrain" ist ein kostenloses Tool und bietet eine beispiellose neuroanatomische Einsicht sowie die Möglichkeit der Prüfung von Hypothesen.

Big Brain

Das Human Brain Project (HBP) integriert Big Brain als Teil des HBP Human Brain Atlas, und stellt unter https://bigbrain.humanbrainproject.org einen interaktiven Online-Viewer bereit. Der 1 Terabyte große Datensatz selbst ist unter http://bigbrain.loris.ca als Download verfügbar.


noPlaybackVideo

DownloadVideo

Detailierte inhaltliche und methodische Informationen entnehmen Sie bitte der Originialpublikation.

Amunts, K., Lepage, C., Borgeat, L., Mohlberg, H., Dickscheid, T., Rousseau, M., Bludau, S., Bazin, P., Lewis, L., Oros-Peusquens, A., Shah, N., Lippert, T., Zilles, K., Evans, A., 2013. BigBrain - an ultra-high resolution 3D human brain model. Science Vol. 340 no. 6139 pp. 1472-1475

Helmholtz International BigBrain Analytics and Learning Laboratory

Das deutsch-kanadische Helmholtz International Lab HIBALL wird diese erfolgreiche Kooperation weiter vorantreiben und in enger Zusammenarbeit mit CIFAR und MILA in Kanada sowie Helmholtz AI hochdetaillierte 3D-Gehirnmodelle entwickeln und dafür neuartige Deep Learning Methoden und neueste Supercomputing-Architekturen zur Analyse neurowissenschaftlicher Daten im Petabyte-Bereich verwenden. In Zusammenarbeit mit kanadischen und europäischen Initiativen, wie dem HBP und dem kanadischen Healthy Brains for Healthy Lives (HBHL) werden interoperable BigBrain-Infrastrukturlösungen für Europa und Kanada entwickelt und damit eine nachhaltige, transkontinentale Forschungsplattform zur Berechnung des Gehirns aufgebaut.


HIBALL wird für die Dauer von 5 Jahren mit einem Gesamtbudget von 6 Mio Euro von der Helmholtz Gemeinschaft und den kanadischen Partnern gefördert. Seit April 2020 kann damit die langjährige, äußerst erfolgreiche Zusammenarbeit zwischen den Instituten von Katrin Amunts am Forschungszentrum Jülich (FZJ) und Alan Evans an der McGill University in Kanada in eine neue Phase eintreten und die Entwicklung eines digitalen, 3-D Atlas des menschlichen Gehirns auf zellulärer Auflösungsstufe ermöglichen.


Projektwebseite: HIBALL

Big Brain Logos

Zusatzinformationen

BigBrain Projekt

Big Brain

HIBALL



Ansprechpartner:

Prof. Dr. med. Katrin Amunts

Gebäude: 15.9, Raum: 3022

Tel.:  +49-2461-61-4300
Fax: +49-2461-61-3483
k.amunts@fz-juelich.de

und

C. und O. Vogt-Institut für Hirnforschung
Universitätsklinikum Düsseldorf
Moorenstraße 5
40225 Düsseldorf

Gebäude: 22.03, Ebene: 05, Raum: 39

Tel.:  +49-211-81-12777
Fax: +49-211-81-12336



Alan C. Evans, Ph.D

McGill Centre for Integrative Neuroscience (MCIN)

Montreal Neurological Institute (MNI)

3801 University Street
Montreal, Quebec, Canada
H3A 2B4


Servicemenü

Homepage