Plant Sciences (IBG-2)

RESEARCH THEMES

Root Dynamics

Plants obtain water and mineral nutrients through their roots, and thus roots sustain global biomass productivity. Understanding and improving root development and function in the soil directly impacts the efforts to develop more resource efficient and high yielding plants and agricultural systems.

More
Shoot Dynamics

We aim to improve our scientific (biological) understanding of plant shoot functioning and dynamic shoot traits from the leaf to the canopy, which will provide the basis to optimize plant production. Our special focus is on understanding of the regulatory properties of photosynthesis, the mechanisms of leaf and canopy water content and transpiration as well as the dynamics in shoot architecture in crops.

More
Alternative Biomass

The Alternative Biomass group develops biomass production systems in close collaboration with the biomass conversion and downstream processes in biorefineries. Besides the optimization of quality and yield of biomass, we try to minimize competition for land and resources as well as the environmental impact. The targeted development towards innovative, biomass-based products, generates new opportunities for novel value networks for a sustainable Bioeconomy While alternative biomass crops have mostly been grown for bioenergy purposes over the last decades, we focus on developing novel, value-adding products in combination with targeted circular processes in systemic approaches including production, conversion and recycling.

More
Jülich Plant Phenotyping Center

We focus on the application and development of high-throughput, non-invasive phenotyping methods for screening of plant shoot and root productivity traits.

More
Enabling Technologies

We are focussing on the development and application of technologies that enable in-depth as well as high throughput measurements of plant traits.

More
Bioökonomie

The Rhenish coalfield is undergoing a structural transformation from a heavily lignite-based economy to a more sustainable future, the bioeconomy. This transformation is accompanied by the transformation of an entire region, which is characterised by unique opportunities but also challenges. In order for the regional transformation to succeed, numerous projects are being launched. The research group defined in IBG-2 summarises the project activities.

More

Plants obtain water and mineral nutrients through their roots, and thus roots sustain global biomass productivity. Understanding and improving root development and function in the soil directly impacts the efforts to develop more resource efficient and high yielding plants and agricultural systems.

More
NETWORKS & PARTNERSHIPS

Pflanzenwissenschaften (IBG-2)

FORSCHUNGSBEREICHE

Root Dynamics

Pflanzen beziehen Wasser und mineralische Nährstoffe über ihre Wurzeln, und somit tragen Wurzeln zur globalen Biomasseproduktivität bei. Das Verständnis und die Verbesserung der Wurzelentwicklung und -funktion im Boden wirken sich unmittelbar auf die Bemühungen um die Entwicklung ressourceneffizienterer und ertragreicherer Pflanzen und landwirtschaftlicher Systeme aus.

Mehr
Shoot Dynamics

Unser Ziel ist es, unser wissenschaftliches (biologisches) Verständnis der Funktionsweise von Pflanzentrieben und der dynamischen Eigenschaften von Trieben vom Blatt bis zum Kronendach zu verbessern, was die Grundlage für eine Optimierung der Pflanzenproduktion bilden wird. Unser besonderer Schwerpunkt liegt auf dem Verständnis der regulatorischen Eigenschaften der Photosynthese, der Mechanismen des Blatt- und Kronenwassergehalts und der Transpiration sowie der Dynamik der Sprossarchitektur bei Nutzpflanzen.

Mehr
Alternative Biomass

Die Gruppe Alternative Biomasse entwickelt Biomasseproduktionssysteme in enger Zusammenarbeit mit der Biomassekonversion und nachgelagerten Prozessen in Bioraffinerien. Neben der Optimierung von Qualität und Ausbeute der Biomasse versuchen wir, die Konkurrenz um Land und Ressourcen sowie die Auswirkungen auf die Umwelt zu minimieren. Die gezielte Entwicklung innovativer, auf Biomasse basierender Produkte schafft neue Möglichkeiten für neuartige Wertschöpfungsnetzwerke für eine nachhaltige Bioökonomie. Während alternative Biomassepflanzen in den letzten Jahrzehnten hauptsächlich für Bioenergiezwecke angebaut wurden, konzentrieren wir uns auf die Entwicklung neuartiger, wertschöpfender Produkte in Kombination mit gezielten Kreislaufprozessen in systemischen Ansätzen, die Produktion, Umwandlung und Recycling umfassen.

Mehr
Jülich Plant Phenotyping Center

Wir konzentrieren uns auf die Anwendung und Entwicklung von nicht-invasiven Phänotypisierungsmethoden mit hohem Durchsatz für das Screening von Produktivitätsmerkmalen von Pflanzensprossen und Wurzeln.

Mehr
Enabling Technologies

Wir setzen unseren Schwerpunkt auf die Entwicklung und Anwendung von Technologien, die sowohl Tiefen- als auch Hochdurchsatzmessungen von Pflanzenmerkmalen ermöglichen.

Mehr
Strategische Projekte

Das Rheinische Revier befindet sich im strukturellen Wandel von einer stark auf Braunkohle ausgerichteten Wirtschaft zu einer nachhaltigeren Zukunft, der Bioökonomie. Mit diesem Wandel geht die Umgestaltung einer ganzen Region einher, die sich durch einzigartige Möglichkeiten, aber auch Herausforderungen auszeichnet. Damit die regionale Transformation gelingen kann, werden zahlreiche Projekt auf den Weg gebracht. Die im IBG-2 definierte Forschungsgruppe fasst die Projektaktivitäten zusammen.

Mehr

Pflanzen beziehen Wasser und mineralische Nährstoffe über ihre Wurzeln, und somit tragen Wurzeln zur globalen Biomasseproduktivität bei. Das Verständnis und die Verbesserung der Wurzelentwicklung und -funktion im Boden wirken sich unmittelbar auf die Bemühungen um die Entwicklung ressourceneffizienterer und ertragreicherer Pflanzen und landwirtschaftlicher Systeme aus.

Mehr

NETZWERKE & PARTNERSCHAFTEN