Navigation and service

Scientific Advisory Council

The Scientific Advisory Council (WB) advises Forschungszentrum Jülich on all scientific and technical issues of general importance. This includes, for example, Jülich’s strategy and planning activities, promoting the optimal use of research facilities, and issues related to cooperations with universities and other research institutions.
The Scientific Advisory Council consists of members who are not employees of Forschungszentrum Jülich. As a rule, they are appointed by the Supervisory Board for a period of five years. The chairman of the Scientific Advisory Council is a member of the Supervisory Board.


  • Dr. Heike Riel, IBM Research - Zürich, Switzerland (Chair)
  • Prof. Barbara Chapman, Stony Brook University, USA
  • Prof. Stephanie Clarke, Centre Hospitalier Universitaire Vaudois - University of Lausanne, Switzerland
  • Prof. Dr. T. W. Clyne, University of Cambridge, UK
  • Prof. Maki Kawai, National Institutes of Natural Sciences, Japan
  • Dr. Martin Keller, National Renewable Energy Laboratory, USA
  • Prof. Dr. Toni M. Kutchan, Donald Danforth Plant Science Center, USA
  • Prof. Aleksandar Matic, Chalmers University of Technology, Schweden
  • Dr. Mary Maxon, Schmidt Futures, USA
  • Prof. Dr. Klaus-Robert Müller, Google Brain, Germany
  • Prof. Dr. Joyce E. Penner, University of Michigan, USA
  • Prof. Dr. Robert Schlögl, Max-Planck-Institute for Chemical Energy Conversion, Germany
  • Prof. Dr. Armin Schnettler, Siemens Energy Global GmbH & Co. KG, Germany
  • Prof. Dr. Fred Streitz, Lawrence Livermore National Laboratory, USA
  • Prof. Dr. Oskar Zelder, BASF SE, Germany


  • Dr. Frank-Detlef Drake, Innogy SE, Germany
  • Prof. Dr. Wolfgang Knoll, AIT, Austria
  • Prof. Dr. Karen Maex, University of Amsterdam, The Netherlands
  • Dr. Peter Nagler, (previously Evonik Industries AG) Germany
  • Prof. Dr. Eva Pebay-Peyroula, ANR, France
  • Prof. Dr. Thomas Roser, Brookhaven National Laboratory, USA
  • Prof. Dr. Elke Scheer, Universität Konstanz, Germany
  • Prof. Dr. Horst Simon, Lawrence Berkeley National Laboratory, USA
  • Prof. Dr. Metin Tolan, Technical University Dortmund, Germany

More information

Dr. Heike Riel, IBM (Chair)